$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1467 out of 1467
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Otto & Julie
Business
Nashville, TN
Sep 20, 2010

Good hotel for the price/Great Location

Very good for the money. Avoid elevators during peak hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
rochester
Apr 4, 2011

ok

it was just ook

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Nov 9, 2010

Dirty Hotel

Although this hotel was located near Times Square I found it to be dirty and in need of renovation. Also, don't get the breakfast included. It's better and cheaper to do it yourself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hartford, CT
Dec 20, 2010

Great Location! But Kind of Out-dated...

The location of the hotel is unbeatable. There is a subway stop right across the street from the hotel if you ride the NQR yellow line. Plus, you are a few blocks from Central Park and a short walk from Rockefeller center and 5th avenue shopping. The hotel lobby was very festive as we went during Christmas but the rooms were very old fashioned. It doesn't look like the hotel has been updated in a long time, but if you are just looking for a clean place to sleep it did the job. Bathroom and rooms were very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

The subway that is right across the street can take you down to Soho (prince street) in 10 minutes or so. Great door to door service. Also, 5th avenue is a short 10 minute or less wak away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
c. soto
Business
mountain view ,ca
Feb 5, 2010

review of wellington

[...] the room is so small and dirty I would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

everything was close thats what was the only good thing

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa
Feb 13, 2010

Southern visitor

We were from the South. The location was great, the room was freezing but the heater was crazy loud. The walls are paper thin so that will depend on your neighbors. I would recommend a noisemaker if you are a light sleeper. There is a gift shop with small drinks and snacks (not the easiest thing to find close by). There is a great Chinese food almost across the street. The room was small but it's NYC so that was to be expected. The bed was so small I couldn't really share the sheet with my wife. Someone set off the fire alarm after we were asleep; the stairs go down to the third floor and then you have to find a different stair well to go the rest of the way down; doesn't seem like a very safe set up. The location is amazing and the subways are all very close which is really what you are paying for. The shower has good pressure but there is no counter in the bathroom to put your brush or anything on. Overall it's a decent place and the location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinese acrossstreet

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
May 9, 2011

Hotel Wellington

Just needed a room for the night while waiting for own apartment to be ready for occupancy. Room is very tiny with little amenities other than plenty of towels. Mattress is way too soft for a room that cost more than $200.00. No room service except from the local coffee shop downstairs. Wifi will cost $12 extra (if it works). It did not while I was there - I did not get charged.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is literally located in the heart of entertainment, shopping and dining venues. Conveniently located near subway, buses as well as taxis (doorman will hail one for you).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Nov 15, 2010

Don't expect to sleep well

We knew our room would be small and just average. However, we could have never predicted how hard it would be to sleep. Besides being small, the mattress was worn out and sloped down in the middle of the bed. But the worst part was the air conditioner. it would thump in the middle of the night. It was so loud the first night I thought someone was busting down our door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
1st time New Yorker
Business
Seattle, WA
Oct 20, 2009

Great Location, minimal ammenities

The location was great, 2 blocks from Central Park, 7 blocks from Time square. The staff was friendly and helpful. However, being an older hotel the rooms were very "used" looking. The cushions on the sofa sleeper were worn, stained and fraying. The pillows were very flat and uncomfortable. We had a suite with a "kitchenette" that had a small refridgerator, sink and microwave. There was a small coffee pot in the cupboard but nothing else, no coffe for the pot, no cups, no utensils etc., it was a mostly a useless space. Aside from the location I would not recommend this hotel and I would probably not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

2 blocks from Central Park to the north and 7 blocks to Time Square to the south of the hotel, very convenient!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
washington
Nov 25, 2010

old building but in good location

The place was in very good location. but it could of been better if i dont need to pay for everything like internet access something like that. the bathroom.the room are small. what makes me more disappointed is when i hold to the one corner in the bathrrom i burned my fingers. there was a hot metal pipe which is verry dangerous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top