$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1646 out of 1646
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Girls from South Texas
Texas
Aug 20, 2013

Awesome stay!!!!!

Stayed at this hotel for 5 days and it was absolutely wonderful!!! The location is great because it is blocks away from everything--including Central Park and Times Square. The staff is so friendly and anxious to help with everything. Our room was so comfortable and we never heard any noise from anyone on the floor. Housekeeping staff were very prompt and very friendly. The gift shop staff also were very helpful and friendly. Doormen very efficient with getting you directions and transportation if needed. The diner attached to the hotel had the most delicious breakfast. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and lots of it had to do with the stay at The Wellington. Will definitely return as soon as I can.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jan 12, 2010

Awesome Location!

The hotel is in a great location. You are close to Central Park, 5th Avenue, Time Square, the Theatre District, and you have a subway stop outside the hotel to connect you anywhere else you need to go. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were very cleam. The odownside to the hotel was that it is an older hotel so the rooms are small and you do not have control over the room temprature. If you're too hot you can open the windows but if too cold you have to call down to get the temp raised or ask for extra blankets. The old heating system is very noisy when there is air in the lines and would wake us up at night. We were traveling with our 4 month old daughter and needed a crib and refrigerator for her formula. They gave us a free upgrade to a room with a "kitchenette" and had a pack-n-play for us at no additional charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The Mercer Kitchen in Soho is an awesome restaurant. YOu need to call for reservations and it is pricy, but worth every penny!!! If you have time, spend the day in Soho and then go there for dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Flarningan
Business
Texas
Jan 13, 2011

Wellington 55th and 7th ave, NYC

The hotel was clean and the staff was helpful and friendly. Over all the room was older but well maintained and clean. Walking distance from Central park, Times Square, Broadway, Ed Sullivan Theater and much more. There is a subway entrance 10 feet from the south entrance. You can literally get from the hotel to Ground Zero and only be out in the elements for less than a quarter mile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Floyd, Virginia
Jun 20, 2011

Not disappointed

You could not ask for a better location in all of Manhattan. Close to Central Park where we rented bikes, close to the Broadway play we went to, close to Times Square and Rockefellar Center. The hotel room had two rooms, one with a couch and small kitchenette! Would definitely recommend for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh PA
Jan 7, 2010

30 hours in nyc

Short dining trip. So many excellent places to dine. The location was really great, close to eveything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

In the middle of everything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sierra Madre CA.
Apr 30, 2010

Great Location

Our stay at the Welligton Hotel was a great experince. The location is fantastic, it is within walking distance to Central Park, the Metro System, New York Square, Broadway, restaurants etc. The rooms are clean, the receptionist are friendly and helpful. The price is also great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Location walking distance to shopping, entertaitment, food and public transportation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
rancho cucamonga, ca
Sep 12, 2010

great location great price

my wife and I had a wonderful time! The hotel had overbooked as it was a holiday weekend, however, they had been very friendly and accommodating as they found a reservation for us at a nearby sister hotel. Once our room was available they set up our luggage and offered several complimentary upgrades and services. They hotel itself has an amazing location offering quick and easy access to several attractions. The rooms however are outdated and could use an upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the grayline bus tours. It is the best way to get around as it consist of a "hop-on hop-off" option. Also, the tours are informative and quiet interesting.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 22, 2007

My review of Wellington Hotel

I realize that the hotel is one of the older ones and I appreciate older buildings but it could use some renovations. I did notice that the bathrooms were redone as well as the windows. There was a stove top unit there but there were no utensils to cook with also the refrigerator's freezer section was iced over. It was convient for the purpose of our trip since we were there to catch a performance at Carnegie Hall. It was also far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Time Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Close enough to Central Park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pigpro
Business
Houston, TX
Feb 16, 2011

Great Location - Horrible street noise

The locations was fantastic for Broadway, shopping etc. The hotel itself was a little worn around the edges (had to get the engineer to come up with pliers to turn the heat down) but the people were helpful and friendly. However the street noise starting at 4:00 am was like none I've ever experienced. It sounded like street demolition with heavy equipment was taking place right outside our window and we were on the 12th floor! In the future, I would ask about the street noise before booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Goran
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 24, 2007

You get what you pay for

If you're looking for a room to sleep in, than this is the place. The room was nice and roomy, but the bathroom was tight and small. The location couldn't be better. Close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park was only 2 blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pittsburgh Weekenders
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jan 31, 2011

Trip was GREAT...Hotel was average

The hotel is older and needs updated. We had a huge crack in our bathroom shower that had black mold. The mattress and pillows were terrible. The service personnel were extremely nice and kind to the out of towners!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to see all the main attractions you should purchase a Gray Line Double Decker tour bus. It takes you to all the hot stops and you can get on and off everywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top