$96 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
1,413 reviews
Great location, great staff!!!!

This hotel is in a perfect location, and the staff makes you feel home!!!! See full review

  • Antonio from Mex
  • Nov 19, 2014
perfect location, clean..

what a perfect location, bit dated, however clean, great staff...good internet. See full review

  • Okanjo mike
  • Oct 14, 2014
Radiating history from its walls, the Wellington Hotel New York?built in 1901?stands apart from the fast pace of modern city life surrounding it. The plush lobby is decked out in rich tones and intricate murals, while focal chandeliers give the interiors a classical ambience.  If you are here on business, the hotel?s central location and 24-hour business center will cater to your every need. Midtown Manhattan is full of excellent restaurants; gourmets would do well to try the Wellington?s delicious plates of Greek mezze at the Molyvos restaurant, or the Park Cafe's informal all-day dining options.
Key facts
  • 700 guestrooms
  • Two restaurants: Molyvos and Park Cafe
  • 24-hour business center
  • Gift shop
  • Hair salon
  • Multilingual staff
Neighborhood

With Central Park just three blocks away, the Wellington places guests close to a welcoming green space featuring a wide range of activities, including roller skating and boating, on the calm waters of the lake. Every type of cuisine is represented in this neighborhood, with area favorites ranging from Ray’s Pizza on Broadway to The Russian Tea Room on West 57th Street, where visitors can choose from more than 40 types of vodka, or book the facility for a classical afternoon tea. Retail therapy can be found inside the designer stores of 5th Avenue or the dependable establishment of Bloomingdale’s, which combines major lines and fresh labels.

Hints and tips
Some of the rooms have kitchenettes-perfect for hot snacks and downtime after a long day. If you're visiting in November or December, stock up on gifts and Christmas decorations at the Wellington's Christmas Cottage store.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wellington Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Wellington Hotel Rooms

Standard Double -Double
Standard Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee. Note: a third person cannot be accommodated
Deluxe Double-Double
Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with two double beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features two flat screen TVs with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, one bathroom; refrigerator and microwave (no utensils). High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Standard Room with One Double Bed
Standard Room with One Double Bed accommodates one or two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • University Club: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.4 mi

Dining

Park Cafe
A traditional New York coffee shop,The Park Cafe, which has been welcoming guests for more than 25 years, was recently renovated. Breakfast is served every day beginning at 6:00am. You can also enjoy lunch, dinner and after-theater dining until 1:00am.
Molyvos
Enjoy award winning Mediterranean cuisine at Molyvos. From noon Monday to Friday traditional Greek dishes and grilled fish specialties are served. Saturday and Sunday also offers brunch from 11:00am. Molyvos is located in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1413)

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
1413 out of 1413
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tesla Boy
Business
New York, New York
Apr 23, 2013

Wellington Over Night

We were checked in fast and not hassled.The hotel lobby was packed and it was still organized and professionally orchestrated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Harrisburg, NC
Jul 25, 2008

Great location

The Wellington is in a very convenient location. Walk to Central Park and Time Square easily. The subway entrance is right outside the hotel and we took it everywhere. The people were friendly and there are tons of restraunts nearby. The rooms are a little small but we didn't mind as we spent most of the time out and about. The rooms are very clean and the air worked great, it was really hot outside while we were there. We will definatly stay there again when we go back to NY. You just can't beat the location and the price was very reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Best of Broadway comedy club was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville
Jul 24, 2008

close to central park

When we checked in the room was a disaster, bedding thrown all over the floor & had not been cleaned. Also, when we checked in, a room service tray had been placed in the hall. When we left 4 days later the same tray was still in the hall. I guess it was hard for the housekeeper or other staff to pick this up??? That says a lot about the hotels sanitary right there. I would not recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

central park, times square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montgomery, *
Jul 21, 2008

Nice place to stay

The Wellington Hotel was nice to stay at because the location was only a few blocks away from time square. The room had a nice set up and had a nice bathroom. The hotel staff was very helpful in helping with various things and assisted me in with questions that I had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Rays Pizza is only a block away!! You have to try their pizza!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 16, 2008

Great time in Time Square

The Wellington hotel in Time Square was in a wonderful location for what we going to go see and do up in New York City. It was in a great location so it made it easy to get to food, shopping, and entertainment. When we arrived to the hotel, the staff was friendly and very helpful, also took our bags to or rooms. The room wasn't as nice though. The air conditioning grill was all rusted along with most of the other metal in the room like the bathroom area. The bathroom was very close courters. The lights above the head rests of each bed were so low that you hit them when you sat up. They had other people's hair hanging from previous stays were people had hit the lamp and their hair had wedged in between the light fixture. The closet wasn't too big. The beds we had were singles and not doubles. We had to order more pillows from housekeeping as the one they provide was very flat. All in all I give the stay a C-. I do not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice little breakfast place near the hotel. Less than a block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 13, 2008

Close to everyting!

The Wellington Hotel was very handy to everything. The subway, Central Park, Time Square, etc. were all within minutes. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was very nice, clean and affordable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Longmont, CO
Jul 12, 2008

Very Friendly

We really enjoyed our stay at the Wellington. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was also a great location. We will stay here again when we return to NYC!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

It is right near time square and central park, great location, the subways all run right to the hotel...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 12, 2008

More than I expected

The Wellington was more than I expected. The Hotel was very modern and well maintained. When we checked in everyone was very nice. The room was on the 25yh floor with with a view of Central Park, nice closet and bathroom. We couldn't have asked for a better location. It was about 1 1/2 blocks from Central Park, 4 blks. from Brdwy./Times Sq., 2 1/2 blks. from The Late Night Show, and 5 or 6 blks. from the Today Show. There are also a lot of good places to eat within easy walking distance. If you needed any directions the staff was more than willing to tell you the best way to get there. We would recommend this hotel to anyone and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're going to a Mets or Yankee game, ask the staff about the sub-way. Access is close, and the staff can tell what trains to take. If you want to see the sights, the Hop on Hop off bus tours worked good for us.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 7, 2008

Very family friendly

very nice hotel, exelent location, this was my second time there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There's Central Park park just a few blocks from the hotel, that's wonderfull

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 7, 2008

Great Location

The Wellington Hotel is a very good deal. It is close to most of the main attractions in New York City. We woke up every morning and ran at Central Park that is located 2 blocks away. There is a Starbucks across the street so I could get my coffee fix immediately. Few blocks south you will have Times Square, Rockefeller Plaza, and the lovely Bryant Park. The room was clean but you can tell is old style. Some days we had to call service so we could get some towels. But overall it was worthy the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Carnegie Hall is across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tulsa
Jul 2, 2008

Great Location

Hotel is fine - we stayed on the 22 floor with good view. The breakfast, lunch and dinner restaurant was poor, BUT the bar og restaurant connected in the hall was very good. (breakfast, lunch and dinner rest connected too w. the hotel but was located on the corner of the building was poor with rude people)-

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

deli, restaurants and shops all around - short walk to Time Square and Broadway. Perfect location for everything in mid-town Manhatten

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top