$86 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 8, 2015 Check-out: Feb 11, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
1,441 reviews
Great room

Loved the location. Helpful staff. Very clean. This review needs to be at least 50 characters? See full review

  • bigman4by4
  • Jan 27, 2015
What a great holiday

This hotel was perfect. we couldnt believe how grand it was. the location could'nt have been better... See full review

  • shazaboo
  • Jan 19, 2015
Radiating history from its walls, the Wellington Hotel New York?built in 1901?stands apart from the fast pace of modern city life surrounding it. The plush lobby is decked out in rich tones and intricate murals, while focal chandeliers give the interiors a classical ambience.  If you are here on business, the hotel?s central location and 24-hour business center will cater to your every need. Midtown Manhattan is full of excellent restaurants; gourmets would do well to try the Wellington?s delicious plates of Greek mezze at the Molyvos restaurant, or the Park Cafe's informal all-day dining options.
Key facts
  • 700 guestrooms
  • Two restaurants: Molyvos and Park Cafe
  • 24-hour business center
  • Gift shop
  • Hair salon
  • Multilingual staff
Neighborhood

With Central Park just three blocks away, the Wellington places guests close to a welcoming green space featuring a wide range of activities, including roller skating and boating, on the calm waters of the lake. Every type of cuisine is represented in this neighborhood, with area favorites ranging from Ray’s Pizza on Broadway to The Russian Tea Room on West 57th Street, where visitors can choose from more than 40 types of vodka, or book the facility for a classical afternoon tea. Retail therapy can be found inside the designer stores of 5th Avenue or the dependable establishment of Bloomingdale’s, which combines major lines and fresh labels.

Hints and tips
Some of the rooms have kitchenettes-perfect for hot snacks and downtime after a long day. If you're visiting in November or December, stock up on gifts and Christmas decorations at the Wellington's Christmas Cottage store.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wellington Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Wellington Hotel Rooms

Standard Double -Double
Standard Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee. Note: a third person cannot be accommodated
Deluxe Double-Double
Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with two double beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features two flat screen TVs with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, one bathroom; refrigerator and microwave (no utensils). High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Standard Room with One Double Bed
Standard Room with One Double Bed accommodates one or two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • University Club: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi

Dining

Park Cafe
A traditional New York coffee shop,The Park Cafe, which has been welcoming guests for more than 25 years, was recently renovated. Breakfast is served every day beginning at 6:00am. You can also enjoy lunch, dinner and after-theater dining until 1:00am.
Molyvos
Enjoy award winning Mediterranean cuisine at Molyvos. From noon Monday to Friday traditional Greek dishes and grilled fish specialties are served. Saturday and Sunday also offers brunch from 11:00am. Molyvos is located in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1441)

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
1441 out of 1441
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jonas Ridge
Oct 27, 2008

Great location, nice staff, a few problems

We stayed 3 nights and the hotel location can not be beat, period. The staff was friendly and my room was spotless. There is a need for some updating, carpet a little old, door facings need painted but nothing to cause problems to my stay in that respect. The heat in the room would not work, not a problem in the day but at night we got rather cold (late October). My biggest complaint is that we were put in the penthouse. That seems like a stupid complaint but let me explain. There is only 1 elevator in the entire hotel that goes to that floor and it happens to be the same only elevator that goes to the basement where the staff work from. During the day you would wait sometime 20 minutes (I am not exaggerating) for the elevator because the staff would hold it on the floor they were working on so they could get back to the basement fast. I complained about it to the staff and they acknowledged that they did do it but nothing changed and I am sure never will. The penthouse room was ok but definately not worth the hassle of the elevator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson
Oct 20, 2008

Awesome location for seeing the City!

The Wellington Hotel is in a great location. Walk out the front door and to the left is Times Square, to the right is Central Park - all easily walkable. We used the Subway only once the entire visit. The Hotel staff were very helpful to us. We had a friend who had to use a scooter during the trip due to a fractured leg and the staff were very attentive to placing the ramp as he came in and out of the hotel. We were given great suggestions for dining near the hotel, staff never steared us wrong. The bathroom in our room was very small, not room for two, though the shower was great. The hot water pipe ran through the bathroom and heated the entire room, however the air-conditioning offset it well. The housekeeping staff was friendly as well. The Gift Shop staff were also very helpful in making reservations for tours as well. We spent little time in the hotel room so for the value and location it was well worth it - we look forward to visiting New York again and will definitely stay at the Wellington.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many wonderful restaurants are nearby and within a very short walk. What doesn't New York offer?

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 17, 2008

My review of Wellington Hotel

We loved the Hotel and everyone was very nice and helpful. Great location. We are able to walk to Time Square, Central Park, and so much more. The room was very very clean and comfortable. Would stay there again and have told everyone just how great it was. We loved New York City. Jersey Boys was EXCELLENT. And we were close enough to walk there also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is in walking distance with a few exceptions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 14, 2008

good location

The location of the Wellington hotel is very good. It is close to the theater area (eg Carnegie hall at 100 m)but also to the central park, ideal for early morning joggers. The room was Ok but seemed smaller than on the photos, and their was little possibility to store clothes. The lobby was always very busy but nevertheless the personnelwas very friendly and helpfull.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Petrossian(the coffeeshop-bakery next to the restaurant' : a nice place to have a european breakfast at a good price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oklahoma City
Oct 11, 2008

Get what you pay for

Wellington is in a great location, but the rooms are not very good at all. The floor in my room was very uneven with sags that made you wonder if it was safe. There was no provision for internet, and the business center charged guests to use the computer. After waiting about 10 minutes for a bellman, I carried my own bags to my room. other than the location, this is a terrible choice for a hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several nice breakfast shops were right near the hotel. Dont bother with Lindy's or its famous cheesecake, the prices are outrageous and the service is horrid

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 11, 2008

The Wellington

Me and a girl friend, both students, stayed there beginning of October. We were very impressed with the staff and hotel itself. The room was clean and ready when we arrived shortly before 3pm. The room was tidied and bathroom cleaned everyday to a very high fashion. We had a great time and the location of the hotel was excellent. About a 5/10 minute walk down to Times Square and really near all the Broadway shows. Excellent deli across the street aswell. We had a fabulous time and would definately go there again and recommend to a friend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Racine
Sep 29, 2008

perfect location

This hotel is right in the heart of Manhattan and walking distance to all of the theaters, Central Park, the museums, and fifth avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The half price ticket booth is within walking distance and offers tickets to Broadway musicals on the day of the performance for 50% off. We were able to see five musicals in a three day weekend and all at half price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 20, 2008

Very family friendly.

My partner and I stayed at the Wellington for 7 days from September 13th until September 20th. The room was fairly small, but clean, and comfortable - particularly the bathroom. Centrally located, we have no hesitation to recommend this hotel for anyone who is looking for not luxury, but adequate accommodation at an affordable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 18, 2008

good value for the money

The Hotel Wellington was comfortable. If all you're looking for when you're in Manhattan is just a place to sleep and to catch a shower - this is it. We had twin beds and a TV in the room. That's ok because all we wanted in the hotel we stayed at was a clean room with a bathroom to get a shower every day. It is also convenient to the subway and many, many Manhattan attractions. I loved the short walk right out the hotel door to the subway and we were on our way. The hotel is located a short walk from Central Park in one direction and Times Square in the other. If you're looking for a quiet place to grab a drink, then Kennedy's is the perfect pub not far from the hotel. The bartender is from Ireland & he's very friendly and knowledgable about the surrounding area. We had a great time and would recommend The Hotel Wellington to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Broadway are all within walking distance from the hotel. Carnige Hall is right next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 7, 2008

excellent weekend for couple

I really liked the location close to the airport as well as to the city. I loved the friendliness of the workers and hotel room exceeded my expectations. It was surprice for my wife and she was definatelly positively surpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

m&m store

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top