$136 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1359 out of 1359
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
1aunt
Beaver falls, pa
Aug 21, 2013

fantastic family getaway

The staff and room were wonderful. The location is perfect because it is within walking distance to out favorite spots and a subway access very close for other excursions. Will definitely return soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Knoxville, TN
Dec 14, 2007

Tiny rooms

Great staff.Room was small.Good if you use the room to just sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

cafe on first floor serves good breakfast.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Dec 5, 2007

Not a very well=dsciplined management hotel.

Needs pin or clip for emergency party dress hold up but no one likes to help or willing to do anything for us. I just felt so bad for them. Not a very well=dsciplined management hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Nov 29, 2007

Over stretched staff

The receptionists were friendly, but way overstretched and overstressed because there were so many tours arriving the night I checked in. The lobby was so crowded it was probably unsafe-- people sitting on the floor everywhere. The wait for the elevator was extremely long-- at least 20-25 minutes before I could get on. The room was adequate, but there was no hot water in the shower the next morning and the excuse was that the hotel was very busy. The concierge directed me to see the gift shop staff to book a ride to the airport, and then the gift shop staff sent me back to the concierge to book a ride. Although the front desk staff were very nice, the other staff members were n't-- probably because they were so stressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

The hotel is in walking distance of 55th and 5th Ave. which is a handy location.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 28, 2007

My review of Wellington Hotel

When I arrived at my Hotel there was no one to bring my bag into the Lobby or no one to bring my bag down the stairs to the elevator. I was my own bellman. On my first night a hot water boiler blew and hot steam was pouring into my room under the carpet. A real mess. The Hotel then put me into another room the size of a closet and it was a smokers room. Cigar smoke at that. This room change ocured about 12:35am and I was too tired to complain to the front desk. The next morning however I took my complaint to the front desk and the manager on duty offered no no more than it was beyond our control and offered another room for my last night there. I left very early the next morning and forgot a new pair of cufflinks on the desk. The hotel stressed my word against the hosekeeper. Anyway, I will not stay at that hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Nov 21, 2007

Business in NY style

the Hotel was comfortable an well located a short walk from Broadway and Times Sqr. The room was comfortable with a en suite bathroom . the Main room contained a Queen bed table and unit that held a 20 TV. there was also a small desk. The wireless network was very good . All in all a very nice boutique hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 30, 2007

Wonderful Location

The Wellington is an older fairly basic hotel, just 3 blocks from Central Park, 2 blocks from 5th Avenue, and not far to Times Square. We walked everywhere. For longer trips - the subway was just outside the hotel. One of the best features was the diner in the hotel. It was a great place for breakfast - reasonable and good. The room was small but clean - with a nice full bath. Our room was pretty quiet. (It helps to be higher up - there is a lot of street noise in the city). I would stay there again - primarily because of the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to check out the Tavern on the Green - even if you do not eat there, it is worth going inside and checking out the decor.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Sep 23, 2007

GREAT LOCATION AND FRIENDLY STAFF

WE HAD A GREAT STAY AT THE WELLINGTON HOTEL. STAFF VERY FRIENDLY AND WERE ALWAYS THERE FOR OUR NEEDS. HAD DIFFICULTY WITH MY WIRELESS INTERNET THAT WAS ADDED TO OUR ROOM BUT EVENTUALLY PROBLEM WAS SOLVED. GREAT VIEW FROM OUR 9TH FLOOR ROOM AND WALKING DISTANCE TO TIME SQUARE ATTRACTIONS. WOULD LOVE TO STAY AT THE WELLINGTON IN FUTURE VISITS TO NEW YORK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

GREAT BREAKFAST AT RESTURANT ACROSS THE STREET.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Sep 19, 2007

Great Location & Professional Staff

This was our first visit to New York City and choosing a hotel was very overwhelming. We were very pleased with The Wellington Hotel. The room was very small (double bed), but for Manhattan I guess it was average size! The hotel room was very clean and the bathroom was larger than I expected (it had a full size bathtub/shower combo). The staff was wonderful. The housekeepers were very friendly, the front desk personnel were very efficient and the bellmen were top notch - very impressive!! The location of the hotel was fantastic! Close to the theatres, Times Square, shopping and Central Park. The subway system is literally out the front door. When we go back, we will definitely stay there!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Fluffy's Cafe across the street is great for a quick morning bite to eat or decadent cheesecake without paying too much. The subway right outside the door will connect you with everywhere you need to go - use it!!

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Sep 16, 2007

great staff

Every one was nice. We were upgraded to a nice room. The location was really good. It was clean and comfortable. I will definitely stay at the Wellington again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were cafes and other small resturaunts right outside the hotel.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 16, 2007

good location.

I enjoyed myself very much

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

central park is quite close

Back to menu Return to top