$269 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 16, 2014 Check-out: Nov 17, 2014

W New York

4 stars
541 Lexington Avenue, 541 Lexington Avenue, New York, NY 10022
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
192 reviews
4th July visit

The W hotel was a great experience and will love to stay there next time I am in New York. There's... See full review

  • April Mom
  • Jul 7, 2014
Girls weekend in NYC

Had a wonderful time at the W on Lexington Ave in NYC. This was my second time there and the... See full review

  • Cupcake65
  • Jun 8, 2014
The NYC hotel where Wall Street high-fliers and vacationers rub shoulders
Located in downtown Manhattan, the W New York is an ideal base for visitors eager to see to what New York City has to offer.  It is close to entertainment, tourist hotspots and shopping hubs.  The hotel is also near to Wall Street, making it a favorite port of call for the financial traders eager to celebrate, relax or stay after a hard day’s work.  W New York is the place to be to work off frustrations in its fitness centre, or relax.
Reasons to stay
  • The hotel offers guests a wide range of amenities and services
  • Wide range of restaurants and lounges available for guests 
  • Close proximity to New York's financial centre, tourist hotspots and landmarks
W New York rooms
Guests at the W New York have a choice of 217 rooms spread over 58 floors. The hotel sports hip names for the room grades giving a fresh and contemporary feel.  Guests enjoy rooms graded in a number of unique  ways, with descriptions such as ‘Wonderful’, ‘Spectacular’, ‘Cool’, ‘Wow and ‘Extreme Wow’ commonplace.  A Wonderful Room is spacious, 274 to 351 square feet in size.  Large windows give a great view of the New York skyline.  Visitors will be amazed by the lighting effects in the room, created by the LED light along the headboard wall and metallic wall coverings.  Other features include a 37 inch LCD flat screen TV, and radio complete with iPod docking station.  Guests sleep in a W bed with Egyptian cotton sheets, while the walk-in shower/rain forest has a frosted glass wall.  People staying at the W New York will also have similar comforts in the Spectacular Rooms, sized 338 to 366 square feet.  Visitors can delight themselves with the ultimate indulgence in the Extreme Wow Suite - an impressive 1,058 square feet in size.  The lounge has a 42 inch LCD flat screen TV, multicolored three-seat sofa, dining table for four, as well as a wet bar with a marble top. 
Things to do nearby
  • World Trade Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • South Street Seaport (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Theater District (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Chinatown (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Statue of Liberty (2.1 mi/3.4 km)

Hotel Map

40.756 -73.9724
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 32.19, KM; LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 16.09, KM; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 25.75, KM;
Area description
Resort, Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

W New York Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Florist
Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lever House: 0.2 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lever House: 0.2 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • East Side: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.5 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.5 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.6 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.6 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Park Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Barney's: 0.6 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.6 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi

Dining

Whiskey Blue
Experience nightlife in the city that never sleeps at one of its iconic lounges. With a vibrant and energetic ambiance, Gerber Group's hotspot, Whiskey Blue, is a modern take on Gotham’s swanky cocktail lounge—now featuring a small bites menu.
W Café/Oasis Bar
Our W Café is the perfect pit stop to pick up your morning coffee and nutrients while reading your daily paper. At night, cozy up to the zinc-topped Oasis Bar and quench your spirit. Sip Flirtinis. People-watch in the adjoining Living Room.
Heartbeat
Savor fresh ingredients and bold flavors from around the world with a focus on balance and freshness. Hang out in our upbeat and elevated atmosphere, featuring a menu with classic dishes and new favorites designed to entice and satisfy.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (192)

Ratings and reviews for W New York

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
192 out of 192
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scrappy123
New Enlgand
Aug 28, 2012

Great hotel experience

Decided to stay here at the last moment and very glad I happened to decide on this hotel. The room was very clean and stylish. Location was really great in Midtown Manhattan. Everything was great, couldn't ask for more - will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Feeding Hills, MA.
May 3, 2010

W Hotel, April 30

good experience in a very modern, hip hotel. Great location. Lobby was extremely noisy upon check-in, but service was quite good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sydney Australia
Apr 28, 2010

W New York Service Was Poor Overall

When I checked in, I was given a single room although my booking was for a suite. I showed the printed receipt to reception, and they said that when you book with [...] (or other online third-parties) you are only guaranteed "a room", not necessarily the type of room you booked / what you are presumably paying for. I was also told that [...] had put a request for a roll-away bed into my booking! Even still, there was no roll-away bed in my room, and I don't believe there was a request in my booking. I ultimately requested an additional bed, because I was travelling with my sister. When the roll-away bed was brought to the room, my sister and I could do nothing but laugh because we didn't even have room to eat our room service! ([@]) The manager, [...], was curt and abrasive. She said she would see what she could do for the rest of my stay, but couldn't promise anything. Somehow we were allocated our suite the next day, but our luggage hadn't been moved while we were out (although requested and promised). Additionally, over our 6-night stay, we phoned the "Whatever Whenever" service on a number of occasions, but had to call back multiple times to actually have our request fulfilled. We had a good time in New York, but I'd have to say in spite of the W. Overall, a number of the staff -- mostly the front of house -- were haughty and pretentious. Only a few -- generally the housekeeping staff and office support -- had a real customer service attitude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ewriter
Business
Ellington, Ct
Apr 25, 2010

Great Location, Great Ambience

I decided to stayed in N.Y. for the weekend and to bring some friends that were visiting me in Connecticut and had never been in the Big Apple before. We decided to stay at W Hotel to create a great memoir. We loved the hotel in general, however I do have a comment about the check in receptionist. She tried to speak soooo sofisticated we barely hear and understood what she was trying to say when checking out. Kind of unpleasant woman, speak LOUDER woman. Other than that, I loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Likes cushy furniture
Business
Concord MA
Apr 23, 2010

Tiny and Trendy

Great service, but I am a bit of an old-fashioned traveller. I like a comfortable chair to sit in, a bathroom with a hinged door that locks and room to turn around in. I also like charm. And light. So I won't be going back to W, even though the service was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY/Chicago
Apr 14, 2010

W New York Review

The W is a consistent good stay in midtown. Rooms are right sized, comfortable and quiet. Check-in/out is pleasant and smooth. Location is great for a mid-town stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hillstone and PJ Clark's on 3rd at 54th & 55th. Good food, environment, and fair prices for NYC.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ma
Apr 11, 2010

not the best

It was ok. Not the best hotel. Expensive for just an average place. Rooms are very small and dark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Designer-Traveler
Business
Buffalo Grove, IL
Apr 10, 2010

The W lives up to the hype

Apparently this W hotel was designed for "hip" people, as you could see in the decor and layout of the lobby with its separate sitting /meeting /chill out area. You could also see this "hipness" in the feel of the rooms. Although the rooms are small, they were well designed and had the expected W "details" and were "cool". They really stood out in comparison to the majority of other "standard" hotel room in this price range. Perhaps not everybody appreciates the W ambiance like I do, but if you are in the right demographic that the W targets, you will love this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laurel, md
Mar 28, 2010

W New York Hotel NOT familiy oriented

I stayed for 1 night and the staff was not welcoming at all. Rooms were extrememly small and bed was uncomfortable. Definitely felt like I was paying for the decor and recent remodel. AWFUL view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Mar 20, 2010

Very disappointing for a W property

This is an aesthetically pleasing hotel, but I had a disappointing stay. Our room was incorrectly listed at the front desk as the room next door, and we received 2 7am wakeup calls that we did not request, in addition to 3-4 hang-up calls during the day. When I mentioned it to the manager and the employees at the front desk, they didn't seem to care at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Jude
Business
Charleston, South Carolina
Mar 19, 2010

Just as I remembered it

After reading some of the negative reviews of this W Hotel, I almost skipped staying there for a second time. Now I am convinced that the negative reviews were completely erroneous. We booked two rooms. The rooms were spotless. Amenities perfect. The folks in the lobby were most helpful - especially in recommending an excellent bagel shop around the block. I plan to W anywhere I can.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Modern. At the Museum of Modern Art

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top