$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1467 out of 1467
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 14, 2007

Very Accomodating

I stayed at The Wellington Hotel for 3days and two nights. Check in was very quick and friendly staff. My room was very clean and was upgraded I really appreciate that. But, I notice that I could hear everything outside and I immediately informed the reservationist and they quickly moved me and upgraded me to a much nicer, larger room and quiet as well. I was very pleased with my new room. The only complaint I have is the internet use. I would have to pay $1.00 for five minutes which..... I actually ended up paying $15.00 for two days. I tuly believe that internet should be free to use. But, overall my stay was nice, I will recommend this Hotel to my friends and relatives.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Time Square is right around the corner. And Starbucks is right across the street....which I loved because, I do need my strong coffee! And many Shopping department stores within walking distance. Wonderful time I had walking in that area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Sep 13, 2007

My review of Wellington Hotel

The hotel itself is very nice. My requests for smoking and upgraded room type/location were met on both my visits. Only 1 big issue--cleaning staff: repeatedly entered my room even w/o clean sign hung, Also somehow defeated the chain lock. Staging their carts 24/7 in the hall also very tacky. Aside from that a nice, very fair cost and if you're in NYC for theater it's outside your door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grantley
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Sep 12, 2007

Short Term Business Trip

The room was comfortable, but the bathroom was very small. The toilette seat was too close to the tub, so for a big person like myself the fit was uncomfortable. The decor was satisfactory but would prefer hard wired internet service as opposed to wireless only. PS Able to pick up wireless internet routers from nearby locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Broad Way - Theatre district

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Myers, FL
Sep 11, 2007

Great Location

I had expected it to be awful, but I was satisfied with it. My room was small and only had a full-size bed which would be confining for two people. Bathroom was fine: small, and shower did sporadically blast me with hot water. Lights didn't come on so told front desk on my way to breakfast and they'd fixed the problem before I came back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel coffee shop had a ham and egg sandwich for five bucks which was excellent. The Greek Hotel in the hotel is world class. Best I've eaten. Before 6:45 p.m. you can get a pre-theatre prix fixe dinner for $36.00. North one block was the Red Grille and down a couple blocks was the Oyster Bar that had huge portions for a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Leon/Guanajuato
Sep 10, 2007

Great Location

everything was fine, except my room doesn't have a view to the city, all that i could see from my window was a gray and dirty wall, for being in new york, i didn't enjoy the view of the skyline.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

4 blocks from time square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Sep 2, 2007

Great Location

The Wellington was a great stay for touring the city. It was perfect for visiting Time Square and Central Park. The subway was easily accessible and the hotel staff were very friendly in helping learn the subway system. The Wellington also allows you to enjoy New York on a budget...very cost effective. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for the best location and bang for the buck. I look forward to going back in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Many attractions are in walking distance from the hotel. I would recommend purchasing a Metro Card which will make riding the subway very simple. Train (R) which is right outside of the hotel will take you all the way to Brooklyn all main attractions within walking distance at each subway stop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Folorunsho
Business
Detroit, MI
Aug 22, 2007

LOCATION !! LOCATION EXCELLENT

WELLINGTON HOTEL STAFF VERY COURTEOUS AND FRIENDLY .THE MANAGEMENT NEED CONTINUOUS IMPROVEMENT TO THIS MAGNIFICIENT HOTEL TO BRING IT TO PAR WITH THE LOCATION.THE FACILITY SERVICE DEPARTMENT NEEDS TO DO A BETTER JOB OF FIXING AND REPAIRING LEAKS AND SLOW FLOWING BATH TUB DRAIN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

WALKING DISTANCE TO ALL THE ATTRACTIONS-THEATRE DISTRICT,ALL THE MAJOR TV STUDIOS AND CENTRAL PARK.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 17, 2007

Incredible staff

This hotel was pricey simply because of its location, but the upkeep was pretty good and the staff was incredible. I felt very comfortable in the hotel at all times and the rooms were comfortable even though they were a bit small, but still bigger than rooms overseas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Right near theather district. Few blocks from Central Park and Times Square. Perfect.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Memphis, TN
Aug 8, 2007

Unhappy Camper

The room was uncomfortable. Drinking glasses hidden. If the bathroom door were opened you could not open the room door. There was no pad in the bathroom to collect water when leaving the shower to dry off. No internet although another guest said there was wireless in the lobby at least. I owed $2.60 and the desk wanted me to pay $3 as they did not have any change when I checked out. I told them they could use my AMEX card which will surly cost them more than that. I could not recommend this hotel to any one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 5, 2007

excellent location

The Wellington was in a great location for me as my first trip to New York, I wanted to see a lot and was able to walk most places. The room was small and not updated, but since I was alone it wasn't an issue for me. The staff (front desk and door) were very eager to help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top