$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 16, 2015 Check-out: Jan 17, 2015

W New York

4 stars
541 Lexington Avenue, 541 Lexington Avenue, New York, NY 10022
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
198 reviews
very comfortable, slept like a rock

We came on a get away to NY. Had a fabulous time. W was very convenient to everything. Great... See full review

  • Secachick
  • Dec 7, 2014
Perfect for Marathon Stay

What an easy and marathon-friendly hotel. Made my trip and race (and engagement!) a perfect... See full review

  • Shannon R Marathon
  • Nov 30, 2014
The NYC hotel where Wall Street high-fliers and vacationers rub shoulders
Located in downtown Manhattan, the W New York is an ideal base for visitors eager to see to what New York City has to offer.  It is close to entertainment, tourist hotspots and shopping hubs.  The hotel is also near to Wall Street, making it a favorite port of call for the financial traders eager to celebrate, relax or stay after a hard day’s work.  W New York is the place to be to work off frustrations in its fitness centre, or relax.
Reasons to stay
  • The hotel offers guests a wide range of amenities and services
  • Wide range of restaurants and lounges available for guests 
  • Close proximity to New York's financial centre, tourist hotspots and landmarks
W New York rooms
Guests at the W New York have a choice of 217 rooms spread over 58 floors. The hotel sports hip names for the room grades giving a fresh and contemporary feel.  Guests enjoy rooms graded in a number of unique  ways, with descriptions such as ‘Wonderful’, ‘Spectacular’, ‘Cool’, ‘Wow and ‘Extreme Wow’ commonplace.  A Wonderful Room is spacious, 274 to 351 square feet in size.  Large windows give a great view of the New York skyline.  Visitors will be amazed by the lighting effects in the room, created by the LED light along the headboard wall and metallic wall coverings.  Other features include a 37 inch LCD flat screen TV, and radio complete with iPod docking station.  Guests sleep in a W bed with Egyptian cotton sheets, while the walk-in shower/rain forest has a frosted glass wall.  People staying at the W New York will also have similar comforts in the Spectacular Rooms, sized 338 to 366 square feet.  Visitors can delight themselves with the ultimate indulgence in the Extreme Wow Suite - an impressive 1,058 square feet in size.  The lounge has a 42 inch LCD flat screen TV, multicolored three-seat sofa, dining table for four, as well as a wet bar with a marble top. 
Things to do nearby
  • World Trade Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • South Street Seaport (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Theater District (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Chinatown (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Statue of Liberty (2.1 mi/3.4 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

W New York Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lever House: 0.2 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lever House: 0.2 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • East Side: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.5 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.5 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.6 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.6 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Park Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Barney's: 0.6 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.6 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi

Dining

Heartbeat
Savor fresh ingredients and bold flavors from around the world with a focus on balance and freshness. Hang out in our upbeat and elevated atmosphere, featuring a menu with classic dishes and new favorites designed to entice and satisfy.
W Café/Oasis Bar
Our W Café is the perfect pit stop to pick up your morning coffee and nutrients while reading your daily paper. At night, cozy up to the zinc-topped Oasis Bar and quench your spirit. Sip Flirtinis. People-watch in the adjoining Living Room.
Whiskey Blue
Experience nightlife in the city that never sleeps at one of its iconic lounges. With a vibrant and energetic ambiance, Gerber Group's hotspot, Whiskey Blue, is a modern take on Gotham’s swanky cocktail lounge—now featuring a small bites menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (198)

Ratings and reviews for W New York

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
198 out of 198
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
150 Hotel Nights A Year
Business
Brighton, Michigan
Aug 13, 2012

Very Comfortable

Bed was amazing and shower had great pressure. Better than home!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Frequent traveler 435
Business
Florida
Jul 25, 2012

One of the worst hotels that I have stayed at.

I have been in closets bigger than this hotel room! You can barely move around the bed. The staff was rude and not helpful. The lobby turns into a nightclub after dark which makes it very difficult to get checked in. I would pay the extra and stay in a real hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SF to NY
Business
San Francisco, Ca
Jul 18, 2012

GREAT LOCATION

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Manhattan. The rooms are clean and comfortable. A bit small, but then again, I didn't spend much time in my room. For a clean, basic room in a great location with great customer service and a friendly staff, at a reasonable price, I like this hotel. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Size Doesn't Matter
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Jul 2, 2012

Small, but who needs big?

The room was tiny. That being said, NYC rooms are generally tiny. And considering it's in a great location if you want midtown shopping and central park, plus staff that are really professional, helpful and friendly, plus great toiletries, plus free wifi in the cozy lobby, plus a very comfy bed... the smallish room really wasn't that important.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Pizza off the room service menu (after a night of pub crawling) was AMAZING.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ivandterrible
Business
Bonita Springs, FL
Jun 26, 2012

Not too Shabby

Not agreat room (6tH foor) but not bad. As always a great staff. As always, overvalued. Good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

5th Ave shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
40th Birthday Couple
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 20, 2012

Birthday getaway

Hotel has a great location and staff were very helpful. I've read other reviews on this hotel that the rooms were too small. Our room was small but fine for NYC standards. We had a great time and would stay at the W again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eric Trunghoa
Business
Garden Grove, California
Jun 13, 2012

EXCELLENT HOTEL

The room is small nut very clean and well organized. Bath room is very clean with shower, sliding door at perfect status. I omly regret that internet is not free. Will go back again. Eric

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DAGNS
Business
Long Island
Jun 12, 2012

Average stay

We are from Long Island, and needed to stay overnight in the city for business, so we decided to stay at The W for the first time since we'd heard good things about it. I guess for a single night stay in NYC it was ok. The room was clean, but tight. It served its purpose; but we would definitely not stay more than one night in such a small room with a terrible view for the asking price. I was ready to go back home and sleep in my own bed even after just one night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
super shopper irene
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 7, 2012

Worked for Me

I enjoyed the W hotel very much. The staff was very helpful and knowledgable. The room was comfortable but small and suited my needs. My only concern was the lighting in the room. I had to go into the bathroom to read my map. I loved the location and the 51st subway station was close by. I would definitely stay there again when in NYC. Room service was tastey also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scoot123
Business
New Orleans, LA
Jun 5, 2012

Great location. Nicely decorated room.

Very helpful and friendly staff. Rooms are on the small side and we requested a larger room which they did(It was just a little bit bigger). Room looked like it had recently undergone a renovation. All in all it was a very pleasant stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top