$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1467 out of 1467
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sweet Magnolia
Savannah, Georgia
Nov 15, 2013

A great value!

The location of this hotel is perfect to reach most of the city's main attractions (Broadway, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, etc.# simply by walking, and close to the subway, taxis and buses if needed. With so much around, no additional amenities are required, although the 'Business Center' would benefit from a quieter spot. The rooms are ample for New York standards and very comfortable: they have everything you may need for a pleasant stay. The comfy bed and plush pillows assure a cozy rest after a long day trekking the city. Although not completely spotless, the room was very clean #no bugs, no stains, no smells, no hairs#. The staff was friendly, efficient and helpful. The Wellington is, for its price, location and comfort, a great value for a stay in Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you're traveling with little luggage and come to this hotel (Wellington Hotel), you can take the subway from and to the airport (JFK). The travel time is approximately the same as a taxi ride, but you'll save a lot in transportation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ewa Beach
Nov 13, 2008

Good value for your money

Great location. Near to all major attractions. Near the subways, near times square, central park, museum of modern art, etc. Friendly staff, great service and definately good value for your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chesterfield, MO
Oct 29, 2008

My review of Wellington Hotel

very dirty small room will never stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jonas Ridge
Oct 27, 2008

Great location, nice staff, a few problems

We stayed 3 nights and the hotel location can not be beat, period. The staff was friendly and my room was spotless. There is a need for some updating, carpet a little old, door facings need painted but nothing to cause problems to my stay in that respect. The heat in the room would not work, not a problem in the day but at night we got rather cold (late October). My biggest complaint is that we were put in the penthouse. That seems like a stupid complaint but let me explain. There is only 1 elevator in the entire hotel that goes to that floor and it happens to be the same only elevator that goes to the basement where the staff work from. During the day you would wait sometime 20 minutes (I am not exaggerating) for the elevator because the staff would hold it on the floor they were working on so they could get back to the basement fast. I complained about it to the staff and they acknowledged that they did do it but nothing changed and I am sure never will. The penthouse room was ok but definately not worth the hassle of the elevator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson
Oct 20, 2008

Awesome location for seeing the City!

The Wellington Hotel is in a great location. Walk out the front door and to the left is Times Square, to the right is Central Park - all easily walkable. We used the Subway only once the entire visit. The Hotel staff were very helpful to us. We had a friend who had to use a scooter during the trip due to a fractured leg and the staff were very attentive to placing the ramp as he came in and out of the hotel. We were given great suggestions for dining near the hotel, staff never steared us wrong. The bathroom in our room was very small, not room for two, though the shower was great. The hot water pipe ran through the bathroom and heated the entire room, however the air-conditioning offset it well. The housekeeping staff was friendly as well. The Gift Shop staff were also very helpful in making reservations for tours as well. We spent little time in the hotel room so for the value and location it was well worth it - we look forward to visiting New York again and will definitely stay at the Wellington.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many wonderful restaurants are nearby and within a very short walk. What doesn't New York offer?

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 17, 2008

My review of Wellington Hotel

We loved the Hotel and everyone was very nice and helpful. Great location. We are able to walk to Time Square, Central Park, and so much more. The room was very very clean and comfortable. Would stay there again and have told everyone just how great it was. We loved New York City. Jersey Boys was EXCELLENT. And we were close enough to walk there also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is in walking distance with a few exceptions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 14, 2008

good location

The location of the Wellington hotel is very good. It is close to the theater area (eg Carnegie hall at 100 m)but also to the central park, ideal for early morning joggers. The room was Ok but seemed smaller than on the photos, and their was little possibility to store clothes. The lobby was always very busy but nevertheless the personnelwas very friendly and helpfull.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Petrossian(the coffeeshop-bakery next to the restaurant' : a nice place to have a european breakfast at a good price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oklahoma City
Oct 11, 2008

Get what you pay for

Wellington is in a great location, but the rooms are not very good at all. The floor in my room was very uneven with sags that made you wonder if it was safe. There was no provision for internet, and the business center charged guests to use the computer. After waiting about 10 minutes for a bellman, I carried my own bags to my room. other than the location, this is a terrible choice for a hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several nice breakfast shops were right near the hotel. Dont bother with Lindy's or its famous cheesecake, the prices are outrageous and the service is horrid

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 11, 2008

The Wellington

Me and a girl friend, both students, stayed there beginning of October. We were very impressed with the staff and hotel itself. The room was clean and ready when we arrived shortly before 3pm. The room was tidied and bathroom cleaned everyday to a very high fashion. We had a great time and the location of the hotel was excellent. About a 5/10 minute walk down to Times Square and really near all the Broadway shows. Excellent deli across the street aswell. We had a fabulous time and would definately go there again and recommend to a friend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Racine
Sep 29, 2008

perfect location

This hotel is right in the heart of Manhattan and walking distance to all of the theaters, Central Park, the museums, and fifth avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The half price ticket booth is within walking distance and offers tickets to Broadway musicals on the day of the performance for 50% off. We were able to see five musicals in a three day weekend and all at half price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 20, 2008

Very family friendly.

My partner and I stayed at the Wellington for 7 days from September 13th until September 20th. The room was fairly small, but clean, and comfortable - particularly the bathroom. Centrally located, we have no hesitation to recommend this hotel for anyone who is looking for not luxury, but adequate accommodation at an affordable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top