$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 8, 2015

Wellington Hotel

3 stars
View map of 871 Seventh Ave. @ 55th St., 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wellington Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1649 out of 1649
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dai
Business
Reidsville
Mar 19, 2015

Great Reunion with Friends

I stayed here while in NYC for a reunion with some friends, and we all enjoyed it very much! The location was central to many of our stops in the city--very close to both Central Park and Times Square attractions. There are also good subway stops on both corners of this block. The interior was nice--old, but well-preserved. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The only things that disappointed me were the view from my window (no lights, just power units) and the rates for in-room wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mistals
Business
Waterford
Mar 12, 2015

graduation trip

Fantastic location. Room was a little outdated, but clean and functional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HAR
Business
N/A
Mar 4, 2015

Great Location, Friendly Service

Perfect walking distance to Times Square, Carnegie Hall, Broadway shows, Central Park, museums, etc. Friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable beds. Clean and well maintained. But there's always room for improvement: Too many towels delivered every day. We followed the notecard instructions by hanging the towels to use again, but still more were delivered. We had to put all the extras in the closet. Also, the shower could use improvement. Shower head sprayed water everywhere, and the water temperature was unsteady: scalding, cold, just right, scalding, cold, etc. I stayed on the fifth floor, and my friend stayed on the 14th floor. He had the same complaints about the shower in his room. But everything else was so nice, we were willing to overlook this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ronald S.
Business
N/A
Mar 4, 2015

Business trip

The hotel wanted to charge too much for internet service in my room. They also attempted to get me to pay for simply going to my room when I had limited luggage. I thought to myself they are being greedy. Then I attempted to use the computer in the lobby, which is typical when I travel to other cities, and am not charge a fee. But this hotel wanted to charge to use the computers in the lobby as well, which again I thought they were being greedy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dkostzer
Business
Washington DC
Mar 3, 2015

Good value great location

Old fashion, nice, clean hotel in a great location of New York, well communicated to the rest of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
THE Ramon
Business
Mililani
Mar 3, 2015

Family trip

Showing my wife and 2yo daughter the city of my birth for just a very few days, this is a great location. Temperature control was not great cold air seemed to come right through the windows in the bedroom so we had to crank up the heat which was ok there, but then the other room in the suite was much too warm. Staff were nice. Rooms were clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ahlot
Business
New Canaan
Mar 2, 2015

It's OK

Nice place to stay in this hotel. It is clean and pleasant. Amenities are good and it is a wonderful location. Close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
curiousda
Business
Warwick
Feb 27, 2015

2 one nights

Stayed one night then another - great staff, got to check in a bit early, nice views from some rooms, comfy bed. Heater only worked at night though. Great value for money (and great locale).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ccccj
Business
pompton lakes
Feb 27, 2015

good location

Overall the rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. The staff is also very attentive and made an effort to ensure my stay was pleasant. There isn't much to do at the hotel, but its proximity to times square more than makes up for that. Will definitely stay there again :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wellington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very Displeased Guest
Business
Fajardo
Feb 17, 2015

You wanted to save money?

Do book if: if you are looking for a good location to Times Square. Don't because: These guys make their X-mas by charging you for room movies you never watched, even if you never turned the TV on. They would pull a log file stating that you "pressed" a button on the remote and the movie started running. Of course this is to their advantage since you are rushing to JFK, you don't want to miss your flight, so, the quicker is just to pay $50 worth of unwatched movies and be on your way. My second advice: Keep track of your times you leave and enter your room, that's how I was able to dispute the charges, as the movies ran in times I was not even at the hotel. My first advise: don't ever bother staying here. Shame on this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top