$245 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 21, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

W New York

4 stars
541 Lexington Avenue, 541 Lexington Avenue, New York, NY 10022
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
192 reviews
4th July visit

The W hotel was a great experience and will love to stay there next time I am in New York. There's... See full review

  • April Mom
  • Jul 7, 2014
Girls weekend in NYC

Had a wonderful time at the W on Lexington Ave in NYC. This was my second time there and the... See full review

  • Cupcake65
  • Jun 8, 2014
The NYC hotel where Wall Street high-fliers and vacationers rub shoulders
Located in downtown Manhattan, the W New York is an ideal base for visitors eager to see to what New York City has to offer.  It is close to entertainment, tourist hotspots and shopping hubs.  The hotel is also near to Wall Street, making it a favorite port of call for the financial traders eager to celebrate, relax or stay after a hard day’s work.  W New York is the place to be to work off frustrations in its fitness centre, or relax.
Reasons to stay
  • The hotel offers guests a wide range of amenities and services
  • Wide range of restaurants and lounges available for guests 
  • Close proximity to New York's financial centre, tourist hotspots and landmarks
W New York rooms
Guests at the W New York have a choice of 217 rooms spread over 58 floors. The hotel sports hip names for the room grades giving a fresh and contemporary feel.  Guests enjoy rooms graded in a number of unique  ways, with descriptions such as ‘Wonderful’, ‘Spectacular’, ‘Cool’, ‘Wow and ‘Extreme Wow’ commonplace.  A Wonderful Room is spacious, 274 to 351 square feet in size.  Large windows give a great view of the New York skyline.  Visitors will be amazed by the lighting effects in the room, created by the LED light along the headboard wall and metallic wall coverings.  Other features include a 37 inch LCD flat screen TV, and radio complete with iPod docking station.  Guests sleep in a W bed with Egyptian cotton sheets, while the walk-in shower/rain forest has a frosted glass wall.  People staying at the W New York will also have similar comforts in the Spectacular Rooms, sized 338 to 366 square feet.  Visitors can delight themselves with the ultimate indulgence in the Extreme Wow Suite - an impressive 1,058 square feet in size.  The lounge has a 42 inch LCD flat screen TV, multicolored three-seat sofa, dining table for four, as well as a wet bar with a marble top. 
Things to do nearby
  • World Trade Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • South Street Seaport (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Theater District (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Chinatown (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Statue of Liberty (2.1 mi/3.4 km)

Hotel Map

40.756 -73.9724
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 32.19, KM; LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 16.09, KM; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 25.75, KM;
Area description
Resort, Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

W New York Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Florist
Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lever House: 0.2 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lever House: 0.2 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • East Side: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.5 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.5 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.6 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.6 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Park Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Barney's: 0.6 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.6 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi

Dining

Whiskey Blue
Experience nightlife in the city that never sleeps at one of its iconic lounges. With a vibrant and energetic ambiance, Gerber Group's hotspot, Whiskey Blue, is a modern take on Gotham’s swanky cocktail lounge—now featuring a small bites menu.
W Café/Oasis Bar
Our W Café is the perfect pit stop to pick up your morning coffee and nutrients while reading your daily paper. At night, cozy up to the zinc-topped Oasis Bar and quench your spirit. Sip Flirtinis. People-watch in the adjoining Living Room.
Heartbeat
Savor fresh ingredients and bold flavors from around the world with a focus on balance and freshness. Hang out in our upbeat and elevated atmosphere, featuring a menu with classic dishes and new favorites designed to entice and satisfy.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (192)

Ratings and reviews for W New York

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
192 out of 192
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
rtboston
Business
boston
Mar 9, 2014

dont even think to book

Dirty room......very smal......staff was rude...had to call multiple times just to get a remote for my tv which was missing....finally after 4 hours they brought it......disappointing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mactina
Business
Felton, Ca.
Mar 21, 2012

the not so cozy room

After checking in we went to our room to discover it was totally unclean , bed unmade etc. Went back to front desk , they apologized and gave us another room. The rooms are so small 200 SQ. FT. You can hardley walk around the bed. The bathroom floor was dirty and there were cobwebs and marks on the walls . There is no coffee or hot water maker in room. The view outside our window was the stairwell. We would never stay again or recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Frequent traveler 435
Business
Florida
Jul 25, 2012

One of the worst hotels that I have stayed at.

I have been in closets bigger than this hotel room! You can barely move around the bed. The staff was rude and not helpful. The lobby turns into a nightclub after dark which makes it very difficult to get checked in. I would pay the extra and stay in a real hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
denissesonia
Business
los angeles
Oct 18, 2012

Horrible experience

THe staff is very rude . i would not recommend this hotel , we stayed here for 3 days and we never got room service ..Has we checked in the girl was really rude made us feel very uncomfortable .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dr Daniel
Business
Arizona, USA
Aug 26, 2011

Deceiving, overpriced, uncooperative staff

No thinking in a second experience The statff was unable to satisfied simple demmands from a traveler (Food, adaptors, wake up call)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
M. T.
Business
Syracuse, NY
Aug 26, 2011

Tiny rooms

The room was uncomfortably small (10' x 18'). There was no place to put our suitcases, to put my purse, to place toiletries in the bathroom. There was little clearance between the doublebed and the wall. The closet was very small. There was no bureau. The bathroom had no tub, and the shower was so small there was barely room to turn around. There were larger rooms in the hotel, but the manager refused our request to upgrade our room, apparently because we reserved our room through Orbitz. After the first night we switched to another hotel (Doubletree) for a much better room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Memphis, TN
Jul 24, 2007

bad experience

first room like a closet---second not to much better---beds in which the w prides itself in were terrible and not like any other w.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

located in the middle of times square area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jchrzanowski
Business
CT
Jul 16, 2011

W hotel = poor customer service/thiefs

W hotel has a big problem with customer service. My issues started the moment I checked in, and two weeks after I checked out. [...] I was lied to TWICE by W staff about my $100 cleaning "deposit". At check in they told me it's refunded 7 days after your checkout, and I also verified with their staff on checkout. Two weeks later the charge is still there with no credit. I called and spoke with manager Neptaly Mirrieles about the issue and he said the deposit was non-refundable despite what W staff had told me. Because my girlfriend signed the paperwork, we were agreeing with the charge. I feel that I've been scammed, and to pay over $350 a night to sleep in a room no bigger than 10'x10' is absolutely absurd. To top that off, we were almost charged for minibar usage simply because we moved something. Apparently its electronic and if it senses something moved, it automatically begins charging you, whether you actually take it or not. They basically stole my money and told me "sorry" on the phone.I highly recommend to stay away from this hotel as there are much better and much cheaper alternatives, unless you like opening your wallet and having them stuff their pockets with your money. Unfortunately for them, I will no longer stay there when I visit NY for fun or business, and I will advise my colleagues I work with (over 120 employees) to avoid this hotel at all costs. I really hope that my $100 was worth all of the possible lost business for them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Woman Author
Business
Pasadena, CA
May 11, 2009

Too Hip for Me

This place is too small, noisy, dimly lit, and not suited for working in the hotel or your room. I went to NY to work with a colleague. We needed a quiet and not necessarily large space and could find none on the property. Finally, a staff member allowed us to use the dining room while it was closed. The business center is practically non-existent and they charge $7.99 for 15 minutes of computer time. Most other hotels are providing these at no charge. The room windows did open -- which was a plus because the air conditioning did not work. Of course then you had all the outside noise but it was better than a stuffy, hot room. I've had much better experiences at most other NY hotels. Won't be returning. Beware when you book on Orbitz - you may be getting the smallest rooms which is why the price is right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Benoit on 55th between 5th and 6th. An Alain Ducasse restaurant at moderate prices and great service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Claustrophobic
Business
Pa
Jun 15, 2014

Very small

Match box size rooms . Very expensive for the price over rated

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top