$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
1,627 reviews
Beautiful hotel!!

First trip to New York! The hotel was beautiful with nice large rooms. Very clean!! We were able to... See full review

  • Letterman Fan
  • Jul 21, 2014
Excellent value for money

Good location, friendly staff. Allows you to walk to everything that is worth seeing. See full review

  • LeoSV
  • Jul 16, 2014
Radiating history from its walls, the Wellington Hotel New York?built in 1901?stands apart from the fast pace of modern city life surrounding it. The plush lobby is decked out in rich tones and intricate murals, while focal chandeliers give the interiors a classical ambience.  If you are here on business, the hotel?s central location and 24-hour business center will cater to your every need. Midtown Manhattan is full of excellent restaurants; gourmets would do well to try the Wellington?s delicious plates of Greek mezze at the Molyvos restaurant, or the Park Cafe's informal all-day dining options.
Key facts
  • 700 guestrooms
  • Two restaurants: Molyvos and Park Cafe
  • 24-hour business center
  • Gift shop
  • Hair salon
  • Multilingual staff
Neighborhood

With Central Park just three blocks away, the Wellington places guests close to a welcoming green space featuring a wide range of activities, including roller skating and boating, on the calm waters of the lake. Every type of cuisine is represented in this neighborhood, with area favorites ranging from Ray’s Pizza on Broadway to The Russian Tea Room on West 57th Street, where visitors can choose from more than 40 types of vodka, or book the facility for a classical afternoon tea. Retail therapy can be found inside the designer stores of 5th Avenue or the dependable establishment of Bloomingdale’s, which combines major lines and fresh labels.

Hints and tips
Some of the rooms have kitchenettes-perfect for hot snacks and downtime after a long day. If you're visiting in November or December, stock up on gifts and Christmas decorations at the Wellington's Christmas Cottage store.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7644 -73.9807
Area served
New York, Manhattan
Nearby airports
J.F.K., LaGuardia, and Newark airports
Area description
Centrally located in Midtown Manhattan, the Wellington Hotel is steps to Carnegie Hall, City Center, Central Park and Broadway, New York's celebrated Theatre District. Fifth Avenue Shopping, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center, Times Square and the Museum of Radio and Television are within easy walking distance. Equally accessible are the United Nations, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Jacob K. Javitis Convention Center. Fortune 500 headquarters and many corporate offices are nearby as are a variety of fine dining and world famous restaurants. Public Transportation is at our door and can take you in minutes to the Statue of Liberty, Wall Street, South Street Seaport, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim Museum, Museum of Natural History, Intrepid Air and Space Museum and Yankee and Shea Stadiums

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wellington Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Wellington Hotel Rooms

Standard Double -Double
Standard Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee. Note: a third person cannot be accommodated
Deluxe Double-Double
Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with two double beds accommodates a maximum of four people and features two flat screen TVs with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board, one bathroom; refrigerator and microwave (no utensils). High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.
Standard Room with One Double Bed
Standard Room with One Double Bed accommodates one or two people and features flat screen TV with Pay Per View movies, Clock Radio, Hair Dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. High speed wireless internet access is available for a modest fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.2 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • University Club: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.4 mi

Dining

Park Cafe
A traditional New York coffee shop,The Park Cafe, which has been welcoming guests for more than 25 years, was recently renovated. Breakfast is served every day beginning at 6:00am. You can also enjoy lunch, dinner and after-theater dining until 1:00am.
Molyvos
Enjoy award winning Mediterranean cuisine at Molyvos. From noon Monday to Friday traditional Greek dishes and grilled fish specialties are served. Saturday and Sunday also offers brunch from 11:00am. Molyvos is located in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1627)

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1627 out of 1627
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham
Jan 6, 2009

Paradise In New York City

The Wellington Hotel was one of the best located hotels i have ever been to. From the moment i arrived, i felt very comfortable. The check in was very quick with no problems. The most significant thing was the rooms. They are very spacious and comfortable. I felt as if i were at home. When i made it home from my visit, i immediately told all my friends and family about the Wellington Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Two blocks from 5th Avenue. Every shoppers dream.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jan 6, 2009

My review of Wellington Hotel

The hotel is old but still good. Rooms are small but clean. Prices are fare to what you spect. the locations is awesome, but services might improve. Internet was too expensive in a liitle business room with 4 computers and in your room was not cheap either, with a charge of $20 dollars for 3 days, this was the worst

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Olympia, WA
Dec 26, 2008

Great location

The room of wellington hotel was comfortable, but there was huge sound from heater,so I couldn't sleep well. And one of the hotel staff in the front was little rude, maybe because they were busy during chrismas season. This hotel stands in a really good location. It's near to subway(like 10 second away), and I could walk to times square in 10 minutes

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Camarillo
Dec 26, 2008

LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION

We were 3 blocks from Central Park and about a 5-10 minute walk froom Times Square. The hotel is not a frilly hotel, but has everything you need-not to mention the staff who are both helpful and have all of the information you will need for a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Ana
Dec 24, 2008

Tiny room

The staff at the Wellington Hotel was courteous and the location was fantastic (couple blocks from Central Park, Rockefeller Center, and Times Square - 1,2,3 train station right outside the door). Unfortunately, the room was ridiculously small. It was the smallest hotel room we've ever stayed in. Also, the bed linens were sparse, just a sheet and rough felt blanket and a comforter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 22, 2008

Perfect Location

The Wellington Hotel is great. I've stayed here twice and have no complaints. It is, in my opinion, the best value for your dollar. The staff is very helpful and the rooms are great. Definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a short walk to Times Square and many restaurants

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Dec 21, 2008

No fuss functional.

I have stayed at the Wellington twice. I go to NY mainly for the theatre so the location of this hotel is fairly ideal, as it's close to Times Square but also is a few steps from Central Park and transportation hubs. I don't expect much from the Wellington. The decor is standard hotel traditional, but not fancy. The lobby almost always is a hub of activity with people checking in and out. We hen I checked in this time, I asked for a room with lots of natural light. I had previously had a high floor, SW corner room (with a view of Times Square) so I know it exists. They have a bit of a service (scam) there that REQUIRES you to be escorted to your room by a bellman. I'm self-sufficient and travel without the need or expectation of services like these - which command a cash tip. I wasn't a fan of this, weather he was recently in the cast of Survivor or not. Oh, and you must wait for a bellman. My only request was for light, and they gave me a high floor, but a single-window center room. I stood waiting (again) in the hallway with my bags while the bellman left to negotiate another room (was this the plan al along?). This time I was given a NW corner room (less sunlight that south) with a view of Central Park and Carnegie Hall's rooftop. New York rooms are small and this was no exception. The WiFi worked better this time but it's not free. You pay by the week. Families gravitate here, which means much conversation happens in the hallway - so you can hear it. The Wellington is a workable place to keep your stuff while you spend time in NYC. There is plenty of dining (all types and price ranges), shopping, sights and transportation. Make sure price is the reason you stay here. Convenience is the only attribute you'll hands-down love.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
USA
Dec 20, 2008

Family friendly, great location

The Wellington is an older hotel, they are working on remodeling the rooms. We got a remodeled room, which was nice, but small with a very small closet and small restroom. The ac/heat is not too good, I think they need to put in a whole new system. Overall, decent hotel, clean, and location is great. Several places to eat close by and subway stairs just outside of hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Times Square

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 17, 2008

great hotel

This was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. We are a military family who have traveled all over the world, and this is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. It was located near everything we wanted to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We were close to good shopping, great restaurants and entertainment.

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 17, 2008

Great Location

The Staff was very friendly. The location was excellent. The heating/a/c and general updating of hotel needs work. Will consider again on next visit to New York!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search