$225 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 10, 2015

W New York - Union Square

4 stars
View map of 201 Park Avenue South, 201 Park Avenue South, New York, NY 10003

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
14 reviews
The W was wonderful!

Great location, clean, comfortable- love the apples in the bowl in the lobby each day. See full review

  • Lorimargo
  • Sep 3, 2014
Great hotel, excellent location

The check-in was quick, if impersonal. The elevators here are the worst thing about the hotel.... See full review

  • Revler1082
  • Feb 19, 2014
Opulent. Bohemian. And everywhere in between. Bridging the gap between old and new, New York's famous landmark Guardian Life Building has undergone renovations and reemerged as the stylish W New York - Union Square. The 1911 Guardian Life building - designed in the Beaux-Arts style - is a magnificent granite and limestone structure with all the exquisite details inherent in traditional European architecture. Designed by famed architect David Rockwell, W New York - Union Square combines the charm of this ethereal historic building with the contemporary W touch. But don't take our word for it - just refer to the 2003 Conde Nast Traveler's "Top 500 Hotels in the World" list. The beautiful park outside extends into our warm Living Room to welcome you. Our signature feather bed with goose down comforters and pillows beckons you. All our rooms are wired and ready to help you conquer the world. W New York - Union Square is all about service and amenities. Whatever you want. Whenever you want it. Set at the northeast corner of Union Square Park, our 270-room, 16 deluxe suite property is the first hotel on Union Square - a neighborhood relished for its fine restaurants, bars, theaters, famous green market, and boutique shops. The perks at this luxury hotel also include Rande Gerber's UNDERBAR, and Todd English's signature restaurant, Olives. Be a part of the cutting edge. Celebrate tradition.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W New York - Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

W New York - Union Square Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
DVD player
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Square Theatre: 0 mi
  • The Players: 0.1 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square Park: 0.1 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.2 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.2 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.2 mi
  • Strand Book Store: 0.3 mi
  • Forbes Magazine Galleries: 0.3 mi
  • Stuyvesant Square: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.3 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.3 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Church: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0 mi
  • The Players: 0.1 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square Park: 0.1 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.2 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.2 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.2 mi
  • Strand Book Store: 0.3 mi
  • Forbes Magazine Galleries: 0.3 mi
  • Stuyvesant Square: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.3 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.3 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Church: 0.4 mi
  • Hamilton Fish House: 0.4 mi
  • Church of the Ascension, Episcopal: 0.5 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.5 mi
  • Second Avenue Kosher Deli: 0.5 mi
  • Veniero's Pasticceria: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Mews: 0.5 mi
  • Colonnade Row: 0.5 mi
  • Joseph Papp Public Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Cooper Union Foundation Building: 0.6 mi
  • New York University: 0.6 mi
  • Jefferson Market Library: 0.6 mi
  • New York Studio School of Drawing, Painting and Sculpture (building): 0.6 mi
  • Grey Art Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Brown Building: 0.6 mi
  • Mechanics and Traders Bank: 0.6 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Merchant's House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Ukrainian Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Asser Levy Playground: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Arch: 0.6 mi
  • Gay Street: 0.7 mi
  • Northern Dispensary: 0.7 mi
  • Peter Cooper Park: 0.7 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.7 mi
  • Provincetown Playhouse: 0.7 mi
  • Sheridan Square Viewing Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Museum For African Art: 0.8 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.8 mi

Dining

W Living Room
What others call a lobby, we call our W Living Room. A revolutionary open space complete with cozy seating where you can relax, and sip an evening cocktail.
Irvington
Gerber Group’s Irvington offers a Mediterranean-influenced menu of New American classics, highlighting fresh, locally-sourced ingredients from the neighboring Union Square Greenmarket.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for W New York - Union Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 14
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.3

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W New York - Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
carol Ree
Business
philadelphia
Nov 26, 2014

w NY

very good hotel. would definitely recommend great beds

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W New York - Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lorimargo
Business
Florida
Sep 3, 2014

The W was wonderful!

Great location, clean, comfortable- love the apples in the bowl in the lobby each day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W New York - Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Revler1082
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Feb 19, 2014

Great hotel, excellent location

The check-in was quick, if impersonal. The elevators here are the worst thing about the hotel. They're slow, and quite small. The room was very nice, but a little small. Sheets were clean, and the bed was comfortable. The TV was a good size/quality, and there were very recent titles available for rental. Bathroom / shower was small, and I would've liked a double sink. Whatever / whenever service was bad. Called down for a toothbrush, and it took them almost an hour to bring it up. The location is great. Union square has so much to do / eat / see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W New York - Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Deb Happy Guest
Business
Palmer, IA
Aug 13, 2013

Perfect Locaton

The W Union Square has friendly staff, a great loction, and the room was spacious and very clean. They have the most comfortable beds we have every had in a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The shuttle service at the hotel works great for short trips

Review of W New York - Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EKPM
Business
Lafayette, California
Apr 7, 2013

Always love the W, but....

I know Manhattan is the city that never sleeps, and with jackhammers starting nightly at 11pm on the street below, I definitely experienced that. It's a great location and the restaurant is good. But what's up with no free wifi in your room? For $500 a night, I expect not to have to pay for that or the $9 bottle of water on my night table. We thought it was great that Acura was offering a complementary ride in one of their new models, until we booked it and they would only drop us off at their predesignated destination which was nowhere near where we wanted to go. Hmmm time to rethink the Whatever Whenever concept perhaps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Mario Batali's Eataly - Italian food heaven.

Review of W New York - Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bobbi visiting Mom
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 1, 2013

Experience was just OK

This hotel's location is great if you have interest in the Union Square area. The rooms were large and very clean. However, the lobby leaves much to be desired, with no place to sit except in the cocktail lounge. Staff members were cordial, but not particularly attentive. Our visit to the W was rather disappointing and not what one would expect from a 4-star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W New York - Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kevinscrossett
Business
London, United Kingdom
May 29, 2012

Graduation

W Hotel is a great stay generally, but the Union Square hotel and staff are excellent. We will be back again in a year's time for our next trip to NYC. Kevin

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rosa Mexican is a true mexican dinin experience.

Review of W New York - Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clearwater, FL
Jul 27, 2011

Wish I Could Have Stayed Longer...

Stayed one night on business. Room was available for early check-in, allowing me extra time to prepare for my meeting. Staff was very professional and there was very little wait for service. Overall great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W New York - Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Nov 30, 2010

Great for Foodies & Non-typical Tourists

Hotel was stylish and room was very sizeable - especially for New York. Its location is awesome. Close to the great restaurants of the village and SoHo. Subway stop in Union Square allows for easy transit around the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the subway or the free Acura shuttle service the hotel is offering. The Acura shuttle can't be reserved in advance but is useful if it's available.

Review of W New York - Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stuffed Turkey
Business
Springfield, Va
Nov 26, 2010

No Bang for the Buck

Okay! We went to NY for the Macy's Thanksgiving Parade! Place was a good walking distance from the parade route! When we got there, no valet? Had to find parking which was only a block away. On a good note they do accept pets, however your going to pay $125.00 for your pet, [...]. Also parking is $40.00 24 hours, and thats not included! Room we had was 1104! You can hear everyone outside and in the hallway of the hotel, since the ice machine was right across from us. Good note people were vary curtious and friendly and 3 pm late checkout

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Noise proof the room on 1104!

Back to menu Return to top