$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 4, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1487 out of 1487
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Olympia, WA
Dec 26, 2008

Great location

The room of wellington hotel was comfortable, but there was huge sound from heater,so I couldn't sleep well. And one of the hotel staff in the front was little rude, maybe because they were busy during chrismas season. This hotel stands in a really good location. It's near to subway(like 10 second away), and I could walk to times square in 10 minutes

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Camarillo
Dec 26, 2008

LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION

We were 3 blocks from Central Park and about a 5-10 minute walk froom Times Square. The hotel is not a frilly hotel, but has everything you need-not to mention the staff who are both helpful and have all of the information you will need for a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Ana
Dec 24, 2008

Tiny room

The staff at the Wellington Hotel was courteous and the location was fantastic (couple blocks from Central Park, Rockefeller Center, and Times Square - 1,2,3 train station right outside the door). Unfortunately, the room was ridiculously small. It was the smallest hotel room we've ever stayed in. Also, the bed linens were sparse, just a sheet and rough felt blanket and a comforter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 22, 2008

Perfect Location

The Wellington Hotel is great. I've stayed here twice and have no complaints. It is, in my opinion, the best value for your dollar. The staff is very helpful and the rooms are great. Definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a short walk to Times Square and many restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Dec 21, 2008

No fuss functional.

I have stayed at the Wellington twice. I go to NY mainly for the theatre so the location of this hotel is fairly ideal, as it's close to Times Square but also is a few steps from Central Park and transportation hubs. I don't expect much from the Wellington. The decor is standard hotel traditional, but not fancy. The lobby almost always is a hub of activity with people checking in and out. We hen I checked in this time, I asked for a room with lots of natural light. I had previously had a high floor, SW corner room (with a view of Times Square) so I know it exists. They have a bit of a service (scam) there that REQUIRES you to be escorted to your room by a bellman. I'm self-sufficient and travel without the need or expectation of services like these - which command a cash tip. I wasn't a fan of this, weather he was recently in the cast of Survivor or not. Oh, and you must wait for a bellman. My only request was for light, and they gave me a high floor, but a single-window center room. I stood waiting (again) in the hallway with my bags while the bellman left to negotiate another room (was this the plan al along?). This time I was given a NW corner room (less sunlight that south) with a view of Central Park and Carnegie Hall's rooftop. New York rooms are small and this was no exception. The WiFi worked better this time but it's not free. You pay by the week. Families gravitate here, which means much conversation happens in the hallway - so you can hear it. The Wellington is a workable place to keep your stuff while you spend time in NYC. There is plenty of dining (all types and price ranges), shopping, sights and transportation. Make sure price is the reason you stay here. Convenience is the only attribute you'll hands-down love.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
USA
Dec 20, 2008

Family friendly, great location

The Wellington is an older hotel, they are working on remodeling the rooms. We got a remodeled room, which was nice, but small with a very small closet and small restroom. The ac/heat is not too good, I think they need to put in a whole new system. Overall, decent hotel, clean, and location is great. Several places to eat close by and subway stairs just outside of hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Times Square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 17, 2008

great hotel

This was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. We are a military family who have traveled all over the world, and this is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. It was located near everything we wanted to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We were close to good shopping, great restaurants and entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 17, 2008

Great Location

The Staff was very friendly. The location was excellent. The heating/a/c and general updating of hotel needs work. Will consider again on next visit to New York!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eunice
Dec 11, 2008

Not what I thought it would be

I was very disappointed in the room. The rooms were extremely small for the price paid per night. The bathroom was very small with no room at all to get dressed. there was really no extra space in the room to store anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

plenty of things to do within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado Springs
Dec 8, 2008

Great location and great price

The Wellington is a famous hotel in the heart of New York City. The location is as great. We were upgraded to a suite in the upper floors. This was another great bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

7th Avenue at this part of town is the best shopping area in Manhattan!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top