$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1646 out of 1646
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tiny room without light
Business
marina del rey, ca
Aug 24, 2009

nice location but.....

I will probably not use this hotel again both for the small room size and minimal lighting. The location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bad Girls Forever
Business
St. Clair, Mighigan
Aug 24, 2009

Wellington Hotel, NY, NY Gets 4 Stars

Because of your bargain low rate, we expected the ordnary hotel room with two beds. Wow, were we surprised to get checked into a suite with two bedrooms, a kitchenette, with microwave and refrigerator. Clean, roomy suite,and a wonderful shower. We absolutely loved it and the location near Carnegie Hall, Central Park, Not too far from theater district

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a ticket for the sightseeing bus the first day. Hop on hop off of at any location in the city. For seeing broadway shows, get discount tickets at the outlet in Times Square or Southside Sea Port.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kim and Bailey
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Aug 23, 2009

OK for the price

We saw a broadway show, went to central park, and shopped at Macy's and Times Square. The hotel is right by the subway entrance and 4 blocks to central park and 4 blocks to the broad way show and times square. It was just me and my daughter and I felt very safe at the hotel. Staff was friendly, room could have been cleaner, but wasn't too bad. Room was actually bigger than Paramount Hotel, but still a small room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jojorunner
Business
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Aug 21, 2009

Not too bad

We loved staying in midtown Manhattan. But the beds were so uncomfortable (like a board) that I would probably not stay at this hotel again. We had two double beds separated by a wall and had two bathrooms. Everything else was fine but the beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mandy H.
Business
Clermont, Fl
Aug 18, 2009

Excellent location

Only a few minutes walk to Central Park and Time Square, Subway also on the doorstep. Excellent location, wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. The staff couldn't have been nicer, the rooms a little "old" but hey we only slept there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

City Pass is the best value to see the sights and skip the long wait in line.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palmetto, FL
Aug 18, 2009

Good value, helpful staff

The staff was friendly, it was close to a subway station, we were upgraded to a suite at no charge, but the bed was like sleeping on a table. There is a coffee shop (always crowded) and a Greek restaurant attached, and it is near small restaurants for breakfast. Overall, a good value in a city where these are few and far between.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of places to eat within reasonable walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Used to better accommodations
Business
Ontario, Canada
Aug 17, 2009

Wellington too old

The Wellington badly needs updating; taps old and hard to turn, no vanity in bathroom. If you are going to NYC, the hotel is part of the experience. Spend the little extra cash it will take to have a better hotel. There are no fitted sheets on bed; not enough towels or shampoo, etc. One fork, two plates in Family Suite! When asked, staff comes quickly with what you need, but why must you ask. Only good thing was that staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a subway pass. We wasted time on a city bus. We bought a hop on hop off tour bus ticket the first day and saw the NYC at night; took the downtown tour which gave us our bearings. The pass was $54. You wouldn't need it the second time to NYC. Street vendors start high with price but come down to about 50 - 75% less. Canal Street is no cheaper than the street vendors for purses and can be scary as you have to follow a scouter down basement steps or get into a van where doors are locked. We were confident from others' comments that this was safe but in retrospect would not bother doing it again. There is a free Staten Island ferry that takes you out to the Statue of Liberty but you need to get tickets well in advance. Most of the T.V. shows we tried to get into don't tape over the summer. The city smells, is always crowded and noisey at night. It probably appeals to the 20 to 40 crowd more. We didn't go to bars. The Broadway show, Chicago, was a highlight, but the Bodies Exhibition, while exceptional, would not appeal to kids or most people who were not in the medical field. For those, it would be amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mother & Daughter Team
Business
Ohio
Aug 17, 2009

New York City

The Hotel is old so there isn't much space in the bathroom to spread out your personal items. No fan in the bathroom. We could hear the people in the hall and the next rooms. Wish we were closer to Time Square. I would not reccomend this Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Take subways......cheap.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rjpencil
Business
Bloomfield Hills MI
Aug 17, 2009

Cost vs quality

To all the complainers: you can't get great quality at a cheap price. Capitalism doesn't work that way. Our room was fine (small), kept clean, and the staff was very accomodating, but most importantly, the location was fantastic. For a bigger room, you can double the price and stay across the street, but your location doesn't change. But, if you came to see NYC, you won't be in your room much, so the room size is somewhat irrelevant. And if you're seeing the city, this is the perfect spot: Times Square an easy 10 block walk, Central Park 2 blocks, MOMA, Carnegie Hall even closer; anything further, the subway is literally 10 steps from the 55th St. entrance to the hotel. The hotel was a great value. If you're into quality, you won't get great value. PS TGI Fridays at Times Square, meals START at $18.99. Avoid at all costs. I can't figure out why anyone would eat there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Junior's at Times Square...fabulous! Not high-end food, just good, reasonably priced (for Times Square) meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Wolffs
Business
Hampton, VA
Aug 16, 2009

Great hotel/location for the price!!

First time in NYC; hotel has a great location next to Central Park and several pubs. Walk to Times Square, Empire State Building, Macy's... room was small, but clean and everything worked. Hotel staff were very friendly and informative.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stop at PJ Carney's across the street toward the park; great atmosphere and their Long Island Iced Teas can't be beat!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top