$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
2,117 reviews
wellington hotel - great hotel

the staff was very kind and helpful! the room was very clean and organized ! great location ! See full review

  • benurit7
  • Apr 18, 2014
Old World Charm - Right Next to Carnegie Hall

As an experienced/budget traveler, loved my stay in this charming old-world hotel. Simple small... See full review

  • John Foley
  • Apr 16, 2014
Radiating history from its walls, the Wellington Hotel New York?built in 1901?stands apart from the fast pace of modern city life surrounding it. The plush lobby is decked out in rich tones and intricate murals, while focal chandeliers give the interiors a classical ambience.  If you are here on business, the hotel?s central location and 24-hour business center will cater to your every need. Midtown Manhattan is full of excellent restaurants; gourmets would do well to try the Wellington?s delicious plates of Greek mezze at the Molyvos restaurant, or the Park Cafe's informal all-day dining options.
Key facts
  • 700 guestrooms
  • Two restaurants: Molyvos and Park Cafe
  • 24-hour business center
  • Gift shop
  • Hair salon
  • Multilingual staff
Neighborhood

With Central Park just three blocks away, the Wellington places guests close to a welcoming green space featuring a wide range of activities, including roller skating and boating, on the calm waters of the lake. Every type of cuisine is represented in this neighborhood, with area favorites ranging from Ray’s Pizza on Broadway to The Russian Tea Room on West 57th Street, where visitors can choose from more than 40 types of vodka, or book the facility for a classical afternoon tea. Retail therapy can be found inside the designer stores of 5th Avenue or the dependable establishment of Bloomingdale’s, which combines major lines and fresh labels.

Hints and tips
Some of the rooms have kitchenettes-perfect for hot snacks and downtime after a long day. If you're visiting in November or December, stock up on gifts and Christmas decorations at the Wellington's Christmas Cottage store.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7644 -73.9807
Area served
New York, Manhattan
Nearby airports
J.F.K., LaGuardia, and Newark airports
Area description
Centrally located in Midtown Manhattan, the Wellington Hotel is steps to Carnegie Hall, City Center, Central Park and Broadway, New York's celebrated Theatre District. Fifth Avenue Shopping, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center, Times Square and the Museum of Radio and Television are within easy walking distance. Equally accessible are the United Nations, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Jacob K. Javitis Convention Center. Fortune 500 headquarters and many corporate offices are nearby as are a variety of fine dining and world famous restaurants. Public Transportation is at our door and can take you in minutes to the Statue of Liberty, Wall Street, South Street Seaport, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim Museum, Museum of Natural History, Intrepid Air and Space Museum and Yankee and Shea Stadiums

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wellington Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Wellington Hotel Rooms

Standard Double -Double
Standard Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee. Note: a third person cannot be accommodated
Deluxe Double-Double
Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with two double beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features two flat screen TVs with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, one bathroom; refrigerator and microwave (no utensils). High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Standard Room with One Double Bed
Standard Room with One Double Bed accommodates one or two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • University Club: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.4 mi

Dining

Park Cafe
A traditional New York coffee shop,The Park Cafe, which has been welcoming guests for more than 25 years, was recently renovated. Breakfast is served every day beginning at 6:00am. You can also enjoy lunch, dinner and after-theater dining until 1:00am.
Molyvos
Enjoy award winning Mediterranean cuisine at Molyvos. From noon Monday to Friday traditional Greek dishes and grilled fish specialties are served. Saturday and Sunday also offers brunch from 11:00am. Molyvos is located in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (2117)

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
2117 out of 2117
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Leon/Guanajuato
Sep 10, 2007

Great Location

everything was fine, except my room doesn't have a view to the city, all that i could see from my window was a gray and dirty wall, for being in new york, i didn't enjoy the view of the skyline.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

4 blocks from time square

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
rancho cucamonga, ca
Sep 12, 2010

great location great price

my wife and I had a wonderful time! The hotel had overbooked as it was a holiday weekend, however, they had been very friendly and accommodating as they found a reservation for us at a nearby sister hotel. Once our room was available they set up our luggage and offered several complimentary upgrades and services. They hotel itself has an amazing location offering quick and easy access to several attractions. The rooms however are outdated and could use an upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the grayline bus tours. It is the best way to get around as it consist of a "hop-on hop-off" option. Also, the tours are informative and quiet interesting.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Annual Ohio Visitors
Ohio
Oct 8, 2013

Oct 2013 Stay at Wellington Hotel

We stay at the Wellington nearly every time we go to NYC. The location is great - close to Central Park, Times Square, Broadway theaters etc. Hotel amenities are modest, but it is clean and reasonably comfortable. There is a great cafe for breakfast on the first floor of the Wellington building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, Tx
Aug 4, 2009

Wonderful time

I had heard that the hotel rooms in NY were very small but I was surprised to see that our room was of perfect size. I did not feel like I was in a box, great location, friendly staff, extremely friendly bell men. I will definetely stay there our second time around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We could see Central Park on one end of the street from our hotel window and Times Square on the other end. It was beautiful.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rincon, GA
Jun 9, 2010

NYC for the 1st time

The staff was friendly enough to people that speak English, but I did notice some frustration by the staff for some people who spoke very little or poor English. The rooms were adequate in size and we actually had 2 rooms and 2 small bathrooms. The blow dryer in one bathroom didn't work, but the staff gave us a portable hair dryer to use. The decor could use some updating. We ended up being on a smoking floor, but we weren't in our room much so it wasn't a real problem. The diner attached to the hotel is delicious and fast. We had the best omelets there and the price was not bad by NY standards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ALH Steeler Fan
Pittsburgh, PA
Oct 19, 2010

Good location!

Since our flight arrived several hours before check-in, the hotel staff made it easy for us to explore the area by keeping our bags for us, They also kept our bags until 730PM on our day of departure since we had a late flight. We were in walking distance to Time Square, Central Park, Rockefeller Center. I would definately go to the Wellington again. It's an older hotel, but we spent very little time in our room. Had no complaints about the room..friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JointDoc
Atlanta, GA
Mar 21, 2011

Excellent location for the price

The hotel was in the right place at the right price. There was nothing fancy but it was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The diner that you enter from the hotel had a delicious breakfast and it was fast and reasonably inexpensive.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Memphis Tennessee
Jun 10, 2010

Great Location

When I first arrived at the hotel, I was disappointed with the condition of the room. It was clean, but was heavily used. After staying a week it grew on me. There was a huge TV and the air condition worked well. What I saw as damage became charm after several days. The hotel is in a extremely convenient location. Time Square and Central Park was a short walking distance, and there is a subway stop right outside the side entrance of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tallahassee, FL
Jun 11, 2009

Oldie but Goodie

The hotel has an elegance about it that speaks of old New York. The bathroom definitely needs updating to make it more comfortable. The shower was very inconsistent between hot and cold. To the hotel's credit they did attempt to fix it, but we were on the 27th floor and the shower temperature fluxuated each time the toilets below us were flushed...or that is the way it felt to us. This is the second time we have stayed here. We were on like the 5th floor before and we did not have this problem. My recommendation..stay on lower floors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Within easy walking distance to Times Square, Broadway, Carnegie Hall, CBS, ABC...

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J009
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 14, 2012

Great location

Can't beat location for touring NY. Lobby is nice. Old school feel with bellman and safes behind the reception desk. Rooms themselves are in need of a lot of work. Very worn carpet, old fixtures, paint needs to be touched up everywhere. Staff was nice, owners should show some support and start rehabbing this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top