$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1363 out of 1363
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JaxMom of 3
Family
Jacksonville, FL
Jun 29, 2013

Perfect NYC Family Hotel

This hotel is perfect. We were told we received a renovated room. It was supposed to have one king bed and one sofa bed but ended up having one king bed and one queen bed which worked out great. The living room was very large with a comfy sofa and had a small kitchen table with 3 chairs and small kitchenette. I cannot tell you how spacious the rooms were...not spacious by NY standards but it was like a large apartment. It was also very clean and had 2 desks and chairs. I will never stay anwhere else in NYC. We were a few blocks from Central Park, Rockefeller Center, and Times Square. We walked everwhere and only needed to ride the subway to Battery Park. Don't book anywhere else, the Wellington is perfect. the only thing you should know is that the kitchen is not stocked with plates or utensils and does not have a coffee maker. But they have great room service and starbucks is across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Carnegie Deli is diagonal across the street...if you get your food to go you don't have to wait in the long line.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Indianapolis, IN
Jul 15, 2007

Great location. The location of the Wellington Hotel is ideal.

The Wellington Hotel is old as well as its furniture. The rooms are large and clean. It is close to mayor attractions in New York City. The subway is right outside the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Subway station right outside the hotel.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Jul 12, 2007

great location

This is centrally located to dozens of places you can walk to, NBC studios, times square, central park. Lots of places to eat, deli's, take out places. You can catch the tour bus right outside the hotel, a subway station is right outside also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Parc hotel has breakfast for a reasonable price. It is in the same building.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Denver, CO
Jul 11, 2007

Great Location

I was upgraded to a king room......free of charge.The room was very big for a New York hotel. The cafe was a bit on the high side. The location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Nearby Central park, shows, Time Square & shopping.I felt very safe in this area......even late at night.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 8, 2007

This was a very ...

This was a very comfortable, safe hotel. Entry to a subway station right on the corner, two blocks from Central Park on the north and just a few blocks from Times Square to the south. Lots of little delis and cafes across the street. The hotel itself was well kept, clean, and the staff was nothing but friendly. Would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you need is within walking distance

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Detroit, MI
Jul 7, 2007

perfect for location

The Wellington in NYC was perfect for a quick trip in to see a theatre performance. It was in walking distance to the theatre and in a real happening spot for shopping. I had never seen twin beds in a hotel room but that is part of the ambiance of busy and crowded NYC. My only complaint regarding this hotel is the bathroom is tiny..would definitely stay at the Wellington again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

across the street from the famous Carnegie Deli--and Carnegie Hall.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Dallas, TX
Jul 1, 2007

Adequate for the price

Good location, small room, comfortable bed, good shower, no real vanity area. I needed to be close to the Essex House for a wedding, so location was great, and it was among the least expensive in that area. I drove a rental car in, and off-site valet parking was offerred at $35/day, though it took almost 20 minutes for them to deliver the car. Doorman was present when I arrived on Friday, didn't see another over the weekend. Front desk staff was efficient upon arrival Friday afternoon, and for checkout Sunday morning, but when I returned Sunday evening to get my car back from parking they were disorganized and distracted, and much slower in assisting me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park, Columbus Circle, good dining options

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Detroit, MI
Jun 24, 2007

Great for students on a budget

For our stay in New York, we chose the Wellington for its location and price. It's only a few blocks from Times Square with easy access to all locations and attractions. The hotel room was pretty small, but it was recently remodeled. Overall, it's a cozy hotel that met all of our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Metro is two blocks down from the hotel, and they have a lunch special of a sandwich, drink, and bag of chips for about $6, which is an amazing deal in NYC. Also, try all of the street vendor food--it's amazing!

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Columbus, OH
Jun 24, 2007

Great servic

I got to the hotel at 9 am (checkin time is 3 pm). Not only was I able to get my room, but they upgraded me to a suite. The room was very clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. I will definitely stay at the Wellington again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Haven, CT
Jun 13, 2007

Great resturant next door.

Great deli sandwiches next door at the Park Cafe . Also, had great breakfasts and dinners .Prices not bad for NYC . If i am in the city again I would stay at the Wellington .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Denver, CO
Jun 11, 2007

Old World Style

If you are looking for Old World Style with stellar service, this hotel is for you. If you appreciate convenience, location and kitch, Hotel Wellington will not dissappoint. If you are looking for a national hotel chain in appearance and room configuration, this is not for you. The rooms are modes and small in comparison to new hotels. The bathroom is typical NY apt style - toilet and sink are opposite each other with just enough room to stand in between and function. There is an actual closet with enough room for your clothes and suitcases. We loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you could possible want is a short walk away, including the subway.

Back to menu Return to top