$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1655 out of 1655
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sweet Magnolia
Savannah, Georgia
Nov 15, 2013

A great value!

The location of this hotel is perfect to reach most of the city's main attractions (Broadway, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, etc.# simply by walking, and close to the subway, taxis and buses if needed. With so much around, no additional amenities are required, although the 'Business Center' would benefit from a quieter spot. The rooms are ample for New York standards and very comfortable: they have everything you may need for a pleasant stay. The comfy bed and plush pillows assure a cozy rest after a long day trekking the city. Although not completely spotless, the room was very clean #no bugs, no stains, no smells, no hairs#. The staff was friendly, efficient and helpful. The Wellington is, for its price, location and comfort, a great value for a stay in Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you're traveling with little luggage and come to this hotel (Wellington Hotel), you can take the subway from and to the airport (JFK). The travel time is approximately the same as a taxi ride, but you'll save a lot in transportation.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 2, 2009

Super location but basic room

We had booked a double room, which was clean, and had been refurbished but still had some of the original fittings. We were surprised that there weren't tea and coffee making facilities available. Even in the 2 star hotels we have stayed in all over the world have had a kettle and complimentary tea and coffee. The location is excellent with the subway entrance just outside the hotel and a short walk to other subway lines and to times square and the theatre district. The staff are quite helpful and friendly. But the lifts are extremely slow and the first bellman that greeted us was not especially friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Jul 2, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

the hotel is in walking distance for everything we wanted to do while staying in NY. The check in time was later than I wanted it to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nebraska
Jul 2, 2009

Old New York

We mainly were there to sight see-and we did. The Hop on Hop Off location was 1 block away, many of the sights we wanted to see were within walking distance, times square was amazing, yet when we came back to our hotel it was quiet and comfortable. The doorman, housekeepers, and hotel registers were very helpful and polite. They made us feel very welcome and important as we were their guests. We will return to New York and the Wellington Hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hop On Hop Off bus gave a terrific overview of the city and it's sights. Worth the time and money. We rode the bus for the entire tour and discovered where we wanted to go and which way to walk.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
toffie
Business
Norge
Jul 2, 2009

Great location!

Great location. Very friendly staff. Small rom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ralph, theater lover
Business
Detroit, MI
Jul 2, 2009

Wellington is

While in New York City, we went to 3 plays on Broadway. We also took several tours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Shop at larger grocery markets for beverages and snacks, the smaller deli stores our very expensive.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wofeys
Business
Newport Beach, Ca
Jul 1, 2009

great location

great location minutes from time square, but away from the noise close to central park, and tour buses close to great restaurants liked that most of the guests were european loved the wellington only thing that would make it 100% perfect would be if they had a small coffee maker in the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

many restaurants to chose from

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bellbrook, Ohio
Jul 1, 2009

great location!

Stay was great. Tried to book for another date but was unable to get information about booking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wofeys
Business
Newport Beach, Ca
Jul 1, 2009

great location

great location minutes from time square, but away from the noise close to central park, and tour buses close to great restaurants liked that most of the guests were european loved the wellington only thing that would make it 100% perfect would be if they had a small coffee maker in the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

many restaurants to chose from

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fun Mom Terri
Business
Minneapolis
Jun 30, 2009

Great location, good hotel for the price

My 19 year old daughter & I came for a 3 night, 4 day trip to check out a school and have a bit of fun in the big city. The location is excellent for walking to most of the great sights(Central Park, Broadway,shopping-5th ave. & restaurants/deli's. Also easy access to subways, & the tour buses are everywhere- a great way to see Manhattan. Would do it all again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Largo, FL
Jun 30, 2009

Great location for the price

Overall, I was happy with the room. The location and price was great. Staff were very friendly and efficient. The rooms could use some updating, but were very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Within walking distance of Broadway, Time Square and Central Park.

Back to menu Return to top