$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 16, 2014 Check-out: Nov 17, 2014

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
1,392 reviews
perfect location, clean..

what a perfect location, bit dated, however clean, great staff...good internet. See full review

  • Okanjo mike
  • Oct 14, 2014
family trip

As we were checking in a young lady by the name of Caroline said that she was going to find us a... See full review

  • GB nanny
  • Aug 24, 2014
Radiating history from its walls, the Wellington Hotel New York?built in 1901?stands apart from the fast pace of modern city life surrounding it. The plush lobby is decked out in rich tones and intricate murals, while focal chandeliers give the interiors a classical ambience.  If you are here on business, the hotel?s central location and 24-hour business center will cater to your every need. Midtown Manhattan is full of excellent restaurants; gourmets would do well to try the Wellington?s delicious plates of Greek mezze at the Molyvos restaurant, or the Park Cafe's informal all-day dining options.
Key facts
  • 700 guestrooms
  • Two restaurants: Molyvos and Park Cafe
  • 24-hour business center
  • Gift shop
  • Hair salon
  • Multilingual staff
Neighborhood

With Central Park just three blocks away, the Wellington places guests close to a welcoming green space featuring a wide range of activities, including roller skating and boating, on the calm waters of the lake. Every type of cuisine is represented in this neighborhood, with area favorites ranging from Ray’s Pizza on Broadway to The Russian Tea Room on West 57th Street, where visitors can choose from more than 40 types of vodka, or book the facility for a classical afternoon tea. Retail therapy can be found inside the designer stores of 5th Avenue or the dependable establishment of Bloomingdale’s, which combines major lines and fresh labels.

Hints and tips
Some of the rooms have kitchenettes-perfect for hot snacks and downtime after a long day. If you're visiting in November or December, stock up on gifts and Christmas decorations at the Wellington's Christmas Cottage store.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7644 -73.9807
Area served
New York, Manhattan
Nearby airports
J.F.K., LaGuardia, and Newark airports
Area description
Centrally located in Midtown Manhattan, the Wellington Hotel is steps to Carnegie Hall, City Center, Central Park and Broadway, New York's celebrated Theatre District. Fifth Avenue Shopping, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center, Times Square and the Museum of Radio and Television are within easy walking distance. Equally accessible are the United Nations, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Jacob K. Javitis Convention Center. Fortune 500 headquarters and many corporate offices are nearby as are a variety of fine dining and world famous restaurants. Public Transportation is at our door and can take you in minutes to the Statue of Liberty, Wall Street, South Street Seaport, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim Museum, Museum of Natural History, Intrepid Air and Space Museum and Yankee and Shea Stadiums

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wellington Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Wellington Hotel Rooms

Standard Double -Double
Standard Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee. Note: a third person cannot be accommodated
Deluxe Double-Double
Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with two double beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features two flat screen TVs with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, one bathroom; refrigerator and microwave (no utensils). High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Standard Room with One Double Bed
Standard Room with One Double Bed accommodates one or two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • University Club: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.4 mi

Dining

Park Cafe
A traditional New York coffee shop,The Park Cafe, which has been welcoming guests for more than 25 years, was recently renovated. Breakfast is served every day beginning at 6:00am. You can also enjoy lunch, dinner and after-theater dining until 1:00am.
Molyvos
Enjoy award winning Mediterranean cuisine at Molyvos. From noon Monday to Friday traditional Greek dishes and grilled fish specialties are served. Saturday and Sunday also offers brunch from 11:00am. Molyvos is located in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1392)

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
1392 out of 1392
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Girls from South Texas
Texas
Aug 20, 2013

Awesome stay!!!!!

Stayed at this hotel for 5 days and it was absolutely wonderful!!! The location is great because it is blocks away from everything--including Central Park and Times Square. The staff is so friendly and anxious to help with everything. Our room was so comfortable and we never heard any noise from anyone on the floor. Housekeeping staff were very prompt and very friendly. The gift shop staff also were very helpful and friendly. Doormen very efficient with getting you directions and transportation if needed. The diner attached to the hotel had the most delicious breakfast. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and lots of it had to do with the stay at The Wellington. Will definitely return as soon as I can.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Dec 5, 2007

Not a very well=dsciplined management hotel.

Needs pin or clip for emergency party dress hold up but no one likes to help or willing to do anything for us. I just felt so bad for them. Not a very well=dsciplined management hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Feb 8, 2011

Desireable location; undesireable room

While this hotel is located mid-way between Times Square, Central Park and Rockefeller Center, in my opinion the hotel is dingy: shower's water temperature fluctuates rapidly, nearly scalding; window did not seal so there is continuous draft; the closet floor is cluttered with hair, plastic parts, dust balls; if I wasn't already concerned about it, the protesters distributing literature complaining of bed bugs and their abatement makes that hotel pretty creepy... Beyond the hotel's check-in process look a long time and requires being escorted to the room--as though we all haven't found a hotel room before--and the unhappy duty of tipping a guy to leave the room...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park: fun contrast between nature and tall buildings...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Dec 1, 2009

Dirty place

Nothing was working there. The Air Conditioner was too noisy, the bathtub was dirty and completely clogged and the TV remote control was not working. The room was so dirty that we could not walk wearing socks on the carpet. There were all kind of debris and nasty things under the bed; I think it was never cleaned. The worst experience ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Naples, Florida.
Aug 25, 2009

"The good, the bad, and the really ugly"

Very small room, view ?? to the next window bilding, ugly,old, not even a coffe machine in the bed room. I will never recomend this hotel to anybody.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin
Jan 22, 2011

Wellington Hotel

Room not as requested. When fire alarm went off while I was away all day and stayed on through the time I arrived, I insisted on a diferent room. The bellman came without a rolloing rack - he and I had to hand carry haning items and luggage- cumbersome and awkward. The room I was moved to was TINY - no clock - phone stuck tempermentaly not allowing a dial tone unless jiggled several times to release the hang up button. There was no chest of drawers, so I had to live out of my luggage further diminishing what room space there was. NOT A GOOD EXPERIENCE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay at the Park Central Hotel across the street on 55th.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stewart Field/Newbur, NY
Apr 7, 2008

Wellington not so well

The towels were thread bare - pat do not rub but excellent for exfoliation! The noise outside was unbearable and neither of us got any sleep. The adjoining cafe was excellent, although not part of the hotel! Excellent food and moderate prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Across from the gift shop is the Park Cafe - excellent food and moderate prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dayton, Ohio
Apr 3, 2009

not recommended

I was looking for a reasonable rate for a short business trip. I was frankly appalled at everything about this dumpy hotel. All of the online info was very distorted. I would never recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

great Manhattan shopping all around

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
May 19, 2011

The Worst in my life

In all my years of travel,this hotel had to be the worst and the most I've ever spent for a room. Was promised one type of room and received another; was told if I needed to be warmer, they would supply a blanket. Water in shower would get hot and cold. This hotel should not be a THREE STAR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Memphis, TN
Aug 8, 2007

Unhappy Camper

The room was uncomfortable. Drinking glasses hidden. If the bathroom door were opened you could not open the room door. There was no pad in the bathroom to collect water when leaving the shower to dry off. No internet although another guest said there was wireless in the lobby at least. I owed $2.60 and the desk wanted me to pay $3 as they did not have any change when I checked out. I told them they could use my AMEX card which will surly cost them more than that. I could not recommend this hotel to any one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chesterfield, MO
Oct 29, 2008

My review of Wellington Hotel

very dirty small room will never stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top