$263 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

W New York

4 stars
541 Lexington Avenue, 541 Lexington Avenue, New York, NY 10022
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
187 reviews
4th July visit

The W hotel was a great experience and will love to stay there next time I am in New York. There's... See full review

  • April Mom
  • Jul 7, 2014
Girls weekend in NYC

Had a wonderful time at the W on Lexington Ave in NYC. This was my second time there and the... See full review

  • Cupcake65
  • Jun 8, 2014
The NYC hotel where Wall Street high-fliers and vacationers rub shoulders
Located in downtown Manhattan, the W New York is an ideal base for visitors eager to see to what New York City has to offer.  It is close to entertainment, tourist hotspots and shopping hubs.  The hotel is also near to Wall Street, making it a favorite port of call for the financial traders eager to celebrate, relax or stay after a hard day’s work.  W New York is the place to be to work off frustrations in its fitness centre, or relax.
Reasons to stay
  • The hotel offers guests a wide range of amenities and services
  • Wide range of restaurants and lounges available for guests 
  • Close proximity to New York's financial centre, tourist hotspots and landmarks
W New York rooms
Guests at the W New York have a choice of 217 rooms spread over 58 floors. The hotel sports hip names for the room grades giving a fresh and contemporary feel.  Guests enjoy rooms graded in a number of unique  ways, with descriptions such as ‘Wonderful’, ‘Spectacular’, ‘Cool’, ‘Wow and ‘Extreme Wow’ commonplace.  A Wonderful Room is spacious, 274 to 351 square feet in size.  Large windows give a great view of the New York skyline.  Visitors will be amazed by the lighting effects in the room, created by the LED light along the headboard wall and metallic wall coverings.  Other features include a 37 inch LCD flat screen TV, and radio complete with iPod docking station.  Guests sleep in a W bed with Egyptian cotton sheets, while the walk-in shower/rain forest has a frosted glass wall.  People staying at the W New York will also have similar comforts in the Spectacular Rooms, sized 338 to 366 square feet.  Visitors can delight themselves with the ultimate indulgence in the Extreme Wow Suite - an impressive 1,058 square feet in size.  The lounge has a 42 inch LCD flat screen TV, multicolored three-seat sofa, dining table for four, as well as a wet bar with a marble top. 
Things to do nearby
  • World Trade Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • South Street Seaport (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Theater District (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Chinatown (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Statue of Liberty (2.1 mi/3.4 km)

Hotel Map

40.756 -73.9724
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 32.19, KM; LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 16.09, KM; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 25.75, KM;
Area description
Airport, Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

W New York Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Florist
Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lever House: 0.2 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lever House: 0.2 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • East Side: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.5 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.5 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.6 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.6 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Park Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Barney's: 0.6 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.6 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi

Dining

Whiskey Blue
Experience nightlife in the city that never sleeps at one of its iconic lounges. With a vibrant and energetic ambiance, Gerber Group's hotspot, Whiskey Blue, is a modern take on Gotham’s swanky cocktail lounge—now featuring a small bites menu.
W Café/Oasis Bar
Our W Café is the perfect pit stop to pick up your morning coffee and nutrients while reading your daily paper. At night, cozy up to the zinc-topped Oasis Bar and quench your spirit. Sip Flirtinis. People-watch in the adjoining Living Room.
Heartbeat
Savor fresh ingredients and bold flavors from around the world with a focus on balance and freshness. Hang out in our upbeat and elevated atmosphere, featuring a menu with classic dishes and new favorites designed to entice and satisfy.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (187)

Ratings and reviews for W New York

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
187 out of 187
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B777
UAE
May 29, 2013

Great weekend

This was a great place to spend a weekend in the city. Close to all the sites but very quiet. Staff is the best thing about this hotel, always willing to help!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

TAO Night club and resturant is outstanding. 42 East 58th Street Reservations needed

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B777
UAE
May 29, 2013

The second get-a-way

Great and very helpful staff. Great location. Hotel and room very very clean. Internet price is very expense

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

TAO Outstanding!!!

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ConConSF
San Francisco, California
May 21, 2013

4 Star Treatment - all the way!

During our last visit to NY, we had the privilege of staying at The W on Lex. I had read some reviews of this particular hotel from previous guests, some not too favorable, but I must attest I haven't the slightest idea what they are talking about. Upon check-in we were immediately upgraded from a Cozy to the step above. My feeling in travel, especially to NY, is that while I want a nice room to lay my head after a long day, I do not need the "Presidential Suite". I mean, after-all I am not flying across the country to spend my entire time in a room. What I want is a nice bed, a comfortable atmosphere, and friendly hotel staff. I booked us the Cozy, and was content with sleeping in a box, if that meant that it was at The W, on one of their renown beds. When the upgrade was offered (at no charge), I took it, not knowing what to expect. What we were met with was in my opinion, a standard sized room, small, but very nice (does make me wonder just how small the Cozy is, but I digress). The hotel staff was incredibly gracious, the cleaning staff efficient, the Living Room bar service good, and the atmosphere exactly what I expected. As I spend a lot of time after work in the hotel bar of The W here in San Francisco, it was in a way "a home away from home". The location was great! While not in the hustle and bustle of Times Square (as some who have never been to NY would want), being on the East Side of Manhattan made for a restful stay, and an enjoyable, stress-free stay. I would recommend this location to anyone who wants to experience NY, but without all the craziness that the touristy areas can throw at you. Kudos to The W on Lex. We will most definitely be back! Oh... and Whiskey Blue is another plus to the hotel, and one we took definite advantage of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Da Noi down and around the corner from the hotel (214 East 49th Street). The food and service was unmatched anywhere on our stay. So good, we went back twice!

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joseph W
Toronto
May 16, 2013

Weekend trip

A great location for every hot attraction. Site seeing is a cheap and short cab ride away. Very recommended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

STK

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kevin321
Fort Lauderdale, FL
May 14, 2013

Great Atmosphere, Small Accomidations

The W New York is in a great location, right in the heart of Midtown. However, the room we stayed in was very small, around 350 sq/ft. It was a beautiful room with a modern look, but tiny. I guess this is expected for Manhattan, but you can find much more spacious rooms for the same price at other hotels. At this hotel, you are paying for the name.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
irish eyes
new york, new york
May 13, 2013

great time!

Hotel is within walking distance for shopping, dining, Times Square, etc. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly! Excellent time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't be afraid to take the subway...very easy to follow and safe...taxi rides can get very expensive

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenn E
New York, New York
May 12, 2013

Excellent Midtown Manhattan Stay

The W never disappoints. I got a great rate for a Friday night stay and I could not have been more pleased with the room and service. The only downside was coffee in the lobby was not complimentary.. and no bottled water in the hotel room. Strange that hotels still do not make this mandatory. Aside from this, A+!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The only NGS
Des Moines Iowa
May 7, 2013

Modern hotel, friendly staff

There was not any one big thing wrong with the hotel, just some inconveniences that made the stay less than perfect. There was not a coffee maker in our room and we like our coffee first thing in the morning. The bathroom was small and it did not have enough space to put our toiletries. The lighting in the bathroom was dim and inadequate. The staff was friendly and efficient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DC Visitor to NYC
Washington D.C.
May 6, 2013

Weekend getaway

We chose the smallest room (180 sq ft) which was nicely appointed and large enough for the two of us. While the hotel location and price were very good, we give this hotel an "average" rating because the door to our room was a mere 7 feet from the ice machine for our floor. Both the machine and foot traffic resulted in frequent noise throughout the night. This arrangement ruined what was otherwise a great room. ** Had it not been for the constant noise intrusions we would have been much happier. **

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HJAD
Canada
Apr 29, 2013

W on Lexington in NYC

The location was perfect within walking distance of almost everything, otherwise close to subway stop. Staff were very friendly, helpful and entertainting by times. Loved the Bliss products in the room and would definetly stay ehre again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search