$96 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
1,409 reviews
Great location, great staff!!!!

This hotel is in a perfect location, and the staff makes you feel home!!!! See full review

  • Antonio from Mex
  • Nov 19, 2014
perfect location, clean..

what a perfect location, bit dated, however clean, great staff...good internet. See full review

  • Okanjo mike
  • Oct 14, 2014
Radiating history from its walls, the Wellington Hotel New York?built in 1901?stands apart from the fast pace of modern city life surrounding it. The plush lobby is decked out in rich tones and intricate murals, while focal chandeliers give the interiors a classical ambience.  If you are here on business, the hotel?s central location and 24-hour business center will cater to your every need. Midtown Manhattan is full of excellent restaurants; gourmets would do well to try the Wellington?s delicious plates of Greek mezze at the Molyvos restaurant, or the Park Cafe's informal all-day dining options.
Key facts
  • 700 guestrooms
  • Two restaurants: Molyvos and Park Cafe
  • 24-hour business center
  • Gift shop
  • Hair salon
  • Multilingual staff
Neighborhood

With Central Park just three blocks away, the Wellington places guests close to a welcoming green space featuring a wide range of activities, including roller skating and boating, on the calm waters of the lake. Every type of cuisine is represented in this neighborhood, with area favorites ranging from Ray’s Pizza on Broadway to The Russian Tea Room on West 57th Street, where visitors can choose from more than 40 types of vodka, or book the facility for a classical afternoon tea. Retail therapy can be found inside the designer stores of 5th Avenue or the dependable establishment of Bloomingdale’s, which combines major lines and fresh labels.

Hints and tips
Some of the rooms have kitchenettes-perfect for hot snacks and downtime after a long day. If you're visiting in November or December, stock up on gifts and Christmas decorations at the Wellington's Christmas Cottage store.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wellington Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Wellington Hotel Rooms

Standard Double -Double
Standard Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee. Note: a third person cannot be accommodated
Deluxe Double-Double
Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with two double beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features two flat screen TVs with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, one bathroom; refrigerator and microwave (no utensils). High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Standard Room with One Double Bed
Standard Room with One Double Bed accommodates one or two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • University Club: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.4 mi

Dining

Park Cafe
A traditional New York coffee shop,The Park Cafe, which has been welcoming guests for more than 25 years, was recently renovated. Breakfast is served every day beginning at 6:00am. You can also enjoy lunch, dinner and after-theater dining until 1:00am.
Molyvos
Enjoy award winning Mediterranean cuisine at Molyvos. From noon Monday to Friday traditional Greek dishes and grilled fish specialties are served. Saturday and Sunday also offers brunch from 11:00am. Molyvos is located in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1409)

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
1409 out of 1409
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
1aunt
Beaver falls, pa
Aug 21, 2013

fantastic family getaway

The staff and room were wonderful. The location is perfect because it is within walking distance to out favorite spots and a subway access very close for other excursions. Will definitely return soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
suffa yousef
Business
new york
Dec 22, 2013

bad

bad very bad hotel never ever ever ever ever ever go

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Steph.K
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 26, 2013

Not gonna stay there again

The room was way too small and our room was next to the elevator so it was noisy every morning. Also, the heat was too high and there was no controller in the room, I woke up with headache and bad cough every morning. If I kept the window open, the noise from the street was not acceptable. It's great location, but that's it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Enidd
Business
Puerto Rico
Jan 8, 2014

Vacations....

This hotel is not handicap friendly. The only access to the hotel is through stairs and I had a lot of trouble to get my luggage in the lobby. The elevators are only for the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very Displeased Guest
Business
Washington DC
Jan 14, 2014

Wellington Hotel, NY

I could not let go writing a review for the Wellington hotel that displeased me and unfortunately (for them of course) I am not returning. I was in this hotel for 3 days. Accommodations are suitable, hotel is clean, they even let us check-in an hour early. Room was cleaned every day, bathroom well maintained, BUT…..they messed up in the check-out. Unlike other hotel where you just return your room keys and take off without surprises, when I checked out, the front desk lady “Charlene” told me that I’ve watched 2 movies, each for $16 or $17. I replied several times that we hadn’t watched any movies, never ordered anything to watch and that it was a clear mistake. She had this “no, you watched it, it ran” look, which I did not appreciate at all. They offered to take one off the bill and charge only one (how nice! But I did not buy it) and even showed me a piece of paper with a few lines stating that my room had watched 2 movies. One of them was “Thor, the Dark World” and that it had ran for an hour and 19 minutes. For those who have seen this movie at the theater, it is known that it lasts more than an hour and 19 minutes. So, for a movie over 2 hours that only gets to run an hour and 19 minutes, somehow someone or something must have pressed to pause button at an hour and 19 minutes, but it certainly was not us, or the movie just runs for as long as it wants and then pauses itself. I mean, for a movie that costs $16 I’ll make sure I memorize even the credits at the end of it. So, weird, ok, but that’s not it. This movie, they claimed ran on the last day of our stay in NY precisely at noon. I informed them that regrettably for their report I was in the Cruise Line boat around Manhattan that very same day at, guess what? At noon! I can’t be at two places at the same time. So, who played the movie? Weird, right? Noticing this time conflict, we checked the other movie time, and guess what? Again run time started while we were having dinner in Queens. Weird again! What was going on here? “Let’s call security” she said when realizing that I was not letting get ripped off. The guy from security asked us for the times we left and returned to the room for the days of the supposed movies, and to their surprise the times checked out fine, we were not in the room, so they removed the movie charges. Next to us, we heard another lady (we could tell she could not speak English very well) that replied several times over “pero, yo no he visto ninguna pelicula”; that means “but I have not seen any movie” in Spanish. They did not make the same security check for her, she did not pushed back like us, and got charged $50 for three movies she never ordered. This is my experience, you judge, you decide. The lack of respect this place showed us we’ll keep us out from going back there ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Times Square, tour bus, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Cruises.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kwilson0120
Business
Mays Landing NJ
Feb 4, 2014

New Years Eve Celebration

Very convienate. The location was perfect. Wasn't at the hotel much but was very homey. Just a lil warm. I would prefer warmth over being cold. Staff was awesome. They are very friendly and helpful. Thanks for the recommendation....one of the best times of my life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take comfortable shoes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NYLIMOM
Business
NY
Feb 10, 2014

Great location but lacks customer service

I called in the early evening to request extra pillows and blankets. My daughter is pregnant and needed extra for comfort and assistance. We never received them. In addition, the heater was so noisy, it sounded as if someone was banging a bat against the pipes! It was a restless sleep. I received the extra pillow and blanket the NEXT DAY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JTHH
Business
NYC
Feb 13, 2014

Staff and room, equally cold

Checked in earlier and returned after a light night event about 1am. Room was cold but after being up for 23 hours, I was too tired to wait for maintenance or change rooms. Note on thermostat read "do not work." Not the best english, but it tells me they knew there were issues. The shivered throughout the evening. The next morning I warmed the room by running a hot shower with doors open. What frustrated me most was that when I reported it during checkout, she coldly said " I'm sorry," and that was the end of it. She didn't ask for details or show any concern about my miserable experience at the Wellington.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cali Angel
Business
Manteca, CA
May 31, 2014

Managers are too busy.

We were not acknowledged when we were waiting to check in and when she finally saw us, she didn't help us, she said somebody will be right with us. We waited for another employee to help us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is very close to Central Park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stewart Field/Newbur, NY
Apr 7, 2008

Wellington not so well

The towels were thread bare - pat do not rub but excellent for exfoliation! The noise outside was unbearable and neither of us got any sleep. The adjoining cafe was excellent, although not part of the hotel! Excellent food and moderate prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Across from the gift shop is the Park Cafe - excellent food and moderate prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dayton, Ohio
Apr 3, 2009

not recommended

I was looking for a reasonable rate for a short business trip. I was frankly appalled at everything about this dumpy hotel. All of the online info was very distorted. I would never recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

great Manhattan shopping all around

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top