$121 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1478 out of 1478
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
1aunt
Beaver falls, pa
Aug 21, 2013

fantastic family getaway

The staff and room were wonderful. The location is perfect because it is within walking distance to out favorite spots and a subway access very close for other excursions. Will definitely return soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs. Dutchess
Business
Beaumont, Texas
Apr 23, 2009

Lovely

The staff was great and most helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Time square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Western Washington State
Apr 23, 2009

Great visit, friendly and helpful staff

Arrived early, they were able to check me in early, a few hours later. They provided a fridge for my meds. There was a great view from my corner room looking down 7th Ave to its crossing with Broadway,and all the lights of the theater district.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Apr 23, 2009

Great Location, Great Staff

The location was great. Easy subway access and close walk to many attractions. The staff was first rate and very helpful. I would like to see them update the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Dont miss Rudy's dive bar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYCboy
Business
Jackson, TN
Apr 22, 2009

Well worth the price

The room was great. The location was great. Everything was great. Nice sized LCD tv in the room and nice room service. We got there a couple hours before check-in and our room was ready for us. We could see Central Park from our room. It's about a 5 minute walk to Times Square, and 2 minutes to Central Park. There's a Subway terminal right outside one of the entrances. I definitely plan on staying here again. If you plan your booking, you can get a really great rate. Rooms are a bit small, which I understand is normal for New York, so if you plan on taking kids or don't like close quarters, you may want two rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LLM
Business
Baltimore, Maryland
Apr 22, 2009

Not so good!

I requested a non-smoking room; the room that was given to us was a smoking room and we were told there were no non-smoking. I thought I could deal with it until my eyes started watering. The staff said they could come up and spray something in the room. They then found a non-smoking room but it had a double bed. I took it just to get out of the smoking room. The ventilation system in the room did not work; made a lot of noise, started out cool and then turned to HOT within a matter of minutes. We had to open the windows which made for a very noisy night. The sheets did not want to stay on the bed so it was a wrestling match. I guess for the price for one night it was doable; but I will not consider this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Potential NY Grad Student
Business
Portland, OR
Apr 22, 2009

Eh.

The room was the size of a broom closet. The bathroom had a heating pipe running through it (floor to ceiling) that caused the bathroom to be approximately 20 degrees hotter than the room. When we ordered room service and the food was delivered, the staff seemed to be extremely surprised the room was even a room! When we checked in, there were no towels in the room, and had to call the front desk to deliver towels. Over all, it was an appropriate place to lay your head down at night, and the staff in the lobby was fairly friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Carnegie Deli is kitty-corner to the hotel! Hint - get cash before you go as they only take cash!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ragtime Willie
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 22, 2009

Not the Best!

My chief complaint was that the radiator could not be shut off. There was no thermostat in the room. Even with three windows open on cold days, the room was sweltering. It drove me outside. I was told it was a building problem and nothing could be done. Most unpleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to many major places, most notably MOMA and Times Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salem, Illinois
Apr 22, 2009

the fabulous new york weekend

we had a great time and the staff were friendly except for the rude telephone operator. the room was a little hot, but when we requested a room temp. adjustment, someone came right up. it would have been nice to have complimentary coffee and cream/sugar since there was a coffee pot in the room. everything else was great. we had a wonderful three days and the hotel was in walking distance to every wonderful thing we did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

take lots of money for food as we were stunned to see a $12.00 hot dog on the Roxy Deli menus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Midtown bound
Business
SF, CA
Apr 22, 2009

Great location

The hotel was not actually noisy, but the street repair till 3AM was. I could hear it all even on the 23rd floor. No other rooms, except smoking, were available. Busy hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
England
Apr 22, 2009

Fantastic Location

Brilliant location and a fantastic place to visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy the New York pass

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top