$96 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
1,413 reviews
Great location, great staff!!!!

This hotel is in a perfect location, and the staff makes you feel home!!!! See full review

  • Antonio from Mex
  • Nov 19, 2014
perfect location, clean..

what a perfect location, bit dated, however clean, great staff...good internet. See full review

  • Okanjo mike
  • Oct 14, 2014
Radiating history from its walls, the Wellington Hotel New York?built in 1901?stands apart from the fast pace of modern city life surrounding it. The plush lobby is decked out in rich tones and intricate murals, while focal chandeliers give the interiors a classical ambience.  If you are here on business, the hotel?s central location and 24-hour business center will cater to your every need. Midtown Manhattan is full of excellent restaurants; gourmets would do well to try the Wellington?s delicious plates of Greek mezze at the Molyvos restaurant, or the Park Cafe's informal all-day dining options.
Key facts
  • 700 guestrooms
  • Two restaurants: Molyvos and Park Cafe
  • 24-hour business center
  • Gift shop
  • Hair salon
  • Multilingual staff
Neighborhood

With Central Park just three blocks away, the Wellington places guests close to a welcoming green space featuring a wide range of activities, including roller skating and boating, on the calm waters of the lake. Every type of cuisine is represented in this neighborhood, with area favorites ranging from Ray’s Pizza on Broadway to The Russian Tea Room on West 57th Street, where visitors can choose from more than 40 types of vodka, or book the facility for a classical afternoon tea. Retail therapy can be found inside the designer stores of 5th Avenue or the dependable establishment of Bloomingdale’s, which combines major lines and fresh labels.

Hints and tips
Some of the rooms have kitchenettes-perfect for hot snacks and downtime after a long day. If you're visiting in November or December, stock up on gifts and Christmas decorations at the Wellington's Christmas Cottage store.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wellington Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Wellington Hotel Rooms

Standard Double -Double
Standard Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee. Note: a third person cannot be accommodated
Deluxe Double-Double
Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with two double beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features two flat screen TVs with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, one bathroom; refrigerator and microwave (no utensils). High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Standard Room with One Double Bed
Standard Room with One Double Bed accommodates one or two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • University Club: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.4 mi

Dining

Park Cafe
A traditional New York coffee shop,The Park Cafe, which has been welcoming guests for more than 25 years, was recently renovated. Breakfast is served every day beginning at 6:00am. You can also enjoy lunch, dinner and after-theater dining until 1:00am.
Molyvos
Enjoy award winning Mediterranean cuisine at Molyvos. From noon Monday to Friday traditional Greek dishes and grilled fish specialties are served. Saturday and Sunday also offers brunch from 11:00am. Molyvos is located in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1413)

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
1413 out of 1413
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mark Mark Mark
Business
Schenectady, NY
Jan 17, 2014

Better than I expected

I stayed at the Wellington 2 years ago and found the location ideal for my theater going, but the room was average at best. It was dated decor-wise but clean and adequate. I was reluctant to book them this year just because the room was so tired, but it was a great location and a great price so I gave them another try. The room was far nicer this time than the one I had before. I was very pleased. The previous visit I was on a low floor and this time on the 20th. I had a nice view and the room was updated. My only complaint was that there was no free in-room wifi, but they will certainly be on my list of places to stay in the future. Can't beat the location for the theater.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dmzafran
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jan 14, 2014

Very good option

This is one of the great older hotels in the midtown area with a perfect location to base yourself for a stay in the city. We were upgraded for free to a larger room for no apparent reason. The only complaints were that there was still some leftover trash in one of the bins in the room and the heater made some strange noises during the night. Other than that, a great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very Displeased Guest
Business
Washington DC
Jan 14, 2014

Wellington Hotel, NY

I could not let go writing a review for the Wellington hotel that displeased me and unfortunately (for them of course) I am not returning. I was in this hotel for 3 days. Accommodations are suitable, hotel is clean, they even let us check-in an hour early. Room was cleaned every day, bathroom well maintained, BUT…..they messed up in the check-out. Unlike other hotel where you just return your room keys and take off without surprises, when I checked out, the front desk lady “Charlene” told me that I’ve watched 2 movies, each for $16 or $17. I replied several times that we hadn’t watched any movies, never ordered anything to watch and that it was a clear mistake. She had this “no, you watched it, it ran” look, which I did not appreciate at all. They offered to take one off the bill and charge only one (how nice! But I did not buy it) and even showed me a piece of paper with a few lines stating that my room had watched 2 movies. One of them was “Thor, the Dark World” and that it had ran for an hour and 19 minutes. For those who have seen this movie at the theater, it is known that it lasts more than an hour and 19 minutes. So, for a movie over 2 hours that only gets to run an hour and 19 minutes, somehow someone or something must have pressed to pause button at an hour and 19 minutes, but it certainly was not us, or the movie just runs for as long as it wants and then pauses itself. I mean, for a movie that costs $16 I’ll make sure I memorize even the credits at the end of it. So, weird, ok, but that’s not it. This movie, they claimed ran on the last day of our stay in NY precisely at noon. I informed them that regrettably for their report I was in the Cruise Line boat around Manhattan that very same day at, guess what? At noon! I can’t be at two places at the same time. So, who played the movie? Weird, right? Noticing this time conflict, we checked the other movie time, and guess what? Again run time started while we were having dinner in Queens. Weird again! What was going on here? “Let’s call security” she said when realizing that I was not letting get ripped off. The guy from security asked us for the times we left and returned to the room for the days of the supposed movies, and to their surprise the times checked out fine, we were not in the room, so they removed the movie charges. Next to us, we heard another lady (we could tell she could not speak English very well) that replied several times over “pero, yo no he visto ninguna pelicula”; that means “but I have not seen any movie” in Spanish. They did not make the same security check for her, she did not pushed back like us, and got charged $50 for three movies she never ordered. This is my experience, you judge, you decide. The lack of respect this place showed us we’ll keep us out from going back there ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Times Square, tour bus, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Cruises.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WA Film guy
Business
Spokane, WA
Jan 13, 2014

Great Hotel for Broadway

My expectations were exceeded in ever way by the Wellington. Right from check-in the staff was courteous and professional. NYC was having a cold snap when we arrived and our heater was working. The engineering staff were great, got right on it and fixed the problems. There isn't much in the way of amenities, but its a great location to see the city from. I highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bar Bacon on 9th in Hells Kitchen. Fantastic new bar/grill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
the posh girl
Business
Mexico City
Jan 13, 2014

A REALLY OLD (NOT VINTAGE) HOTEL WITH A GREAT LOCATION

THE ROOMS, THE BATHROOM EVERYTHING IS REALLY OLD, I EVEN HEARD SOME RAT SCRATCHING, AT NIGHT, IN THE HEATING !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MinnMike
Business
minnesota
Jan 10, 2014

wellington hotel

Hotel was great for sight seeing due to it's location. Great cafe for meals. Hotel is old but rooms were clean and beds were comfortable and had clean linen. I would stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fab Fred
Business
Seattle
Jan 9, 2014

Good location and value

The best part is the hotel is in a fantastic location, close to everything in action, Time Squre, Central Park, museums, shopping, entertainment, restaurants, and transportation. The room was small, but clean and comfortable. The service was decent. The price was very good for the location, which makes it a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Enidd
Business
Puerto Rico
Jan 8, 2014

Vacations....

This hotel is not handicap friendly. The only access to the hotel is through stairs and I had a lot of trouble to get my luggage in the lobby. The elevators are only for the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
katyan
Business
detroit, mi
Jan 8, 2014

nice place to stay

We enjoyed our stay at Wellington hotel for a couple of nights during the Christmas break. The staff was really nice and helpful which made us enjoy the visit even more. The room was a little worn out but nice and tidy and the location was awesome, from a short walk to Times Square or Central Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gma B Gpa R
Business
Denver Colorado
Jan 7, 2014

Granddaughter trip to NYC

Trip with granddaughter from Alaska to see shows and experience New Years in NY. Great location for visiting and seeing activities. Convenient restaurants - great restaurant in Hotel. For the price, would have expected a Second towel bar! Also, no in-room coffee maker, refrig., free internet, bathroom vent fan, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If visiting over the holidays - cut your planned activities in half due to the overwhelming crowds at all venues.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top