$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

W New York

4 stars
View map of 541 Lexington Avenue, 541 Lexington Avenue, New York, NY 10022

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
191 reviews
Always great

I have stayed at the Midtown W a few times now and have been pleased each time. The place is clean,... See full review

  • kadoram
  • May 9, 2015
Great NY experience

Went to New York with the gf for 3 days to pretty much go to all the touristy places. The W hotel... See full review

  • Mateo G.
  • Dec 31, 2014
Located in downtown Manhattan, the W New York is an ideal base for visitors eager to see to what New York City has to offer.  It is close to entertainment, tourist hotspots and shopping hubs.  The hotel is also near to Wall Street, making it a favorite port of call for the financial traders eager to celebrate, relax or stay after a hard day’s work.  W New York is the place to be to work off frustrations in its fitness centre, or relax.
Rooms
Guests at the W New York have a choice of 217 rooms spread over 58 floors. The hotel sports hip names for the room grades giving a fresh and contemporary feel.  Guests enjoy rooms graded in a number of unique  ways, with descriptions such as ‘Wonderful’, ‘Spectacular’, ‘Cool’, ‘Wow and ‘Extreme Wow’ commonplace.  A Wonderful Room is spacious, 274 to 351 square feet in size.  Large windows give a great view of the New York skyline.  Visitors will be amazed by the lighting effects in the room, created by the LED light along the headboard wall and metallic wall coverings.  Other features include a 37 inch LCD flat screen TV, and radio complete with iPod docking station.  Guests sleep in a W bed with Egyptian cotton sheets, while the walk-in shower/rain forest has a frosted glass wall.  People staying at the W New York will also have similar comforts in the Spectacular Rooms, sized 338 to 366 square feet.  Visitors can delight themselves with the ultimate indulgence in the Extreme Wow Suite - an impressive 1,058 square feet in size.  The lounge has a 42 inch LCD flat screen TV, multicolored three-seat sofa, dining table for four, as well as a wet bar with a marble top. 
Highlights
  • The hotel offers guests a wide range of amenities and services
  • Wide range of restaurants and lounges available for guests 
  • Close proximity to New York's financial centre, tourist hotspots and landmarks
Nearby attractions
  • World Trade Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • South Street Seaport (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Theater District (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Chinatown (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Statue of Liberty (2.1 mi/3.4 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W New York also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$209
4.0 / 5 553 reviews
★★★★
$199
4.1 / 5 253 reviews
★★★★
$279
4.4 / 5 75 reviews
★★★★
$249
4.1 / 5 448 reviews
★★★★
$245
4.4 / 5 160 reviews
★★★
$134
4.3 / 5 227 reviews
★★★★
$152
4.2 / 5 526 reviews

W New York Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Florist
Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lever House: 0.2 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lever House: 0.2 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • East Side: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.5 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.5 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.6 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.6 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Park Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Barney's: 0.6 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.6 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi

Dining

Heartbeat
Savor fresh ingredients and bold flavors from around the world with a focus on balance and freshness. Hang out in our upbeat and elevated atmosphere, featuring a menu with classic dishes and new favorites designed to entice and satisfy.
Oasis Bar
Cozy up to the zinc-topped Oasis Bar and quench your spirit. Sip Flirtinis. People-watch in the adjoining Living Room. Oasis Bar now features a light fare menu.
Whiskey Blue
Experience nightlife in the city that never sleeps at one of its iconic lounges. With a vibrant and energetic ambiance, Gerber Group's hotspot, Whiskey Blue, is a modern take on Gotham’s swanky cocktail lounge—now featuring a small bites menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for W New York

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 191
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debra P.
Business
N/A
Jul 30, 2015

Pleasant stay

This hotel has excellent front desk and service. All staff was courteous and noticeably pleasant. My bed and pillows were perfect, and that is the most important thing to me! Great location and service. I'll stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Benedict A.
Business
N/A
May 25, 2015

Lovely trip

It was lovely staying in W Hotel. I like the ambiance of the cozy environment. The hospitality of the staff and the taste of the food served in the restaurant were awesome. I hope to visit again, and I will always recommend W Hotel to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kadoram
Business
Kansas City
May 9, 2015

Always great

I have stayed at the Midtown W a few times now and have been pleased each time. The place is clean, the rooms are well-appointed (if small) and the food is great. You can't beat the location near the Subway. Some times of the year the prices are better than others, but it is always worth checking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Derrel B.
Business
N/A
Apr 7, 2015

Great personal trip

It was great, I would definitely recommend this hotel to all my family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mGebby
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 15, 2014

good location

Great staff, great location. Rooms were a little small but had nice modern decor. Loved the shampoo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cecilia D
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 6, 2014

Fun ambiance, good location

I stayed at the W while attending a conference this weekend. Overall it was a great place to stay, convenient to everything. The atmosphere downstairs is fun and it was very lively all weekend. My only complaint is that there was no coffee maker in the room and that a simple cup of coffee was very expensive in the lobby. I also got a great deal by booking in advance .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ramiller111
Business
Chicago
Jun 15, 2014

Not the same W service

Like W Hotels a lot and they usually have great service and beautiful locations. This time things weren't so smooth. Started at check-in where they had no way to look up my SPG number. (Ended up going to my room, finding an old email with it and going back to the front desk to provide it for them...) Annoyances continued later that night when I called Whatever/Whenever for a wake-up call and the phone just rang and rang and rang. Tried three times; no one ever picked up. Had to use the alarm on my cell phone... pretty bush-league for a W.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sales Dude
Business
Charlotte, NC, USA
Apr 5, 2013

New York Biz

convenient and well appointed. Clean and comfortable. Rooms are a little small, but bed was comfy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TravelerDallas21
Business
Dallas, TX
Mar 20, 2013

Room was not clean

Upon arriving I found a dried blood stain on the sheets in my bed. Because it was late, I slept on top of the comforter. The next day, the cleaning staff did NOT clean my room for the entire day. This was by far the worst experience I've ever had at a W Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
wizzarddr
Business
Philadelphia
Nov 26, 2012

W hatever

The room was minimalist stark - the bed was small - even for a queen bed. When asked to be moved - they informed me that I was in a MEGA room and to have a king sized bed - I would have to be down-graded to a superior - which they refused to do. No coffee maker in the room. The room was clean. As I was there for four nights - after the second night I wanted to have fresh sheets and removed the sheets from the bed to encourage them to place fresh ones - they simply remade the bed with the old sheets. Staff was friendly. Had only one meal there - breakfast was adequate. Drinks at the lobby bar were good. Check out was a breeze. Good location. National next door (cafe) was fabulous!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

National (resturant) next door was fabulous - the best fries and chicken ever!

Back to menu Return to top