$215 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

W New York

4 stars
541 Lexington Avenue, 541 Lexington Avenue, New York, NY 10022
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
187 reviews
4th July visit

The W hotel was a great experience and will love to stay there next time I am in New York. There's... See full review

  • April Mom
  • Jul 7, 2014
Girls weekend in NYC

Had a wonderful time at the W on Lexington Ave in NYC. This was my second time there and the... See full review

  • Cupcake65
  • Jun 8, 2014
The NYC hotel where Wall Street high-fliers and vacationers rub shoulders
Located in downtown Manhattan, the W New York is an ideal base for visitors eager to see to what New York City has to offer.  It is close to entertainment, tourist hotspots and shopping hubs.  The hotel is also near to Wall Street, making it a favorite port of call for the financial traders eager to celebrate, relax or stay after a hard day’s work.  W New York is the place to be to work off frustrations in its fitness centre, or relax.
Reasons to stay
  • The hotel offers guests a wide range of amenities and services
  • Wide range of restaurants and lounges available for guests 
  • Close proximity to New York's financial centre, tourist hotspots and landmarks
W New York rooms
Guests at the W New York have a choice of 217 rooms spread over 58 floors. The hotel sports hip names for the room grades giving a fresh and contemporary feel.  Guests enjoy rooms graded in a number of unique  ways, with descriptions such as ‘Wonderful’, ‘Spectacular’, ‘Cool’, ‘Wow and ‘Extreme Wow’ commonplace.  A Wonderful Room is spacious, 274 to 351 square feet in size.  Large windows give a great view of the New York skyline.  Visitors will be amazed by the lighting effects in the room, created by the LED light along the headboard wall and metallic wall coverings.  Other features include a 37 inch LCD flat screen TV, and radio complete with iPod docking station.  Guests sleep in a W bed with Egyptian cotton sheets, while the walk-in shower/rain forest has a frosted glass wall.  People staying at the W New York will also have similar comforts in the Spectacular Rooms, sized 338 to 366 square feet.  Visitors can delight themselves with the ultimate indulgence in the Extreme Wow Suite - an impressive 1,058 square feet in size.  The lounge has a 42 inch LCD flat screen TV, multicolored three-seat sofa, dining table for four, as well as a wet bar with a marble top. 
Things to do nearby
  • World Trade Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • South Street Seaport (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Theater District (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Chinatown (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Statue of Liberty (2.1 mi/3.4 km)

Hotel Map

40.756 -73.9724
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 32.19, KM; LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 16.09, KM; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 25.75, KM;
Area description
Airport, Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

W New York Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Florist
Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lever House: 0.2 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lever House: 0.2 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • East Side: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.5 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.5 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.6 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.6 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Park Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Barney's: 0.6 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.6 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi

Dining

Whiskey Blue
Experience nightlife in the city that never sleeps at one of its iconic lounges. With a vibrant and energetic ambiance, Gerber Group's hotspot, Whiskey Blue, is a modern take on Gotham’s swanky cocktail lounge—now featuring a small bites menu.
W Café/Oasis Bar
Our W Café is the perfect pit stop to pick up your morning coffee and nutrients while reading your daily paper. At night, cozy up to the zinc-topped Oasis Bar and quench your spirit. Sip Flirtinis. People-watch in the adjoining Living Room.
Heartbeat
Savor fresh ingredients and bold flavors from around the world with a focus on balance and freshness. Hang out in our upbeat and elevated atmosphere, featuring a menu with classic dishes and new favorites designed to entice and satisfy.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (187)

Ratings and reviews for W New York

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 187
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.3

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ramiller111
Business
Chicago
Jun 15, 2014

Not the same W service

Like W Hotels a lot and they usually have great service and beautiful locations. This time things weren't so smooth. Started at check-in where they had no way to look up my SPG number. (Ended up going to my room, finding an old email with it and going back to the front desk to provide it for them...) Annoyances continued later that night when I called Whatever/Whenever for a wake-up call and the phone just rang and rang and rang. Tried three times; no one ever picked up. Had to use the alarm on my cell phone... pretty bush-league for a W.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sales Dude
Business
Charlotte, NC, USA
Apr 5, 2013

New York Biz

convenient and well appointed. Clean and comfortable. Rooms are a little small, but bed was comfy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TravelerDallas21
Business
Dallas, TX
Mar 20, 2013

Room was not clean

Upon arriving I found a dried blood stain on the sheets in my bed. Because it was late, I slept on top of the comforter. The next day, the cleaning staff did NOT clean my room for the entire day. This was by far the worst experience I've ever had at a W Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
wizzarddr
Business
Philadelphia
Nov 26, 2012

W hatever

The room was minimalist stark - the bed was small - even for a queen bed. When asked to be moved - they informed me that I was in a MEGA room and to have a king sized bed - I would have to be down-graded to a superior - which they refused to do. No coffee maker in the room. The room was clean. As I was there for four nights - after the second night I wanted to have fresh sheets and removed the sheets from the bed to encourage them to place fresh ones - they simply remade the bed with the old sheets. Staff was friendly. Had only one meal there - breakfast was adequate. Drinks at the lobby bar were good. Check out was a breeze. Good location. National next door (cafe) was fabulous!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

National (resturant) next door was fabulous - the best fries and chicken ever!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
elky09
Business
Columbia, MO
Aug 20, 2012

W on Lexington

The room is small, as expected in the city, but it didn't seem the design allowed for the best use of space. The sheets were not perfectly white. They look like they got caught under the wheel of a cart - grey smudges. The bar and lobby were very welcoming and the staff were extremely helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit 'A+' Thai food. Delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DAGNS
Business
Long Island
Jun 12, 2012

Average stay

We are from Long Island, and needed to stay overnight in the city for business, so we decided to stay at The W for the first time since we'd heard good things about it. I guess for a single night stay in NYC it was ok. The room was clean, but tight. It served its purpose; but we would definitely not stay more than one night in such a small room with a terrible view for the asking price. I was ready to go back home and sleep in my own bed even after just one night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mishu
Business
Timisoara, Romania
May 22, 2012

The level of noise in the room

Because the air conditioning system has (I suppose) an outside inlet, the room was disturbed by the traffic loudness. Also, free internet access for hotel's clients could be something to be considered in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nycnycnyc
Business
nyc
May 2, 2012

nycnyc

good location, over priced, hotel thug at the door hassles you when you come at 1am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kadoram
Business
Missouri, USA
Feb 20, 2012

I Love this Place

I like the clean design and hip feel of the W. I can always count on a certain standard of comfort, aesthetic beauty, and quality with W hotels. Even when the rooms are small, they are comfortable and well appointed. The location couldn't be better, right by the 6 subway line and near the park. The nightclub is a bit loud, but maybe I am just getting a bit old. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

MoMA is in walking distance and the Met is a short Subway ride uptown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SMArb
Business
Geneva, IL, USA
Dec 21, 2011

Conference hotel

Great location in New York Very clean Very good staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top