$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1646 out of 1646
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gaylan1004
Austin, TX
Dec 16, 2012

A Home Away from Home

This is our fourth time to stay at the Wellington. That says a great deal about how comfortable and at home we feel there, especially because of the staff, who are so friendly as to seem like family -- and they did the first time there as well as the fourth. The location of the hotel is wonderful. It is close to many restaurants in every price range imaginable. It is within walking distance of the theater district and shopping. There is a subway station practically in the lobby. And don't pass up The Park Cafe!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Carve: Wonderful pizza; great, friendly staff at 47th Street and 8th Avenue. You can get a HUGE slice of pizza and a drink for under $10. When you finish eating, walk up a block and visit Scent-a-late, a great litle shop with unique merchandise. It is on 48th Street just a few doors west of 8th Avenue.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ayinkulee
Business
New Brunswick, NJ
Jun 2, 2014

Good family getaway

Internet was little slow but had a good experience will come back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Quite central

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Masha
Business
west midlands
Jun 2, 2014

Perfect location

Great central location close to many attractions, Concierges are very helpful they sorted a taxi for our return trip. All staff were friendly. Had a lovely meal at there hotel's Greek restaurant. Not the most luxurious hotel but nicely decorated and clean. It was great as a base camp.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Use delis for your meals many have a well stocked buffet you just fill a container and pay by the pound, easy to control your portion size, delicius too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cali Angel
Business
Manteca, CA
May 31, 2014

Managers are too busy.

We were not acknowledged when we were waiting to check in and when she finally saw us, she didn't help us, she said somebody will be right with us. We waited for another employee to help us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is very close to Central Park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mexico shopper
Business
Mexico City
May 27, 2014

Super Location !

Location was key for us and this hotel had it. One step away from two subway lines, great for getting any where on Manhattan ! Even went up to Yankee Stadium on that subway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ruby Foo's at Times Square. Loved the Pad Thai

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Penka Koeva
Business
Bulgaria
May 17, 2014

Perfect Stay

The hotel is located at 5 minute walking distance to the Times Square. Very close to the south end of the Central Park, Columbus Circle, Rockefeller Center, Theater District. Carnegie Hall is next door

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Monzonete
Business
Washington, DC
May 16, 2014

Birthday and Graduation Getaway

The arrival to the Big Apple was an incredible experience. Upon entering the hotel there was a mystic that was overwhelming; the staff was bustling and the attention was welcoming. The bellhops were active and inquisitive with guests. Some were more gregarious than others. After having checking in the luggage, we spent time walking around to see the city. We went to art stores, FAO Shwarz, and Central Park to become more accommodated to the new surroundings. The city was charming and the pace of life on the streets was everything one hopes for when in New York. The hotel, sadly, did not meet the same expectations. The room was very small, but had a great view. Some of the amenities were lacking. The absence of hot water, the shower had blistering water pressure, and the walls were somewhat thin. When entering the room, a claustrophobic feeling set in and it was difficult to find that special ambiance of a hotel room in New York. All in all, the stay was excellent because of the sights seen, except for the Museum of Modern Art for which we had high expectations. I would recommend the city to a friend, but not the hotel and not the MOMA. The booking company had excellent service and the hotel did as well. Unfortunately, the hotel room was not what we thought it would be and much could have been done to make it a better experience. All in all, it was an amazing experience to celebrate the special occasions of a birthday and graduation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Seinfeld

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Active lady
Business
Upstate NY
May 15, 2014

Too expensive for not providing wifi

Overall it is a good hotel, just need some little things to make it worth it to stay for the price. I paid $316.99/night and for few cents, they can buy a shower cap to put in the bathroom. Also, this is the era where wifi should be for free! Thankfully, one of the staff told me I can just go to starbuck across the street if I want to work on my computer to have a free wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BG Artist
Business
Wilmington, NC
May 11, 2014

Wonderful Stay in NYC

We and our friends enjoyed our stay at The Wellington. The staff was friendly and helpful, especially Judd the Bellman. The rooms were small, but nicely appointed and the bed comfortable. The location of the hotel is excellent. Within blocks of Times Square and Central Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All the restaurants we ate at were very good and an enjoyable dining experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
landmbolduc
Business
Holden Beach, NC
May 6, 2014

Weekend away with friends.

The location of the Wellington was great!!! Lots a great restaurants close!! The rooms were small, the bath towels were very thin, the lobby was crowded and very little places to sit. No bar in the hotel, except in the Greek restaurant and it closed early. Would stay again, though as this location was great!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Europa Café across the road, has wonderful food and great crepes!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BostonTraveler09
Business
Boston
May 6, 2014

Wellington Hotel

My room was very comfortable, I was traveling for business and pleasure so I had a lot of different electronics and reading materials, plenty of table space to spread out my stuff. Bed and pillows were very comfortable. Big closet. The hotel was central to everything I wanted access to during my trip, Time Square, museums, shopping and Central Park. Only downside, my toilet would not flush. The maintenance stuff responded immediately to fix it, but there solution did not last. Fortunately this was on the last night of my trip, but still very inconvenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top