$198 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

W New York

4 stars
541 Lexington Avenue, New York, NY 10022
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
197 reviews
4th July visit

The W hotel was a great experience and will love to stay there next time I am in New York. There's... See full review

  • April Mom
  • Jul 7, 2014
Girls weekend in NYC

Had a wonderful time at the W on Lexington Ave in NYC. This was my second time there and the... See full review

  • Cupcake65
  • Jun 8, 2014
The NYC hotel where Wall Street high-fliers and vacationers rub shoulders
Located in downtown Manhattan, the W New York is an ideal base for visitors eager to see to what New York City has to offer.  It is close to entertainment, tourist hotspots and shopping hubs.  The hotel is also near to Wall Street, making it a favorite port of call for the financial traders eager to celebrate, relax or stay after a hard day’s work.  W New York is the place to be to work off frustrations in its fitness centre, or relax.
Reasons to stay
  • The hotel offers guests a wide range of amenities and services
  • Wide range of restaurants and lounges available for guests 
  • Close proximity to New York's financial centre, tourist hotspots and landmarks
W New York rooms
Guests at the W New York have a choice of 217 rooms spread over 58 floors. The hotel sports hip names for the room grades giving a fresh and contemporary feel.  Guests enjoy rooms graded in a number of unique  ways, with descriptions such as ‘Wonderful’, ‘Spectacular’, ‘Cool’, ‘Wow and ‘Extreme Wow’ commonplace.  A Wonderful Room is spacious, 274 to 351 square feet in size.  Large windows give a great view of the New York skyline.  Visitors will be amazed by the lighting effects in the room, created by the LED light along the headboard wall and metallic wall coverings.  Other features include a 37 inch LCD flat screen TV, and radio complete with iPod docking station.  Guests sleep in a W bed with Egyptian cotton sheets, while the walk-in shower/rain forest has a frosted glass wall.  People staying at the W New York will also have similar comforts in the Spectacular Rooms, sized 338 to 366 square feet.  Visitors can delight themselves with the ultimate indulgence in the Extreme Wow Suite - an impressive 1,058 square feet in size.  The lounge has a 42 inch LCD flat screen TV, multicolored three-seat sofa, dining table for four, as well as a wet bar with a marble top. 
Things to do nearby
  • World Trade Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • South Street Seaport (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Theater District (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Chinatown (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Statue of Liberty (2.1 mi/3.4 km)

Hotel Map

40.756 -73.9724
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 20.00, MI; LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 10.00, MI; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 16.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

W New York Rooms

Wonderful
Description not provided

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Gift shop
Florist
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lever House: 0.2 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lever House: 0.2 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • East Side: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.5 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.5 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.6 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.6 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Park Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Barney's: 0.6 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.6 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (197)

Ratings and reviews for W New York

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
197 out of 197
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toronto, Ontario
Oct 18, 2010

Not the best location but otherwise good

All of the extras (room service, drinks etc) at the hotel were quite pricey - but this was expected. Be sure to avoid touching ANYTHING on the minibar unless you want to pay for it- It was pressure senstive and very expensive. We accidentally racked up $100 worth of charges. Staff were very helpful and removed the charges. With the exception of one specific evening concierge, staff were reluctant to make recommendations for reasonably priced restaraunts, bars etc. It seemed that they were only familiar with expensive, downtown locations. Hotel was close to the subway and walking distance from many attractions. Room was small but clean. Bliss toiletries were fantastic. Shower does not have a door - expect to get the bathroom a bit wet with every shower. Bathroom door did not lock. TV was often unwatchable due to digital glitches. Bed was very comfy. View from room wasn't great - we looked into a parking garage. In future, we would probably not stay here since there was very litte of interest in the direct vicinity of the hotel. The area seemed to be more of a financial district. Though as mentioned, it was a short subway or walk to areas of interest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Just a few subway stops away (or a quick and cheap cab) is the Lower East Side. Would highly recommend this area for dinner and drinks if you don't want to spend a ton of money. Young and very mixed crowd. Check out Pianos for drinks.

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
Sep 14, 2010

W - Great Hotel - friendly staff

The hotel was located near Grand Central Station, which made it easy to attend the U.S. Open Tennis 2010. We took subway #7 to Flushing Meadows Station, which brought us to the entrance of the stadium.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great fresh cooked breakfast at the nearby Metro Cafe - located nearby - 5 minute walk at the most. Inexpensive menu - good food.

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Maryland
Aug 23, 2010

Swanky NY Hotel

Beautiful lobby, great location - within walking distance of our event. Very dark rooms - hard to put makeup on or tell how you looked. Don't know if that's NY or if all W hotels are like this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 27, 2010

The Original W

W is always cool, this one was a little different than some I've stayed at. It was a little less hip and a little more plain, and much more brightly lit. But it's still the W. The staff were nice, security took themselves a little too seriously when you returned to the hotel late. It was a good experience. They should most definately extend their restaurant hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

They close at 11pm which is early for NYC and my friends and myself were very dissapointed that we had to hunt for a place for dinner when we just wanted to eat there.

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
phil
Jun 18, 2010

great time

great hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ridgewood, NJ
May 15, 2010

W Hotel - Lexington

I was very happy with the room. It was cozy and very comfortable. The shower was refreshing, the room was trendy, though smaller than expected. Do hotels provide toothbrushes anymore? The spa goods were nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
May 14, 2010

Small rooms, nice staff and am

Small rooms, nice staff and ambience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYC Newbie
Business
NOVA
May 6, 2010

Business overnight at the W

While my room had a desk w/ chair and a bed, it was difficult to relax and get some work done in the evening because of the cramped feeling of the room. Also, the bell staff did not offer their services to customers as I have experienced at hotels of a similar caliber. Those things aside, The bed was extremely comfortable and I rested well. The bathroom was big enough for my needs without feeling like a tight space. Overall, a good stay but I will try to find a larger room for my next business trip to NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The W is in a safe area and within walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center and 5th Ave. shopping, and beautiful central park.

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Feeding Hills, MA.
May 3, 2010

W Hotel, April 30

good experience in a very modern, hip hotel. Great location. Lobby was extremely noisy upon check-in, but service was quite good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sydney Australia
Apr 28, 2010

W New York Service Was Poor Overall

When I checked in, I was given a single room although my booking was for a suite. I showed the printed receipt to reception, and they said that when you book with [...] (or other online third-parties) you are only guaranteed "a room", not necessarily the type of room you booked / what you are presumably paying for. I was also told that [...] had put a request for a roll-away bed into my booking! Even still, there was no roll-away bed in my room, and I don't believe there was a request in my booking. I ultimately requested an additional bed, because I was travelling with my sister. When the roll-away bed was brought to the room, my sister and I could do nothing but laugh because we didn't even have room to eat our room service! ([@]) The manager, [...], was curt and abrasive. She said she would see what she could do for the rest of my stay, but couldn't promise anything. Somehow we were allocated our suite the next day, but our luggage hadn't been moved while we were out (although requested and promised). Additionally, over our 6-night stay, we phoned the "Whatever Whenever" service on a number of occasions, but had to call back multiple times to actually have our request fulfilled. We had a good time in New York, but I'd have to say in spite of the W. Overall, a number of the staff -- mostly the front of house -- were haughty and pretentious. Only a few -- generally the housekeeping staff and office support -- had a real customer service attitude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search