$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 16, 2015 Check-out: Jan 17, 2015

W New York

4 stars
541 Lexington Avenue, 541 Lexington Avenue, New York, NY 10022
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
198 reviews
very comfortable, slept like a rock

We came on a get away to NY. Had a fabulous time. W was very convenient to everything. Great... See full review

  • Secachick
  • Dec 7, 2014
Perfect for Marathon Stay

What an easy and marathon-friendly hotel. Made my trip and race (and engagement!) a perfect... See full review

  • Shannon R Marathon
  • Nov 30, 2014
The NYC hotel where Wall Street high-fliers and vacationers rub shoulders
Located in downtown Manhattan, the W New York is an ideal base for visitors eager to see to what New York City has to offer.  It is close to entertainment, tourist hotspots and shopping hubs.  The hotel is also near to Wall Street, making it a favorite port of call for the financial traders eager to celebrate, relax or stay after a hard day’s work.  W New York is the place to be to work off frustrations in its fitness centre, or relax.
Reasons to stay
  • The hotel offers guests a wide range of amenities and services
  • Wide range of restaurants and lounges available for guests 
  • Close proximity to New York's financial centre, tourist hotspots and landmarks
W New York rooms
Guests at the W New York have a choice of 217 rooms spread over 58 floors. The hotel sports hip names for the room grades giving a fresh and contemporary feel.  Guests enjoy rooms graded in a number of unique  ways, with descriptions such as ‘Wonderful’, ‘Spectacular’, ‘Cool’, ‘Wow and ‘Extreme Wow’ commonplace.  A Wonderful Room is spacious, 274 to 351 square feet in size.  Large windows give a great view of the New York skyline.  Visitors will be amazed by the lighting effects in the room, created by the LED light along the headboard wall and metallic wall coverings.  Other features include a 37 inch LCD flat screen TV, and radio complete with iPod docking station.  Guests sleep in a W bed with Egyptian cotton sheets, while the walk-in shower/rain forest has a frosted glass wall.  People staying at the W New York will also have similar comforts in the Spectacular Rooms, sized 338 to 366 square feet.  Visitors can delight themselves with the ultimate indulgence in the Extreme Wow Suite - an impressive 1,058 square feet in size.  The lounge has a 42 inch LCD flat screen TV, multicolored three-seat sofa, dining table for four, as well as a wet bar with a marble top. 
Things to do nearby
  • World Trade Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • South Street Seaport (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Theater District (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Chinatown (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Statue of Liberty (2.1 mi/3.4 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

W New York Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lever House: 0.2 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lever House: 0.2 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • East Side: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.5 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.5 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.6 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.6 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Park Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Barney's: 0.6 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.6 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi

Dining

Heartbeat
Savor fresh ingredients and bold flavors from around the world with a focus on balance and freshness. Hang out in our upbeat and elevated atmosphere, featuring a menu with classic dishes and new favorites designed to entice and satisfy.
W Café/Oasis Bar
Our W Café is the perfect pit stop to pick up your morning coffee and nutrients while reading your daily paper. At night, cozy up to the zinc-topped Oasis Bar and quench your spirit. Sip Flirtinis. People-watch in the adjoining Living Room.
Whiskey Blue
Experience nightlife in the city that never sleeps at one of its iconic lounges. With a vibrant and energetic ambiance, Gerber Group's hotspot, Whiskey Blue, is a modern take on Gotham’s swanky cocktail lounge—now featuring a small bites menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (198)

Ratings and reviews for W New York

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
198 out of 198
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Prov RI
Jan 10, 2010

always W

quick check in, great bed and flat screen TV

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

easy to get a quick coffee and bagel at the bar in lobby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NC Travelers
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jan 4, 2010

Great Stay

Trip was for pleasure to shop and enjoy the Holiday Season in NYC. Flight arrival was earlier than check in. When we asked at front desk if they could hold our bags they had a room available so that was a nice surprise. Room was great and quiet on the 11th floor in the back! Got charged $12 from the munchie bar that wasn't used but a call to the front desk assured that the charge would be removed. They held our luggage after check out since our return flight was later. This was a great since we attended a show that day. Upon returning to retrieve bags, one bag was temporary lost but found after several people searched, including myself for about 10 minutes. Clerk mentioned that they had alot of bags they were holding due to departing and arriving for the New Year. Airport Shuttle Service had to leave and come back to pick up other passengers but still got to the airport in plenty of time. When in NY again I will definitely stay at the W!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Swedish traveller
Business
Stockholm, Sweden
Jan 1, 2010

Nice design rooms but that´s it

The hotel location is great if you want to experience midtown Manhattan, just in the middle of everything: walking distance to 5th avenue, Central Park, Moma... The rooms are very nice. The design is beautiful and you have great details such as the possibility to listen to the music in your iPod through a beautiful Tivoli radio. We will probably not go back to the W hotel though, due to some things we really didn´t like: There was no price list for the minibar, and when we asked for it they said they would bring it but that never happened. They charge 10 dollar for an espresso. That´s NOT ok, even if it´s in a hotel lobby. When we got the check of the items that were going to be charged to our room there were 2 minibar items for 30 dollar that we hadn´t taken and a 133 dollar charge from the café in the lobby for something we had not bought. When we told them, they just took it away without even explaining what the mistake was. Altogether, nice hotel with not that good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Providence, RI
Dec 26, 2009

Can't go wrong with the W

While the room I choose was very small and the bathroom cramped, for the price it was fine. More importantly the W brand screams luxury and relaxation. The lobbies are all amazing, the rooms are beautiful (despite the "cozy" ones being very small) and the over all essence is bliss. (no pun intended, but the Bliss Spa and their products are amazing). From the modern and organic bath products to the serene settings; The W really delivers. I have been a fan for a while but never tried this particular one. I ended up upgraded to a larger room but for $179 to stay in the "cozy" room at the W its a great deal. The W pleases all the senses, the looks are amazing with unsurpassed modern architecture, the smells; organic, citrus, flower and misc incense demand relaxation while preserving a zen like luxury, the tastes of the bars and restaurants are splendid and even the house music is pleasing. All in All, watch out for the W because they are quickly becoming the top Luxury Hotel in the World and they are certainly doing something right. and if you have the money, upgrade to a bigger room because its well worth it, if not, enjoy the splendor of the W with the cozy room, it still delivers the luxury and you still get the grandeur of staying in a world class hotel. Trust me, people notice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

BUY NY PASS, SKIP LINES!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Port St Lucie, Florida
Dec 17, 2009

My trip purchased trough [...]

This was a great and wonderfull trip. The only little problerm was the house keeping department at the hotel. One day they did not replace the plastic cups in the room, we personally told the front desk about it, called again later and never got them. On another day they never serviced the room. Someone did stop by at 3:45 and said your room has not been cleaned yet. We told them to forget it because we were resting at that time. Over all it is a great hotel and we would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just walking around in NY City during this time of the year is great. The hotel is in walking distance to great stores including Macys and Bloomingdales.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
co
Dec 5, 2009

W hotel review

this was the smallest room I have ever stayed in!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYC First timer.
Business
Miami, FL
Nov 25, 2009

W for WOW!

My wife and I just got back from our trip to NYC. We could not have asked for more from the W hotel. It was was spectacular. Great service, clean room, attention to detail and good location. As quiet as the city allows it to be. Lots of people complain about the small rooms, but its New York, what do you expect? Besides, we were only in there to sleep. On Sunday morning my wife had some trouble with the hair dryer. I called down and no kidding, in 5 minutes they delivered us a new one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frustrated Business Traveler
Business
Miami,FL
Nov 11, 2009

w hotel on lexington avenue

The hotel lobby is very nice, the concierge is excellent and staff is very friendly, however the rooms were tiny hardly no closet space, no view, and very dusty..also very expensive, even the business center charges, I had to request the concierge to help me print something as to not be charged $7.95 per every 5 minutes. Ameneties were not too good either, they were Bliss brand and not what I expected. I have stayed at other W where they have much better products and the rooms are very spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

do not eat breakfast at hotel, it is super expensive $18 for 2 eggs...walk to Grand Central station area, where you will find various super nice, inexpensive and reasonable places to have a great breakfast!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Sep 29, 2009

Decent Hotel

Hotel was in great location. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room service food was good. We could hear all the traffic, sirens, etc from the 16th floor, thus, noisy!! Rooms were very small. 288 sq ft. was generous and we stayed in a "remodeled spectacular room". The same type of room at the W-Tuscany (NYC) was three times as big (from a previous stay there).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Can't beat Cafe Metro for lunch/breakfast. Only a block away, great food, under $20 for two. Bice (pronounced Bee-Chay) on 54th is always an excellent choice for dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Allesi
Business
NY
Aug 31, 2009

Great Weekend in NYC

We enjoyed a night in NYC and went to the Yankees Game and a nice dinner. This hotel was twice as nice as the one across the street, The Waldorf Astoria. I would recommend this one over that any day. Great atmosphere and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top