$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 8, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1649 out of 1649
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fitton family
New York
Nov 3, 2013

Wellington Hotel NY

Ideal location for exploring New York, Five minutes from Times Square and Central Park, Underground station outside the door, making travel easy. First class!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Carneys Bar excellent food.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Davenport, Iowa
Jun 14, 2009

Great Location

The rooms were very small but clean. The location was great. You can walk to Central Park and the theater district and the subway is right at your door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to fluffy's for breakfast. It is two doors down from the hotel. There is not a lot of seating but the food is very good and the prices are great.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shoppy
Business
Greenville, NC
Jun 14, 2009

GREAT LOCATION

Great location, courteous staff & bellmen, just typical older hotel w/ limited elevators & check-in/check out staff........so expect to wait in those areas.............other than that, room very clean, hotel felt safe and the location is great w/ subway right on corner!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

No need to cab..........can save money w/ subway on the corner at hotel.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san clemente ca
Jun 14, 2009

great hotel for the price

More than expected for the price.....we were given a two room suite with microwave and other kitchen items. This was by far the best value for the dollar. Very close to theater and shows The subway is right on the corner Good room service at a reasonable price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
488gfp
Business
columbus, oh
Jun 14, 2009

good service; great location

great location,nice staffs. although initially our sofa bed smells bad, they change that next day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nerf
Business
Iowa
Jun 13, 2009

4 lunch ladies New York

This the second time I stayed at the Wellington and this was the best. The staff was great and helpful, the location was great and the rooms were clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

To take a hop on / hop off tour bus and ride it around the city once and then decided what you would like do.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
gadsden, al
Jun 12, 2009

great location for price

We enjoyed the city and all the sites for 3 days. We had the best time. Will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

We did almost all walking which saved a lot of money in taxi fares.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jo.behm[@]
Business
St. Paul, MN
Jun 12, 2009

Welcoming hotel near Time Square

We had a quiet room on an internal courtyard. The staff was friendly and welcoming. There is a small cafe attached to the hotel so on rainy mornings we ate breakfast there without getting wet. We were in the middle of all the action. Subways and buses are nearby as is Central Park. We spent time in the busyness of mid-town and escaped to Central Park or to other locations in Manhattan and Brooklyn. Visit New York and stay at the Wellington for closeness to the activity and for a welcoming, accommodating hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many delis in the mid-town area of New York where the Wellington is located. We would pick up breakfast or a light supper at one of the delis and then carried the food to Central Park where we had a picnic in relative quiet. This was a great escape from the lights and noise of mid-town.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tallahassee, FL
Jun 11, 2009

Oldie but Goodie

The hotel has an elegance about it that speaks of old New York. The bathroom definitely needs updating to make it more comfortable. The shower was very inconsistent between hot and cold. To the hotel's credit they did attempt to fix it, but we were on the 27th floor and the shower temperature fluxuated each time the toilets below us were flushed...or that is the way it felt to us. This is the second time we have stayed here. We were on like the 5th floor before and we did not have this problem. My recommendation..stay on lower floors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Within easy walking distance to Times Square, Broadway, Carnegie Hall, CBS, ABC...

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
texas
Jun 11, 2009

wellington nyc

hotel was pretty nice for the price room wasn't the best. in a great location, staff was very freindly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

walking distance ti times sqaure and central park

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans, Louisiana
Jun 9, 2009

Very functional hotel in great location

The hotel is in a great location, only a few blocks from most major theaters and Times Square. Central Park is also three blocks away. Overall, I considered the hotel extremely functional, but nothing very nice except for the location. A good place to rest your head at night, but plan on staying out in the city most of the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get your Broadway tickets ahead of time and search the internet for ticket deals!

Back to menu Return to top