$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 2, 2014

W New York

4 stars
541 Lexington Avenue, New York, NY 10022
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
281 reviews
4th July visit

The W hotel was a great experience and will love to stay there next time I am in New York. There's... See full review

  • April Mom
  • Jul 7, 2014
Girls weekend in NYC

Had a wonderful time at the W on Lexington Ave in NYC. This was my second time there and the... See full review

  • Cupcake65
  • Jun 8, 2014
The NYC hotel where Wall Street high-fliers and vacationers rub shoulders
Located in downtown Manhattan, the W New York is an ideal base for visitors eager to see to what New York City has to offer.  It is close to entertainment, tourist hotspots and shopping hubs.  The hotel is also near to Wall Street, making it a favorite port of call for the financial traders eager to celebrate, relax or stay after a hard day’s work.  W New York is the place to be to work off frustrations in its fitness centre, or relax.
Reasons to stay
  • The hotel offers guests a wide range of amenities and services
  • Wide range of restaurants and lounges available for guests 
  • Close proximity to New York's financial centre, tourist hotspots and landmarks
W New York rooms
Guests at the W New York have a choice of 217 rooms spread over 58 floors. The hotel sports hip names for the room grades giving a fresh and contemporary feel.  Guests enjoy rooms graded in a number of unique  ways, with descriptions such as ‘Wonderful’, ‘Spectacular’, ‘Cool’, ‘Wow and ‘Extreme Wow’ commonplace.  A Wonderful Room is spacious, 274 to 351 square feet in size.  Large windows give a great view of the New York skyline.  Visitors will be amazed by the lighting effects in the room, created by the LED light along the headboard wall and metallic wall coverings.  Other features include a 37 inch LCD flat screen TV, and radio complete with iPod docking station.  Guests sleep in a W bed with Egyptian cotton sheets, while the walk-in shower/rain forest has a frosted glass wall.  People staying at the W New York will also have similar comforts in the Spectacular Rooms, sized 338 to 366 square feet.  Visitors can delight themselves with the ultimate indulgence in the Extreme Wow Suite - an impressive 1,058 square feet in size.  The lounge has a 42 inch LCD flat screen TV, multicolored three-seat sofa, dining table for four, as well as a wet bar with a marble top. 
Things to do nearby
  • World Trade Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • South Street Seaport (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Theater District (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Chinatown (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Statue of Liberty (2.1 mi/3.4 km)

Hotel Map

40.756 -73.9724
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 20.00, MI; LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 10.00, MI; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 16.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

W New York Rooms

Wonderful
Description not provided

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Gift shop
Florist
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lever House: 0.2 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lever House: 0.2 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • East Side: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.5 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.5 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.6 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.6 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Park Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Barney's: 0.6 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.6 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (281)

Ratings and reviews for W New York

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
281 out of 281
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Worth, TX
Jul 23, 2011

W Hotel

The W is in a great location! Very friendly and efficient. The hotel has a nice, calm atmosphere. The room was clean and comfortable beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
chicago, il
Jul 19, 2011

Can't get any better than this!

We were all over the city! The hotel was located almost near all the great places. If not, it was a short cab ride anywhere! Museum of Modern Art was so fascinating! I don't have any complaints, the staff was great and accommodating. I would definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
chicago, il
Jul 19, 2011

Can't get any better than this!

We were all over the city! The hotel was located almost near all the great places. If not, it was a short cab ride anywhere! Museum of Modern Art was so fascinating! I don't have any complaints, the staff was great and accommodating. I would definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Overworked doctor
Chicago, IL
Jul 18, 2011

Overworked doctor

W is a wonderful oasis in Midtown, near to shopping, and dining. the rooms are a little snug but the service is attentive and personalized and the ambiance in very energizing. I love the green apples in the lobby. Free umbrellas when its raining and great security all night. It is a great place to relax and recharge for a a few days

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

5th Avenue is just a few blocks away

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Overworked doctor
Chicago, IL
Jul 18, 2011

Overworked doctor

W is a wonderful oasis in Midtown, near to shopping, and dining. the rooms are a little snug but the service is attentive and personalized and the ambiance in very energizing. I love the green apples in the lobby. Free umbrellas when its raining and great security all night. It is a great place to relax and recharge for a a few days

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

5th Avenue is just a few blocks away

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SF
Jul 16, 2011

W New York

Besides staying in a box, the hotel is perfect for the modern, single individual who wants the convenience of the location and enjoy the vibrant bar scene. The gym is great, the service good (although when I went to pick up my bags from bag service I waited over ten minutes) and Bliss spa is one of my favs. Disappointed I didn't get to take any baths but its not the type of hotel that you just stay in the rm

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jchrzanowski
CT
Jul 16, 2011

W hotel = poor customer service/thiefs

W hotel has a big problem with customer service. My issues started the moment I checked in, and two weeks after I checked out. [...] I was lied to TWICE by W staff about my $100 cleaning "deposit". At check in they told me it's refunded 7 days after your checkout, and I also verified with their staff on checkout. Two weeks later the charge is still there with no credit. I called and spoke with manager Neptaly Mirrieles about the issue and he said the deposit was non-refundable despite what W staff had told me. Because my girlfriend signed the paperwork, we were agreeing with the charge. I feel that I've been scammed, and to pay over $350 a night to sleep in a room no bigger than 10'x10' is absolutely absurd. To top that off, we were almost charged for minibar usage simply because we moved something. Apparently its electronic and if it senses something moved, it automatically begins charging you, whether you actually take it or not. They basically stole my money and told me "sorry" on the phone.I highly recommend to stay away from this hotel as there are much better and much cheaper alternatives, unless you like opening your wallet and having them stuff their pockets with your money. Unfortunately for them, I will no longer stay there when I visit NY for fun or business, and I will advise my colleagues I work with (over 120 employees) to avoid this hotel at all costs. I really hope that my $100 was worth all of the possible lost business for them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SF
Jul 16, 2011

W New York

Besides staying in a box, the hotel is perfect for the modern, single individual who wants the convenience of the location and enjoy the vibrant bar scene. The gym is great, the service good (although when I went to pick up my bags from bag service I waited over ten minutes) and Bliss spa is one of my favs. Disappointed I didn't get to take any baths but its not the type of hotel that you just stay in the rm

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jchrzanowski
CT
Jul 16, 2011

W hotel = poor customer service/thiefs

W hotel has a big problem with customer service. My issues started the moment I checked in, and two weeks after I checked out. [...] I was lied to TWICE by W staff about my $100 cleaning "deposit". At check in they told me it's refunded 7 days after your checkout, and I also verified with their staff on checkout. Two weeks later the charge is still there with no credit. I called and spoke with manager Neptaly Mirrieles about the issue and he said the deposit was non-refundable despite what W staff had told me. Because my girlfriend signed the paperwork, we were agreeing with the charge. I feel that I've been scammed, and to pay over $350 a night to sleep in a room no bigger than 10'x10' is absolutely absurd. To top that off, we were almost charged for minibar usage simply because we moved something. Apparently its electronic and if it senses something moved, it automatically begins charging you, whether you actually take it or not. They basically stole my money and told me "sorry" on the phone.I highly recommend to stay away from this hotel as there are much better and much cheaper alternatives, unless you like opening your wallet and having them stuff their pockets with your money. Unfortunately for them, I will no longer stay there when I visit NY for fun or business, and I will advise my colleagues I work with (over 120 employees) to avoid this hotel at all costs. I really hope that my $100 was worth all of the possible lost business for them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ana Rubalcava
Business
Mexico City
Jul 13, 2011

Great business trip

We went for a business trip and ended feeling like a pleasure trip, great accomodations, service and facilities!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Saks Fifth Avenue at 5th Avnue, just a couple of block walking.

Back to menu Return to top