$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

W New York

4 stars
View map of 541 Lexington Avenue, 541 Lexington Avenue, New York, NY 10022

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W New York

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
214 out of 214
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY/Chicago
Apr 14, 2010

W New York Review

The W is a consistent good stay in midtown. Rooms are right sized, comfortable and quiet. Check-in/out is pleasant and smooth. Location is great for a mid-town stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hillstone and PJ Clark's on 3rd at 54th & 55th. Good food, environment, and fair prices for NYC.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ma
Apr 11, 2010

not the best

It was ok. Not the best hotel. Expensive for just an average place. Rooms are very small and dark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Designer-Traveler
Business
Buffalo Grove, IL
Apr 10, 2010

The W lives up to the hype

Apparently this W hotel was designed for "hip" people, as you could see in the decor and layout of the lobby with its separate sitting /meeting /chill out area. You could also see this "hipness" in the feel of the rooms. Although the rooms are small, they were well designed and had the expected W "details" and were "cool". They really stood out in comparison to the majority of other "standard" hotel room in this price range. Perhaps not everybody appreciates the W ambiance like I do, but if you are in the right demographic that the W targets, you will love this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laurel, md
Mar 28, 2010

W New York Hotel NOT familiy oriented

I stayed for 1 night and the staff was not welcoming at all. Rooms were extrememly small and bed was uncomfortable. Definitely felt like I was paying for the decor and recent remodel. AWFUL view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Mar 20, 2010

Very disappointing for a W property

This is an aesthetically pleasing hotel, but I had a disappointing stay. Our room was incorrectly listed at the front desk as the room next door, and we received 2 7am wakeup calls that we did not request, in addition to 3-4 hang-up calls during the day. When I mentioned it to the manager and the employees at the front desk, they didn't seem to care at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Jude
Business
Charleston, South Carolina
Mar 19, 2010

Just as I remembered it

After reading some of the negative reviews of this W Hotel, I almost skipped staying there for a second time. Now I am convinced that the negative reviews were completely erroneous. We booked two rooms. The rooms were spotless. Amenities perfect. The folks in the lobby were most helpful - especially in recommending an excellent bagel shop around the block. I plan to W anywhere I can.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Modern. At the Museum of Modern Art

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia PA
Mar 15, 2010

W New York Hotel - 50th & Lexington

Website lead to believe this hotel had free parking, which there wasn't. When we got to our first room the toilet was backed up and sink did not drain well. Our second room, the window was open and the air condtitioner was rattling. I ended up fixing both.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Mar 7, 2010

"Convenient, reasonable location"

VG experience with pleasant staff. Dropped luggage off prior to Broadway Play & Dancing @ Club LQ.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to everything

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Feb 15, 2010

Love this Hotel!

This hotel was wonderful and we will continue to stay in it each time we go to New York. The hotel was incredible, staff was excellent, and the location was a perfect centralized location for all that we wanted to do. I loved this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Thalia is a restaurant/bar in Times Square that has the best food, drinks, and atmoshpehere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Feb 11, 2010

The W Midtown..

The W has the Acura partnership which is a great perk for Manhattan. While the location was great, it was very convenient. The bar was average for Manhattan but had poor service. The rest of the staff was very friendly. The rooms were somewhat small (even for NYC), compared to competition. Still a positive experience though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Asia De Cuba.... Wow. I would recommend sitting at the bottom because the top is a little cramped and hot... BUT... the calimari salad was odd but remarkable... sounded strange but was absolute fantastic.... also the black cod was the best fish I've eaten... and i'm a foodie! Recommend the rice with it... mmmm

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top