$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1467 out of 1467
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Girls from South Texas
Texas
Aug 20, 2013

Awesome stay!!!!!

Stayed at this hotel for 5 days and it was absolutely wonderful!!! The location is great because it is blocks away from everything--including Central Park and Times Square. The staff is so friendly and anxious to help with everything. Our room was so comfortable and we never heard any noise from anyone on the floor. Housekeeping staff were very prompt and very friendly. The gift shop staff also were very helpful and friendly. Doormen very efficient with getting you directions and transportation if needed. The diner attached to the hotel had the most delicious breakfast. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and lots of it had to do with the stay at The Wellington. Will definitely return as soon as I can.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boston, ma
Jun 8, 2009

old hotel

hotel was old and needed alot of tlc

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mokena, IL
Sep 10, 2009

Great Birthday Getaway

Initial room was too small. We were given another room that was already occupied. The third room was okay. I drink a lot of water and missed the courtesy ice machine. We were very busy and did not stay in the hotel for long periods, only to sleep.NY is a fantistic city, a lot to see and do. A great time was had by all. I've had better hotel accommodations. The 2-star rating is for location only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining choices are fantastic and of a wide range of cuisine. I enjoyed eating near the hotel as well as dining in other burroughs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mrs. PP
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Jul 10, 2011

kind of icky

I don't mind a small room, in fact, I have ccome to expect that in NYC but, this was just not clean enough for me. It was quiet (on the 20th floor/rear) and the staff was very helpful. It would be fine for a bunch of teens or budget-minded tourists. It was just a bit too icky for a business professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tiny room without light
Business
marina del rey, ca
Aug 24, 2009

nice location but.....

I will probably not use this hotel again both for the small room size and minimal lighting. The location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Senior laptop user
Business
Cleveland
Jun 7, 2009

Location good

I'm a senior and can't sit without back support to use my laptop. The lack of a table, even a pullout shelf, was a negative. On this point alone I would (could) not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Broken back with no sleep
Business
Toronto, ON
Jun 17, 2011

Good location, small room , bad beds

Hotel people were nice but not helpful to me. I requested a queen or king size bed. The clerk told me that they dont have one, and all are doubles, and "anyhow is just 6" less than queen". At my check out, the manager said that was not true, and that they have bigger beds. I suffered 4 nights with unconfortable sleep. The room was ver small, the carpet wet from dripping air conditioning. Not a pleasand stay for the price paid.Also the chair in the room was old, the same as the lobby furniture. Very unconfortable to sit. Next time it will be a different hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Feb 2, 2011

Wellington Hotel

Location was great. Hotel clean however older than the pictures depict. Beds uncomfortable. Staff very friendly. Price was good. We were under the impression that the hotel had been renovated. Not in the areas we stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Jan 6, 2008

Great staff, dated hotel

The Wellington Hotel, NYC is located in an ideal place for a Manhattan vacation. The staff there, were very friendly and helpfull with all questions. My room there was not what I would have expected, for the price I paid. The room was very small, with a dated appearance. The bed was worn out, with a dip in the middle of it. The bath was really small, with no room for you to set any of your toiletries. The room was also very warm, with no way of regulating the temperature. I did not enjoy my stay at the Wellington, and if not for the ideal location. I would not even consider this hotel, on my next trip to NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is located close to Times square. Also there is a subway terminal just outside of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ma
Nov 1, 2009

vivian

no windom and carpet wet so bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Feb 5, 2008

All Not Well at the Wellington

My Mother always taught me if you have to say one bad thing about something try to say two things good. I feel bad, but I really can't do that. The Wellington Hotel location was great, the price I got on the room was excellent for Midtown Manhatten, and the staff was helpful and friendly. The room was clean and neat, but when we went to sleep that night the bed was like sleeping on steel springs. My wife and I tossed and turned all night. I slept only about seven hours the whole three night I stayed there. The second night we had to call down and get clean sheets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Money saver and time saver: Take a cab. I always use to take the Grey Line into the city thinking it was such a great deal, but it cost 2 people about $40 dollars and it takes you about an hour or two to get to your hotel. A taxi is about $25 - $30 with tip and in good traffic takes 20 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top