$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1363 out of 1363
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Feb 5, 2008

All Not Well at the Wellington

My Mother always taught me if you have to say one bad thing about something try to say two things good. I feel bad, but I really can't do that. The Wellington Hotel location was great, the price I got on the room was excellent for Midtown Manhatten, and the staff was helpful and friendly. The room was clean and neat, but when we went to sleep that night the bed was like sleeping on steel springs. My wife and I tossed and turned all night. I slept only about seven hours the whole three night I stayed there. The second night we had to call down and get clean sheets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Money saver and time saver: Take a cab. I always use to take the Grey Line into the city thinking it was such a great deal, but it cost 2 people about $40 dollars and it takes you about an hour or two to get to your hotel. A taxi is about $25 - $30 with tip and in good traffic takes 20 minutes.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Miami, FL
Feb 1, 2008

Excelent location

The Wellington Hotel was an excelent choice for us. It has a very good location, near both Times Square and Central Park. It?s also really easy to get to: we arrived at La Guardia airport and we took the M60 and the W/N subway and it got us just on Wellington?s entrance. There?s a Starbucks just across the street and 2 delis on the next block. The check-in was really easy and quick and the attention was great. The room was a little bit tiny but okey for the money we paid. We?re really happy with our stay at Wellington.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The deli across the street has almost everything you need. The hotel doesn?t have any ice machines but you can get a big glass of ice there for just a dollar.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Buffalo, NY
Jan 8, 2008

great location

The location was perfect to walk to Times Square, Central Park and the Broadway shows. The water pressure in the shower was explosive, but the temperature changed from icy cold to scalding hot very frequently without warning, making it very uncomfortable to use! I'd stay there again, only for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Broadway, Rockefeller Center, Ed Sullivan theater where Letterman tapes are all walking distance.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Detroit, MI
Jan 6, 2008

Great staff, dated hotel

The Wellington Hotel, NYC is located in an ideal place for a Manhattan vacation. The staff there, were very friendly and helpfull with all questions. My room there was not what I would have expected, for the price I paid. The room was very small, with a dated appearance. The bed was worn out, with a dip in the middle of it. The bath was really small, with no room for you to set any of your toiletries. The room was also very warm, with no way of regulating the temperature. I did not enjoy my stay at the Wellington, and if not for the ideal location. I would not even consider this hotel, on my next trip to NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is located close to Times square. Also there is a subway terminal just outside of the hotel.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Knoxville, TN
Dec 14, 2007

Tiny rooms

Great staff.Room was small.Good if you use the room to just sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

cafe on first floor serves good breakfast.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
San Francisco, CA
Dec 5, 2007

Not a very well=dsciplined management hotel.

Needs pin or clip for emergency party dress hold up but no one likes to help or willing to do anything for us. I just felt so bad for them. Not a very well=dsciplined management hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Nov 29, 2007

Over stretched staff

The receptionists were friendly, but way overstretched and overstressed because there were so many tours arriving the night I checked in. The lobby was so crowded it was probably unsafe-- people sitting on the floor everywhere. The wait for the elevator was extremely long-- at least 20-25 minutes before I could get on. The room was adequate, but there was no hot water in the shower the next morning and the excuse was that the hotel was very busy. The concierge directed me to see the gift shop staff to book a ride to the airport, and then the gift shop staff sent me back to the concierge to book a ride. Although the front desk staff were very nice, the other staff members were n't-- probably because they were so stressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

The hotel is in walking distance of 55th and 5th Ave. which is a handy location.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
USA
Nov 28, 2007

My review of Wellington Hotel

When I arrived at my Hotel there was no one to bring my bag into the Lobby or no one to bring my bag down the stairs to the elevator. I was my own bellman. On my first night a hot water boiler blew and hot steam was pouring into my room under the carpet. A real mess. The Hotel then put me into another room the size of a closet and it was a smokers room. Cigar smoke at that. This room change ocured about 12:35am and I was too tired to complain to the front desk. The next morning however I took my complaint to the front desk and the manager on duty offered no no more than it was beyond our control and offered another room for my last night there. I left very early the next morning and forgot a new pair of cufflinks on the desk. The hotel stressed my word against the hosekeeper. Anyway, I will not stay at that hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Nov 21, 2007

Business in NY style

the Hotel was comfortable an well located a short walk from Broadway and Times Sqr. The room was comfortable with a en suite bathroom . the Main room contained a Queen bed table and unit that held a 20 TV. there was also a small desk. The wireless network was very good . All in all a very nice boutique hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Sep 30, 2007

Wonderful Location

The Wellington is an older fairly basic hotel, just 3 blocks from Central Park, 2 blocks from 5th Avenue, and not far to Times Square. We walked everywhere. For longer trips - the subway was just outside the hotel. One of the best features was the diner in the hotel. It was a great place for breakfast - reasonable and good. The room was small but clean - with a nice full bath. Our room was pretty quiet. (It helps to be higher up - there is a lot of street noise in the city). I would stay there again - primarily because of the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to check out the Tavern on the Green - even if you do not eat there, it is worth going inside and checking out the decor.

Back to menu Return to top