$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

W New York

4 stars
View map of 541 Lexington Avenue, 541 Lexington Avenue, New York, NY 10022

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W New York

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
215 out of 215
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Sep 14, 2010

W - Great Hotel - friendly staff

The hotel was located near Grand Central Station, which made it easy to attend the U.S. Open Tennis 2010. We took subway #7 to Flushing Meadows Station, which brought us to the entrance of the stadium.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great fresh cooked breakfast at the nearby Metro Cafe - located nearby - 5 minute walk at the most. Inexpensive menu - good food.

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Sep 14, 2010

W - Great Hotel - friendly staff

The hotel was located near Grand Central Station, which made it easy to attend the U.S. Open Tennis 2010. We took subway #7 to Flushing Meadows Station, which brought us to the entrance of the stadium.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great fresh cooked breakfast at the nearby Metro Cafe - located nearby - 5 minute walk at the most. Inexpensive menu - good food.

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Aug 23, 2010

Swanky NY Hotel

Beautiful lobby, great location - within walking distance of our event. Very dark rooms - hard to put makeup on or tell how you looked. Don't know if that's NY or if all W hotels are like this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 27, 2010

The Original W

W is always cool, this one was a little different than some I've stayed at. It was a little less hip and a little more plain, and much more brightly lit. But it's still the W. The staff were nice, security took themselves a little too seriously when you returned to the hotel late. It was a good experience. They should most definately extend their restaurant hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

They close at 11pm which is early for NYC and my friends and myself were very dissapointed that we had to hunt for a place for dinner when we just wanted to eat there.

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
phil
Jun 18, 2010

great time

great hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ridgewood, NJ
May 15, 2010

W Hotel - Lexington

I was very happy with the room. It was cozy and very comfortable. The shower was refreshing, the room was trendy, though smaller than expected. Do hotels provide toothbrushes anymore? The spa goods were nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYC Newbie
Business
NOVA
May 6, 2010

Business overnight at the W

While my room had a desk w/ chair and a bed, it was difficult to relax and get some work done in the evening because of the cramped feeling of the room. Also, the bell staff did not offer their services to customers as I have experienced at hotels of a similar caliber. Those things aside, The bed was extremely comfortable and I rested well. The bathroom was big enough for my needs without feeling like a tight space. Overall, a good stay but I will try to find a larger room for my next business trip to NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The W is in a safe area and within walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center and 5th Ave. shopping, and beautiful central park.

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Feeding Hills, MA.
May 3, 2010

W Hotel, April 30

good experience in a very modern, hip hotel. Great location. Lobby was extremely noisy upon check-in, but service was quite good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sydney Australia
Apr 28, 2010

W New York Service Was Poor Overall

When I checked in, I was given a single room although my booking was for a suite. I showed the printed receipt to reception, and they said that when you book with [...] (or other online third-parties) you are only guaranteed "a room", not necessarily the type of room you booked / what you are presumably paying for. I was also told that [...] had put a request for a roll-away bed into my booking! Even still, there was no roll-away bed in my room, and I don't believe there was a request in my booking. I ultimately requested an additional bed, because I was travelling with my sister. When the roll-away bed was brought to the room, my sister and I could do nothing but laugh because we didn't even have room to eat our room service! ([@]) The manager, [...], was curt and abrasive. She said she would see what she could do for the rest of my stay, but couldn't promise anything. Somehow we were allocated our suite the next day, but our luggage hadn't been moved while we were out (although requested and promised). Additionally, over our 6-night stay, we phoned the "Whatever Whenever" service on a number of occasions, but had to call back multiple times to actually have our request fulfilled. We had a good time in New York, but I'd have to say in spite of the W. Overall, a number of the staff -- mostly the front of house -- were haughty and pretentious. Only a few -- generally the housekeeping staff and office support -- had a real customer service attitude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ewriter
Business
Ellington, Ct
Apr 25, 2010

Great Location, Great Ambience

I decided to stayed in N.Y. for the weekend and to bring some friends that were visiting me in Connecticut and had never been in the Big Apple before. We decided to stay at W Hotel to create a great memoir. We loved the hotel in general, however I do have a comment about the check in receptionist. She tried to speak soooo sofisticated we barely hear and understood what she was trying to say when checking out. Kind of unpleasant woman, speak LOUDER woman. Other than that, I loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top