$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
1,626 reviews
Beautiful hotel!!

First trip to New York! The hotel was beautiful with nice large rooms. Very clean!! We were able to... See full review

  • Letterman Fan
  • Jul 21, 2014
Excellent value for money

Good location, friendly staff. Allows you to walk to everything that is worth seeing. See full review

  • LeoSV
  • Jul 16, 2014
Radiating history from its walls, the Wellington Hotel New York?built in 1901?stands apart from the fast pace of modern city life surrounding it. The plush lobby is decked out in rich tones and intricate murals, while focal chandeliers give the interiors a classical ambience.  If you are here on business, the hotel?s central location and 24-hour business center will cater to your every need. Midtown Manhattan is full of excellent restaurants; gourmets would do well to try the Wellington?s delicious plates of Greek mezze at the Molyvos restaurant, or the Park Cafe's informal all-day dining options.
Key facts
  • 700 guestrooms
  • Two restaurants: Molyvos and Park Cafe
  • 24-hour business center
  • Gift shop
  • Hair salon
  • Multilingual staff
Neighborhood

With Central Park just three blocks away, the Wellington places guests close to a welcoming green space featuring a wide range of activities, including roller skating and boating, on the calm waters of the lake. Every type of cuisine is represented in this neighborhood, with area favorites ranging from Ray’s Pizza on Broadway to The Russian Tea Room on West 57th Street, where visitors can choose from more than 40 types of vodka, or book the facility for a classical afternoon tea. Retail therapy can be found inside the designer stores of 5th Avenue or the dependable establishment of Bloomingdale’s, which combines major lines and fresh labels.

Hints and tips
Some of the rooms have kitchenettes-perfect for hot snacks and downtime after a long day. If you're visiting in November or December, stock up on gifts and Christmas decorations at the Wellington's Christmas Cottage store.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7644 -73.9807
Area served
New York, Manhattan
Nearby airports
J.F.K., LaGuardia, and Newark airports
Area description
Centrally located in Midtown Manhattan, the Wellington Hotel is steps to Carnegie Hall, City Center, Central Park and Broadway, New York's celebrated Theatre District. Fifth Avenue Shopping, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center, Times Square and the Museum of Radio and Television are within easy walking distance. Equally accessible are the United Nations, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Jacob K. Javitis Convention Center. Fortune 500 headquarters and many corporate offices are nearby as are a variety of fine dining and world famous restaurants. Public Transportation is at our door and can take you in minutes to the Statue of Liberty, Wall Street, South Street Seaport, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim Museum, Museum of Natural History, Intrepid Air and Space Museum and Yankee and Shea Stadiums

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wellington Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Wellington Hotel Rooms

Standard Double -Double
Standard Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee. Note: a third person cannot be accommodated
Deluxe Double-Double
Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with two double beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features two flat screen TVs with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, one bathroom; refrigerator and microwave (no utensils). High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Standard Room with One Double Bed
Standard Room with One Double Bed accommodates one or two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • University Club: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.4 mi

Dining

Park Cafe
A traditional New York coffee shop,The Park Cafe, which has been welcoming guests for more than 25 years, was recently renovated. Breakfast is served every day beginning at 6:00am. You can also enjoy lunch, dinner and after-theater dining until 1:00am.
Molyvos
Enjoy award winning Mediterranean cuisine at Molyvos. From noon Monday to Friday traditional Greek dishes and grilled fish specialties are served. Saturday and Sunday also offers brunch from 11:00am. Molyvos is located in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1626)

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1626 out of 1626
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fitton family
New York
Nov 3, 2013

Wellington Hotel NY

Ideal location for exploring New York, Five minutes from Times Square and Central Park, Underground station outside the door, making travel easy. First class!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Carneys Bar excellent food.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 20, 2008

Very family friendly.

My partner and I stayed at the Wellington for 7 days from September 13th until September 20th. The room was fairly small, but clean, and comfortable - particularly the bathroom. Centrally located, we have no hesitation to recommend this hotel for anyone who is looking for not luxury, but adequate accommodation at an affordable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 18, 2008

good value for the money

The Hotel Wellington was comfortable. If all you're looking for when you're in Manhattan is just a place to sleep and to catch a shower - this is it. We had twin beds and a TV in the room. That's ok because all we wanted in the hotel we stayed at was a clean room with a bathroom to get a shower every day. It is also convenient to the subway and many, many Manhattan attractions. I loved the short walk right out the hotel door to the subway and we were on our way. The hotel is located a short walk from Central Park in one direction and Times Square in the other. If you're looking for a quiet place to grab a drink, then Kennedy's is the perfect pub not far from the hotel. The bartender is from Ireland & he's very friendly and knowledgable about the surrounding area. We had a great time and would recommend The Hotel Wellington to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Broadway are all within walking distance from the hotel. Carnige Hall is right next door.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 7, 2008

excellent weekend for couple

I really liked the location close to the airport as well as to the city. I loved the friendliness of the workers and hotel room exceeded my expectations. It was surprice for my wife and she was definatelly positively surpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

m&m store

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta
Sep 2, 2008

Great Location

This hotel has a great location however the room was very small, there was no ice maker, no microwave, no refrigerator. Maybe this is the only hotel who don't have ice maker. So, I had to buy bucket of ice for 3 dollar everyday. I was also a little bit disappointed with the housekeeping, one day they forgot to leave clean glasses in the room, then they forgot to bring clean towel, and for two days, they didn't pick up the dirty glasses. But overall, i like this hotel, very good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

either you wanna shop or visit another place, subway is in every corner of the street.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Harrisburg
Aug 31, 2008

Family Review

The Wellington Hotel was in a Central Location to see New York City. Times Square, Central Park and Broadway were all within comfortable walking distance. The Staff is vistor friendly and make every effort to make your visit enjoyable. We had two one bedroom suites that worked well for our family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Wellington is very close to all attractions. Everything from shopping to eating is available within a short walk. It is close to the Tour Bus Stops. We used the Tour Bus to move from one side of the city to the other so that we could enjoy all of New York City.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
La Puente
Aug 28, 2008

GREAT LOCATION

This was our first time in New York, this hotel could not have been in a better location. We were within walking distance of most of the great attractions ( Central Park , Time Square Etc.) If we needed to take a cab we waited thirty seconds at the most and the subway was just around the corner. We plan on going back to New York sometime and i would happily stay at this hotel again. The staff was friendly and very helpful of all our needs. A+++.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ther are too many places to eat around the hotel I wish i had time to list them all (and eat at all of them ) there is a sandwich shop across the street that is world famous and very good.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 22, 2008

Fantastic location

My goddaughter and I were very satisfied with the Wellington Hotel. It was clean, the staff was helpful, the rooms were adequate, the location is FANTASTIC. All we use our room for is to sleep and put on our fashionable outfits. It was perfect. The price was great, we had money to spend on other fashionable outfits. We recommend it for all fashionistas!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location. Great shopping.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nashville
Aug 20, 2008

hotel is just older... didn't feel clean

Housekeeping was very accomodating - gave us a new room as the original one had blood stains on the sheet; the curtains had fallen off; there was mildew in the shoer & shower curtain was disgusting; no alarm clock. Great location, though... old hotel - good is you get a great deal. doormen & concierge ignored all guests

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

3 blocks from Times Square; one block from Moma; across the street from Carnegie Deli; 4 or 5 blocks from Central Park

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 11, 2008

Affordable

I stayed at the Wellington Hotel. Although I expected there to be a substantial difference between the two hotels, I was a little more than taken back to see a set mouse trap under the window when I walked into the room (Room 535). The bathroom was very tiny and old, but at least the water pressure was strong. At one point, I dropped my cell phone, and it fell under the bed. There was a baseball cap, several plastic bags, hairpins, wrappers, etc.- in fact, alot of etc.! It was disgusting. I called the front desk to ask for a bucket of ice. I was told I had to get it from the restaurant. I walked down to the hotel restaurant and was told there would be a $5.00 charge (what?!? - the front desk staff failed to mention that!,) and the restaurant insisted (rather rudely I might add) on bringing it up themselves. I told a gentlemen who appeared to be the restaurant manager that we were leaving for the theatre within an hour, and I wanted it as soon as possible, so I would just take it with me. He insisted on sending it up and said it would be up momentarily. Never came. On the plus side, the front desk staff was quite nice and accomodating, as was the manager, whom I saw on more than one occasion pitching in and helping with check-ins and even carrying bags. Most of the bell staff (who double as concierges because there is none) were as helpful as they had time to be, but they were definately understaffed. However, our room was quiet, and the location of the hotel is good - just a few blocks from everything - and you can even catch the subway right outside of the building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

1. Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the David Letterman Theatre, and broadway shows are just a few blocks away (anywhere from 1 to 8 blocks)from the hotel. 2. For discount theatre tickets, go to the Marriott Marquis (off of Times Square) after 3:00 p.m. for evening theatre/performance tickets.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Eagan
Aug 3, 2008

Just so so

The Wellington needs some updating. The room and bathroom was quite small. The decor, carpet and the full size beds were out of date. There was a little too much water pressure for my taste in the shower. They need some towel racks in the bathroom, but where would you put them with barely any room? The 4 elevators were quite slow and also very small. The staff seemed very nice and was a wonderful help with street and subway directions. Excellent location for being right in the heart of Manhattan (couple blocks from Central Park and Times Square, 1 block from Broadway). This is a great place to crash at night if you're on a budget and looking to save a little bit of cash.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Rockefeller Center.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search