$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1647 out of 1647
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tulsa, OK
Jul 16, 2009

Great hotel for tourists!

Wanted to be in the heart of NYC and the Wellington is walking distance from lots of major destinations...central park, rockefeller plaza, broadway, museums, time square, 5th avenue, etc. Great staff and comfortable rooms too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TTNancy
Business
Louisiana
Jul 14, 2009

Good for Borat, not for us.

We booked a kitchenette so we could prepare some meals in-room, but aside from four small glasses, there were no pots, pans, dishes, utensils for that purpose. We chose this hotel because my search for a handicapped friendly property showed this one to be accessible, but that was not the case. My husband uses a cane; but I am left wondering how a wheelchair-bound individual can even get in the building. There are no ramps at either entrance. Hallways are very narrow, and our bathroom was ridiculous. No handholds; I had to physically lift my 180 pound spouse off the toilet after each use. The bathtub-shower was dangerous even for someone in shape - slippery, did not drain well, no way I could get my husband into the tub. I sat him on the side of the bed and ferried washcloths back and forth until he "got that clean fresh feeling." This is the room that was given to us after we discovered the first room assigned was down a short flight of five steps from the lobby level. I love old hotels; they are romantic and elegant and show off any city to best advantage; however, the owner is best served by scraping and saving and doing a first-class renovation and showing realistic photos to potential visitors. The rest of our NYC experience was amazing. We saw an incredible dance performance at Lincoln Center, dined at Cognac and Serafina and the Carnegie Deli; shopped at the Apple store. Even bought a purse on the street. I have been to New York on both personal and professional business; while the hotel stay was disappointing, the staff was kind, helpful and tried their very best to assist us when we had questions. And oh, yeah, a couple of scenes from Borat were filmed there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great local delis all around. New York's delis are a culture unto themselves with unmatched people watching and generous, tasty portions - breakfast, lunch and dinner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canyon Lake, Texas
Jul 14, 2009

Good Price and Location

Very good location within walking and subway distance to all NYC has to offer.Rooms were small but adequate and all staff very helpfull

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

MaMa Mia , The Broadway Show was awesome. 5 minute walk. Likewise for Times Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa City, IA
Jul 14, 2009

Great family experience at Wellington

When we checked in we were given a free upgrade to a suite! With our two boys at ages 15 and 18, the extra room was much appreciated! The room wasn't extravagant but it was clean and roomy. We even had a little kitchenette although there are not any kitchen items there to use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

3 short blocks from central park. About 7 short blocks from Times Square. A fabulous location! We even walked to the Empire State Building and to Fox News channel. So many delis are near too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, Florida
Jul 13, 2009

Can't complain at all

The Hotel is very old and you can hear people outside of your door but other than that it was great. The staff was really nice and the location is perfect. Could not have asked for a better place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scottsdale,AZ
Jul 13, 2009

Location Location Location

The location and price of this hotel makes it the best in the city for bang for the buck, stay at the Wellington and you will not be dissapointed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Cabs.....use em

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Romantic Escape
Business
Miami, FL
Jul 13, 2009

Wonderful location

This was a wonderful hotel. What surprised and pleased me upon entering our hotel room was what a lovely atmosphere it possessed. I guess I'm just used to the bland hotel chain kind of rooms. The room was small, but it didn't need to be large, it was a standard room. There was a wonderful view of a few rooftop gardens and even Central Park. We were able to walk to most of all the places we wanted to see. If you're willing to walk, we were able to eat at Serendipity, see Times Square, get cupcakes at Magnolia, see Rockafeller Center and a bunch of other things along those streets and avenues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park is within walking distance as well as a couple other fun places. Such as Magnolia bakery, amazing cupcakes, and even Times Square is within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york, ny
Jul 12, 2009

Great Hotel, Great Manager

we are native new yorkers home for a visit from Mexico, looking for some neutral ground. It was a great trip because we had the hotel room which was located between family members. OF SPECIAL NOTE: [...], a manager at the hotel was VERY VERY helpful on many accounts, accommodating and reasonable. He made the stay a pleasure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

HIT THE NEW YORK DELIS, KATZS, 2ND AVENUE DELI, CARNEGIE.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chris O
Business
San Jose, CA
Jul 10, 2009

Welling Hotel Review

This hotel has a super location!!!!! Everytime we wanted to visit a attraction or take a tour or even walk down times square it was no more than a mile walk. Great views of central park from 26th floor. I wish the hotel had a pool the rooms were okay not small not big but for the price I couldn't complain. I will b staying here again!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mr. playmaker
Business
new orleans, la
Jul 10, 2009

great price and very clean

We shop and ate at great restaurants. It would have been better if the rooms were bigger. This trip was very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top