$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
2,118 reviews
wellington hotel - great hotel

the staff was very kind and helpful! the room was very clean and organized ! great location ! See full review

  • benurit7
  • Apr 18, 2014
Old World Charm - Right Next to Carnegie Hall

As an experienced/budget traveler, loved my stay in this charming old-world hotel. Simple small... See full review

  • John Foley
  • Apr 16, 2014
Radiating history from its walls, the Wellington Hotel New York?built in 1901?stands apart from the fast pace of modern city life surrounding it. The plush lobby is decked out in rich tones and intricate murals, while focal chandeliers give the interiors a classical ambience.  If you are here on business, the hotel?s central location and 24-hour business center will cater to your every need. Midtown Manhattan is full of excellent restaurants; gourmets would do well to try the Wellington?s delicious plates of Greek mezze at the Molyvos restaurant, or the Park Cafe's informal all-day dining options.
Key facts
  • 700 guestrooms
  • Two restaurants: Molyvos and Park Cafe
  • 24-hour business center
  • Gift shop
  • Hair salon
  • Multilingual staff
Neighborhood

With Central Park just three blocks away, the Wellington places guests close to a welcoming green space featuring a wide range of activities, including roller skating and boating, on the calm waters of the lake. Every type of cuisine is represented in this neighborhood, with area favorites ranging from Ray’s Pizza on Broadway to The Russian Tea Room on West 57th Street, where visitors can choose from more than 40 types of vodka, or book the facility for a classical afternoon tea. Retail therapy can be found inside the designer stores of 5th Avenue or the dependable establishment of Bloomingdale’s, which combines major lines and fresh labels.

Hints and tips
Some of the rooms have kitchenettes-perfect for hot snacks and downtime after a long day. If you're visiting in November or December, stock up on gifts and Christmas decorations at the Wellington's Christmas Cottage store.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7644 -73.9807
Area served
New York, Manhattan
Nearby airports
J.F.K., LaGuardia, and Newark airports
Area description
Centrally located in Midtown Manhattan, the Wellington Hotel is steps to Carnegie Hall, City Center, Central Park and Broadway, New York's celebrated Theatre District. Fifth Avenue Shopping, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center, Times Square and the Museum of Radio and Television are within easy walking distance. Equally accessible are the United Nations, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Jacob K. Javitis Convention Center. Fortune 500 headquarters and many corporate offices are nearby as are a variety of fine dining and world famous restaurants. Public Transportation is at our door and can take you in minutes to the Statue of Liberty, Wall Street, South Street Seaport, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim Museum, Museum of Natural History, Intrepid Air and Space Museum and Yankee and Shea Stadiums

Wellington Hotel Rooms

Standard Double -Double
Standard Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee. Note: a third person cannot be accommodated
Deluxe Double-Double
Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with two double beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features two flat screen TVs with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, one bathroom; refrigerator and microwave (no utensils). High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Standard Room with One Double Bed
Standard Room with One Double Bed accommodates one or two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • University Club: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.4 mi

Dining

Park Cafe
A traditional New York coffee shop,The Park Cafe, which has been welcoming guests for more than 25 years, was recently renovated. Breakfast is served every day beginning at 6:00am. You can also enjoy lunch, dinner and after-theater dining until 1:00am.
Molyvos
Enjoy award winning Mediterranean cuisine at Molyvos. From noon Monday to Friday traditional Greek dishes and grilled fish specialties are served. Saturday and Sunday also offers brunch from 11:00am. Molyvos is located in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (2118)

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
2118 out of 2118
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
1aunt
Beaver falls, pa
Aug 21, 2013

fantastic family getaway

The staff and room were wonderful. The location is perfect because it is within walking distance to out favorite spots and a subway access very close for other excursions. Will definitely return soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mark5150
Business
Atlanta
Sep 29, 2012

Great Location, Old Hotel

This is by far the best location in NYC I have ever stayed out. The rooms are old though. The closet made my clothes smell, no gym, restaurant sux. There are subway entrances all around this particular hotel, which is very nice. There are really good restaurants on the same block as this as well. Starbucks across the street. 2 blocks from Central Park which is great for running or walking every morning. I love being in NYC and dont really care where I stay, I just prefer a newer looking hotel. But in all reality, I go where it is the cheapest. This one was $1500 for the week. Which is pretty good these days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
World traveller wannabe
Buffalo, New York
May 11, 2013

Good location for subway access

Cons: One night, the pipes was making loud noises which woke me up & I had to shut the bathroom door to minimize it. The hot water was never constant. It was taking a shower & every 5 minutes, someone flushed the toilet. Pros: The maids clean the room later in the day so the knocking doesn't disturbed my sleep. The staff was very helpful & courteous. The location for subway access was perfect for me. On 55th street is the N-Q-R trains, right next to the hotel's side entrance. Central Park was just blocks away. You can see Times Square at night from the sidewalk. I would definitely get a room here the next time I visit NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wriessi
Bischofshofen, Austria
Jan 18, 2010

Nice Hotel for one week or short trips

The Location is perfekt! The underground station is very close and the time square and Central Parkt also! Only The Window isolation is bad and if the heater didn't work, the room is very cold! The staff is very friendly and the breakfast was good! The room was good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ItsJustMeFromTO
Toronto, ON, Canada
Sep 7, 2011

Dated but served its purpose

Staff were fantastic! Our room was tiny but very clean and well maintained. The hotel was showing it's age but otherwise it was great. The location was perfect and housekeeping staff were incredibly efficient. If you're looking for a 'place to sleep' its great. Otherwise it's lacking in some ammenities (ie. pool, room size etc.) -The Greek restaurant next door is to die for -The diner on the main floor (attached) is a huge waste of time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

-Greek place next door is fantastic (a little pricy but worth it) -Carnegie deli across the street is THE Carnegie deli, insanely huge portions! A must do for NYC

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tmac02
Miami, FL, USA
Dec 19, 2011

Fair

Check in desk personal gave very poor service. My room was hot, one temp. was set by the hotel for all the rooms. I would never stay at that hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
south carolina
Dec 21, 2009

location - thats all!

ok staff not very helpful. 30minutes to get bucket of ice, no ice machines. bad snow storm, didnot even clean off snow by the curb so could get to cabs,etc. without stepping in 6 inches of snow or slush. did not help carry luggage up stairs which everybody has to climb to get to registration desk. had suite but had no view of anything,i guess you have to get regular room to get view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beantown John
Business
Natick, MA, USA
Aug 14, 2011

Positive, but middle-of-the-road, hotel

The location is excellent for mid-town and for public transportation. The hotel is clean and safe but a bit worn down. It is an appropriate value - don't expect fancy. The bed is comfortable and the linens are good, but the window-mounted a/c unit is very noisy. Pleasant desk staff and security staff. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Red Eye Grill just up the street has excellent sea food and excellent service. Interestingly, the outside dining is quieter than eating inside - its set back and a bit above the side street.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Piney Flats, TN
Jul 22, 2009

Great location!

Great location and convenient to everything. Very clean and friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chicagovocalist
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 22, 2011

What's with the room service?

I get in the room, in a hurry, ready to step into the shower when I hear a male voice outside the door saying "room service" at the same time he is opening my door, which bumps into the closet door which I had open. I think it was a thief. In a loud voice I ask "What do you want?" "Oh sorry!" he answers and closes the door. Busted! I reported the incident to security that night. Aside from this, the room was comfortable and the water pressure in the shower was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anshul Sushil
Business
New Delhi, India
Apr 9, 2011

Nice location but bad customer service

I was there on a business trip and hence the review might be biased for business travelers Pros - 1. I liked the location of the hotel....just 4 blocks away was Times Square and 2 blocks away was Central Park. 2. Starbucks and many eating joints were nearby 3. Proximity to office areas and especially the place where I was supposed to be was excellent - within 10 USD drive from Columbus circle) Cons - Customer service was pathetic 1. I reached to find that my room is not ready. I had reached after about 36 hours of flight from India - was not offered to be seated. in fact when I asked for water - I was told "No" 2. I felt unwell on the departure day and requested to extend my stay for just 1 hour (when I had stayed there for 5 days) - was refused

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Best Buy in Columbus circle - bought PS3 from there

Back to menu Return to top