Warwick Hotel New York

4 stars
View map of 65 West 54TH Street, At the Avenue Of the Americas, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
527 reviews
Wonderful NYC weekend

Great value. Staff is very polite and helpful. Location is fantastic. Room was clean and of good size. See full review

  • Lugnut.
  • Aug 18, 2015
Nice Weekend

Wonderful stay in this classic New York hotel. We fortunately had a room overlooking the interior... See full review

  • Bill S.
  • Aug 13, 2015
Situated in the heart of New York City's finest attractions, this historic Midtown landmark blends the charm and intimacy of a remote haven with the comforts and conveniences essential to the modern traveler.

Originally built by publishing magnate, William Randolph Hearst in 1926 for his paramour, Marion Davies and their Hollywood friends, Warwick New York Hotel, with its 359 spacious guestrooms and 67 richly appointed suites, continues to serve as a home away from home for countless renowned guests.

Surrounded by European influences and residential ambiance, the hotel offers a multitude of amenities including non-smoking rooms, marble bathrooms, high-speed wireless internet, business center, fitness center, valet service, 24-hour room service, daily delivery of The New York Times, and extensive meeting and banquet facilities. Murals on 54 restaurant features innovative continental cuisine set amidst recently restored vibrant murals painted by Dean Cornwell in 1937. Randolph's Bar & Lounge offers an intimate alcove for enjoying ones favorite cocktail while admiring the buzz of midtown.

The hotel serves as a legendary playground for some of America's most cherished celebrities including long-time resident Cary Grant - who resided in the hotel for over 12 years, Elvis Presley, The Beatles and countless other notables who have also appreciated the hotel's timeless elegance and personalized service for more than seven decades.

Warwick New York Hotel is ideally located within walking distance to many of Manhattan's corporate headquarters and famous attractions including Central Park, Fifth Avenue and Madison Avenue shopping, Radio City, Times Square, Rockefeller Center, and world famous places of interest.

Warwick Hotel New York Rooms

Premier Suite
Facing the interior of the hotel, premier suites include a magnificently detailed living area as well as a separate master bedroom that project a calm and cozy atmosphere. The room features Bvlgari bath amenities, bathrobes, slippers, a flat-screen TV in the bedroom and a 40-inch LCD TV in the living room including an interactive multimedia system and a work desk with international plug-ins. Size: 500-550 sq ft
On the Avenue Suite
These lavishly appointed suites echo vintage Hollywood. Guests enjoy expansive views of New York Citys famed Avenue of the Americas, home to Radio City music hall, Rockefeller Plaza and much more. Featuring over 650 square feet of space with a separate bedroom, living area and dining arrangement, each suite includes a large marble bathroom with bvlgari products, High " speed wireless internet, a widescreen TV with interactive multimedia system and a work desk with international plug ins. Size : 650 sq ft
Premier Room
Premier Rooms are exquisitely designed with simple yet elegant accommodations. Neutral palettes of champagne and pistachio exude a sense of luxury and tranquility. The rooms overlook the interior of the hotel making it perfectly suitable for those seeking a peaceful and quiet stay. Each accommodation features one-king or two double beds and Gilchrist & Soames spa therapy bath amenities. Size: 250-280 sq ft
Premier Plus Room
Premier Plus Rooms are exquisitely designed with simple yet elegant accommodations. Neutral palettes of champagne and pistachio exude a sense of luxury and tranquility. These rooms offer unparalleled views of the iconic 6th Avenue (Avenue of the America) and some even of 54th Street. With the choice of a king bed or two double beds, these spacious rooms are designed to accommodate all guests needs and even more. Size: 260-300 Sq. Ft

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Hotel Map

40.7622 -73.9782
Area served
New York City, NY
Nearby airports
Laguardia International Airport, John F Kennedy International Airpot
Area description
The Warwick Hotel offers an ideal location in midtown with proximity to many of Manhattans business and financial areas and most popular attractions.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.1 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.1 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.1 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.1 mi
  • University Club: 0.2 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.2 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.1 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.1 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.1 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.1 mi
  • University Club: 0.2 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.2 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.2 mi
  • GE Building: 0.2 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.2 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.3 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.3 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Roseland: 0.3 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lever House: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.4 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.4 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.4 mi

Dining

Murals on 54
Murals on 54, the hotel's refurbished dining room, features innovative continental cuisine with international influences, with a delectable menu consisting of mouth-watering fresh grilled dishes and a variety of fine seafood with strong French, Spanish and Mediterranean accents. The dining rooms' fresh design accentuates the historic murals painted by Dean Cornwell, known as the "Dean of American Illustrators." Cornwell was commissioned by William Randolph Hearst in 1937 to paint murals for The Raleigh Room, then the original restaurant inside this apartment hotel. These murals are now completely restored.
Randolph's
Randolph's, a newly expanded and refurbished restaurant and lounge, is designed more like a living room than a bar, with cushy sofas and armchairs and large windows overlooking the drama along Avenue of the Americas. There's an express business lunch menu, an extensive wine list, and a bar staff with an encyclopedic knowledge of cocktails, from traditional to trendier-than-thou. Because RANDOLPH'S is situated amid the Midtown business and tourism district, it's the perfect place for a relaxed business chat or a pre- or post-theatre rendezvous.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel's 7,000-square-foot function space was recently refurbished, transforming the rooms, through special touches like hand-painted frescos and English chintz, from basic to extraordinary. With a spacious central pre-function area, and all conference and banquet rooms on the same floor, companies and social guests have privacy and the luxury of the choice of a cluster of rooms that perfectly suit their room requirements.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (527)

Ratings and reviews for Warwick Hotel New York

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
527 out of 527
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Warwick Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Diane loves the Bellagio and you will 2
Family
San Antonio, TX
May 18, 2010

Great Stay at the Warwick

The hotel is in a GREAT location. Great places to eat at were close by and it only took a few minutes to get to times square. There's a mini market to purchase water, snack, and food. There's a Starbucks across the street and lots of great places grab a quick bite or a nice relaxing meal. The hotel staff was very professionl and the rooms were a good size for NY! I recommend a room above the 20th floor so you don't have to hear the traffic. I slept like a baby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Warwick Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bruce and Alexis
Family
Coral Gables, Florida
Jul 6, 2009

Charm & Value, in the Heart of NYC

The Warwick, at 6th Ave. & 54th, just blocks below Central Park So., is perfectly located for business or pleasure. There is nothing negative that we could say about our family's 3 day (4th of July weekend) stay at this hotel. Its atmosphere is charming and unpretentious; the staff are attentive and friendly; the rooms are warmly decorated and impeccably clean; and the room rate was modest by comparison with other choices of lodging (including those of large hotel chains) we had patronized in the past. All of this; plus the central location (from which any NYC District/neighborhood, attraction, park, museum, theater, or dining experience is easily accessible) makes the Warwick, a perfect choice. Even if one were in the City on business with only 2 hours free, he/she can take in an exhibit at the MOMA, which is just around the corner). For us, the Warwick was a cocoon from which we emerged in the mornings, and crawled into at the end of pleasure filled days and evenings, and it will be our only future choice of lodging when we visit the "Big Apple." As an additional note, we had never booked lodging in combination with airline tickets via Orbitz, and found the experience to be seamless, without any problem whatsoever, both with respect to the hotel and our flights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

For the person or family who wants a unique outdoor experience in NYC on a non-rainy day, check out the newly opened High Line on the lower West Side of Manhattan. This is a unique pedestrian walkway, constructed on the track-bed of a long-abandoned elevated railway which parallels the West-side highway along the Hudson River. Over the entirety of its length, one encounters lovely urban gardens, and wood-slat seats and lounge chairs at the edges of the walkway, for resting, reading, or sun-bathing. Located an easy walk from West Greenwich Village, the Southern end of the High Line begins at Gansevoort Street. The walkway then weaves Northward through the newly gentrified Meat Packing District (with shops, restaurants, and apartments located in former industrial buildings). For now, the walkway is only open as far as the Art Gallery Area of Chelsea, at about 20th Street. When work is later completed, another section of the High Line will open to pedestrian traffic, and will continue Northward to a terminus at about 34th Street.

Review of Warwick Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Jose , CA
Jan 8, 2010

Great location

This hotel was conveniently located near Times Square, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, and a subway line but was just enough off the beaten path to avoid the crazy crowds that I assume take hold of New York during New Years. The staff was very professional and helpful, the hotel itself seemed kid friendly although we weren't traveling with any kids. The guests all seemed friendly too. The rooms definitely aren't the ultra modern kind you see often now in the popular hotels, but I think I prefer the traditional look, it was homey. And the room was very nicely sized - much bigger than I would have expected for New York. The best part was that we were allowed to check in early which was absolutely wonderful because we took a red-eye from California and were absolutely exhausted when we got there at 9 am! I didn't even have to ask, they just checked us in and let us up to our room - fabulous. Also the lobby (decked out in Christmas attire) has an internet room - free of charge to the guests- with a printer!! So convenient when we left because we were able to check in with the airline and print our boarding pass at the hotel! So cool! Other guests were using it to book reservations and such. I had a wonderful time in New York and the Warwick Hotel helped make it a memorable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Randolph's Bar and Lounge in the lobby was not very good for just a convenient meal. Overpriced and the club sandwich was dry - I may as well have been eating toast. Maybe their more high-end gourmet food is better but I only ate there once and was disappointed with what should have been a basic sandwich.

Review of Warwick Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Baltimore, MD
May 24, 2009

Warwick Hotel

I liked the ambience of an older hotel -- like the letter boxes -- with all the up-to-date amenities. I got in late and left early but would have loved to stay longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Warwick Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New York, NY
May 16, 2010

Free upgrade

My bf and I stayed @ Warick for one night. We got free upgrade to their one bed room w/ Balcony suit. It was really nice. We both enjoyed this historical hotel. However if you are looking for modern decor, this is not your hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Warwick Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JoeMartin
Couples
San Diego
Jul 6, 2009

Anniversary Trip

The Warwick Hotel is super clean and in the best location. Broadway, Central Park, Fifth Ave and Times Square are all within walking distance. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Warwick Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Moviebug
Family
Montreal, Quebec
Jul 6, 2009

The best hotel in New York City!

When we got to the hotel we saw how pretty it was from the outside and couldnt wait to get in. There was a doorman who smiled at us and helped us open the doors. We were greeted with a smile and a lot of class. We got to our room and didnt really like the view, so we called down and they changed us to a nicer and more lit room. We spent the whole week there. We would walk around New York city all day long and when we got back to the hotel, it was like it was our home. Everyone who works at the hotel smile and are eager to please. The rooms were spacious and clean. The beds so comfy! The hotel lounge is gorgeous and impressive. This hotel has alot of history and it has been very well kept. It also has the best location. It is close to everything. I recommend this hotel to everyone and you can bet that we will go back to this hotel when we go back to New York. We were really sad to leave, but will return someday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is close to everything so you can actually walk to many attractions nearby which is easy and fun.

Review of Warwick Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dan-H
Couples
midwest
Mar 8, 2011

Lap of luxury

From the sidewalk bell captain to the front desk, to the room service attendants, we were treated like Royalty! The lobby is a typically busy big city hotel atmosphere, but there are bell hops and check-in people and a very accessible concierge. There is gorgeous polished wood and embellishment throughout and exotic fresh flowers. The room we booked through [...]was newly renovated and redecorated. It was small, but we didn't intend on spending a lot of time there other than to sleep. The bathroom was modern and clean. We will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of VERY nearby, excellent restaurants.

Review of Warwick Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NorCal TravelingMan
Couples
Northern California
May 14, 2014

Great Rooms in a Great Location

Five stars considering the price of the rooms. It is in a great location in midtown, across the street from MOMA. It's walking distance to Times Square and Broadway. The hotel is a classic. It was built in the early part of the 20th century and it shows on the exterior and interior. It's a nice blend of architecture from the era of its construction and all of the modern niceties. Our room was large, well maintained, and quite charming. The staff was friendly and professional. I had read a couple reviews about the staff not being so...but every interaction was excellent. I will be coming back to the Warwick the next time I visit NYC, no doubt about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

MOMA is around the corner and worth a visit!

Review of Warwick Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Palm Beach, FL
May 27, 2009

Nirmala

This was my fifth trip to NY and the best. I stayed at Warwick for 3 days( 2 nights.) The location was perfect and, we were able to visit many places that I had missed in my previous trips. The room was cleaned, spacious and quiet. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay at Warwick and will be definitly back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top