$210 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2015 Check-out: Aug 2, 2015

W New York - Downtown

4 stars
View map of 8 Albany Street, 8 Albany Street, New York, NY 10006

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W New York - Downtown

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W New York - Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pain in the Back
Business
New Jersey
Nov 23, 2012

Not As Advertised

I'm really not sure who to complain to, the travel site or the hotle, but what I paid for I did not get...two double beds!!! There were two couples...one was luck and got to sleep in the King bed while my partner and I had to sleep separate on cots...yes...I said cots. At $500 per nite, which I paid as these were my guets from Spain, I allowed them to sleep in the King bed and we slept on separate cots!! The location, the cleanliness and for the most part the staff at the met my expectations as having been a prior guest at the Times Square location. This experience has left a "pain in my back"! This is my first letter of complaint. Both the travel company and the hotel will be receiving formal complaints in the mail.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W New York - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sammie.G
Business
new york
Nov 12, 2012

very modern

I loved everything about my room. There were snacks in the mini fridge, it came in handy being that there wasn't many stores in the area. The staff was helpful. I had a fun wonderful stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Century21 department store have great deals!

Review of W New York - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
teegod
Business
metairie la
Oct 8, 2012

Location

Our experience with the hotel itself was uniformly positive. But the downtown location has two major issues, accessibility by car/taxi and the chaotic traffic pattern in the area. The best way in and out of the area of the hotel, which is right across the 911 memorial, is by subway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W New York - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EMC2 Travels
Business
NC
Jul 8, 2012

Good location by ground zero

The room was clean except for the bathroom floor,which was just a bit dirty. Bed was very comfortable and room was a decent size. We got upgraded since we checked in early. Overall the hotel was great. The view from the room was spectacular.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W New York - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JuanR
Business
Cancún, QROO, México
Apr 10, 2012

good location

if you wanna visit downtown New York, W is one of the best choices. Modern concept, state of the art design and good "whatever/whenever" concierge services

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W New York - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gkasvi
Business
New York, NY, USA
Mar 30, 2012

great stay

stay was great, friendly staff, great view of the freedom tower and rebuilding project

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W New York - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chapman 2005
Business
Duxbury, MA, USA
Mar 28, 2012

The W Hotel New York - Downtown

Service was very good and room was clean and had great views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W New York - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 24, 2011

great hotel but noisey

The service and room were great. Couldn't have asked for better. Although the noise from WTC construction doesn't stop until 2am and restarts at 5am. If you stay here ask for a room on the opposite side of WTC. Great view but not worth the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W New York - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveller CBS
Business
Chicago
Mar 15, 2011

W Hotel Downtown

The W Hotel Downtown is located close to Battery Park City and the Financial District, and looks out on the area that is ground zero of 9/11. The hotel is very modern, has a great lobby, and is in a good location. There is a lot of construction near the hotel (the 9/11 memorial, and two new buildings). When the construction is complete, the lobby will have an incredible view of the memorial. For now, there is a significant amount of construction, but I didn't find it to be distracting. The only critique I have of the hotel is that the hallways are a little dark, and not particularly appealing, but this was only a small criticism. Overall, I enjoyed my stay at the W and would recommend it, particularly if you are interested in seeing the sites in this part of New York, or need to be in the downtown area for business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is very close to Wall Street and boat rides to the Statue of Liberty.

Review of W New York - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NYCGetaway
Business
Dublin, OH
Jan 1, 2011

Edgy and Exciting!

The hotel is beautiful and is marketed to a younger croud. The rooms are small but that is to be expected in NYC. We had a perfect view of the Ground Zero contruction site. The staff couldn't be better. The beds were very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top