Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

3.6/5

Overall score

83%

Would recommend

Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9
Radiating history from its walls, the Wellington Hotel New York?built in 1901?stands apart from the fast pace of modern city life surrounding it. The plush lobby is decked out in rich tones and intricate murals, while focal chandeliers give the interiors a classical ambience.  If you are here on business, the hotel?s central location and 24-hour business center will cater to your every need. Midtown Manhattan is full of excellent restaurants; gourmets would do well to try the Wellington?s delicious plates of Greek mezze at the Molyvos restaurant, or the Park Cafe's informal all-day dining options.
Key facts
  • 700 guestrooms
  • Two restaurants: Molyvos and Park Cafe
  • 24-hour business center
  • Gift shop
  • Hair salon
  • Multilingual staff
Neighborhood

With Central Park just three blocks away, the Wellington places guests close to a welcoming green space featuring a wide range of activities, including roller skating and boating, on the calm waters of the lake. Every type of cuisine is represented in this neighborhood, with area favorites ranging from Ray’s Pizza on Broadway to The Russian Tea Room on West 57th Street, where visitors can choose from more than 40 types of vodka, or book the facility for a classical afternoon tea. Retail therapy can be found inside the designer stores of 5th Avenue or the dependable establishment of Bloomingdale’s, which combines major lines and fresh labels.

Hints and tips
Some of the rooms have kitchenettes-perfect for hot snacks and downtime after a long day. If you're visiting in November or December, stock up on gifts and Christmas decorations at the Wellington's Christmas Cottage store.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Wellington Hotel Rooms

Standard Double -Double
Standard Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee. Note: a third person cannot be accommodated
Deluxe Double-Double
Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with two double beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features two flat screen TVs with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, one bathroom; refrigerator and microwave (no utensils). High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Standard Room with One Double Bed
Standard Room with One Double Bed accommodates one or two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Map

40.7644 -73.9807
Area served
New York, Manhattan
Nearby airports
J.F.K., LaGuardia, and Newark airports
Area description
Centrally located in Midtown Manhattan, the Wellington Hotel is steps to Carnegie Hall, City Center, Central Park and Broadway, New York's celebrated Theatre District. Fifth Avenue Shopping, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center, Times Square and the Museum of Radio and Television are within easy walking distance. Equally accessible are the United Nations, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Jacob K. Javitis Convention Center. Fortune 500 headquarters and many corporate offices are nearby as are a variety of fine dining and world famous restaurants. Public Transportation is at our door and can take you in minutes to the Statue of Liberty, Wall Street, South Street Seaport, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim Museum, Museum of Natural History, Intrepid Air and Space Museum and Yankee and Shea Stadiums

Nearby points of interest

  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • University Club: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi

Dining

Park Cafe
A traditional New York coffee shop,The Park Cafe, which has been welcoming guests for more than 25 years, was recently renovated. Breakfast is served every day beginning at 6:00am. You can also enjoy lunch, dinner and after-theater dining until 1:00am.
Molyvos
Enjoy award winning Mediterranean cuisine at Molyvos. From noon Monday to Friday traditional Greek dishes and grilled fish specialties are served. Saturday and Sunday also offers brunch from 11:00am. Molyvos is located in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1646)

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1646 out of 1646
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
frank, the boss
Business
michigan
Jul 7, 2009

Needs that special something

I was not impressed with the look and feel of the facility. Room very outdated with uncomfortable bed. I did not like the facility and checked out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
corinthian
Business
Durham, NC
Jul 23, 2009

just ok

It was a great location, but the rooms were old and lacking common perks like in room coffee. It was clean and good for a cheap price. The location was perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central park, Time Square and 5th Ave all really close. Even Empire State Bldg was within a decent walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
K-Dwag
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 20, 2011

Great place to sleep!

The Wellington Hotel is an excellent choice for a basic hotel in the heart of Times Square. I chose it only because I was in town for one-night to see Prince at Madison Square Garden and needed a place to sleep & shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Park Cafe on the corner of the hotel was perfect for my morning meal prior to leaving. Under $15.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Starver
Business
Spain
Jan 9, 2011

So far so good ....

The hotel location could not be better but service and conditions of facilities are well below the standard that what I was expecting. I rented two (2) rooms, a kind of Jr suites w/2 double bdrooms each, one for my olders kids, 26, 23 and 21 and, the 2nd for the youngsters, 4 and 11 and, my wife and me. The 1st event that called my attention was that they allocated the rooms at different buildings, Ok you can live w/that but, we couldn't sleep at my 2nd room the 1st nite 'cause every 15 minutes a tremendous noise from the heating system suddenly woke you up .. being tired of it, I decided to call at 4 am to the Front Desk asking them for a room change and warning them that I wouldn't pay for that night having forgotten that I already had paid in advance. Next day we move, not even at the same bldg where my others kids are, but to a 3rd one. Surprise, as soon as we move we realized that there was only 1 TV set for the 2 bdrooms Jr suite, so me and my wife have to survive w/o TV. That's OK. In addition, beds were in a pretty bad shape, the last of the 6 I rented our bathroom got locked and I have to call the maintenance guy at 5 am to open it for me taking a shower and collect my things before leaving to the airport. In summary, it was not a good idea only compensated for the excellent location, the positive apptitude of the FD people but that was all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LLM
Business
Baltimore, Maryland
Apr 22, 2009

Not so good!

I requested a non-smoking room; the room that was given to us was a smoking room and we were told there were no non-smoking. I thought I could deal with it until my eyes started watering. The staff said they could come up and spray something in the room. They then found a non-smoking room but it had a double bed. I took it just to get out of the smoking room. The ventilation system in the room did not work; made a lot of noise, started out cool and then turned to HOT within a matter of minutes. We had to open the windows which made for a very noisy night. The sheets did not want to stay on the bed so it was a wrestling match. I guess for the price for one night it was doable; but I will not consider this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Feb 5, 2008

All Not Well at the Wellington

My Mother always taught me if you have to say one bad thing about something try to say two things good. I feel bad, but I really can't do that. The Wellington Hotel location was great, the price I got on the room was excellent for Midtown Manhatten, and the staff was helpful and friendly. The room was clean and neat, but when we went to sleep that night the bed was like sleeping on steel springs. My wife and I tossed and turned all night. I slept only about seven hours the whole three night I stayed there. The second night we had to call down and get clean sheets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Money saver and time saver: Take a cab. I always use to take the Grey Line into the city thinking it was such a great deal, but it cost 2 people about $40 dollars and it takes you about an hour or two to get to your hotel. A taxi is about $25 - $30 with tip and in good traffic takes 20 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wyoming
Dec 19, 2009

hotel

noisy at night with people slamming doors, room was very small, trouble with the toilet, sink drained very slowly,noisy, bed was small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

food very expensive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jan 9, 2011

new york gettaway

Hotel was nice, however the room was very small and dirty. Not very happy about the room especially for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Statue of liberty

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TTNancy
Business
Louisiana
Jul 14, 2009

Good for Borat, not for us.

We booked a kitchenette so we could prepare some meals in-room, but aside from four small glasses, there were no pots, pans, dishes, utensils for that purpose. We chose this hotel because my search for a handicapped friendly property showed this one to be accessible, but that was not the case. My husband uses a cane; but I am left wondering how a wheelchair-bound individual can even get in the building. There are no ramps at either entrance. Hallways are very narrow, and our bathroom was ridiculous. No handholds; I had to physically lift my 180 pound spouse off the toilet after each use. The bathtub-shower was dangerous even for someone in shape - slippery, did not drain well, no way I could get my husband into the tub. I sat him on the side of the bed and ferried washcloths back and forth until he "got that clean fresh feeling." This is the room that was given to us after we discovered the first room assigned was down a short flight of five steps from the lobby level. I love old hotels; they are romantic and elegant and show off any city to best advantage; however, the owner is best served by scraping and saving and doing a first-class renovation and showing realistic photos to potential visitors. The rest of our NYC experience was amazing. We saw an incredible dance performance at Lincoln Center, dined at Cognac and Serafina and the Carnegie Deli; shopped at the Apple store. Even bought a purse on the street. I have been to New York on both personal and professional business; while the hotel stay was disappointing, the staff was kind, helpful and tried their very best to assist us when we had questions. And oh, yeah, a couple of scenes from Borat were filmed there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great local delis all around. New York's delis are a culture unto themselves with unmatched people watching and generous, tasty portions - breakfast, lunch and dinner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Potential NY Grad Student
Business
Portland, OR
Apr 22, 2009

Eh.

The room was the size of a broom closet. The bathroom had a heating pipe running through it (floor to ceiling) that caused the bathroom to be approximately 20 degrees hotter than the room. When we ordered room service and the food was delivered, the staff seemed to be extremely surprised the room was even a room! When we checked in, there were no towels in the room, and had to call the front desk to deliver towels. Over all, it was an appropriate place to lay your head down at night, and the staff in the lobby was fairly friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Carnegie Deli is kitty-corner to the hotel! Hint - get cash before you go as they only take cash!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top