$134 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2015 Check-out: Oct 1, 2015

Vanderbilt YMCA

2 stars
View map of 224 East 47th Street, New York, NY 10017

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
206 reviews
amazing thanksgiving tripp

Great hotel - loved the location - great VALUE!! - clean rooms and especially bathrooms - twin beds... See full review

  • Toby S.
  • Jun 30, 2015
couple's long weekend trip

great location, stuff let us check in early however, had to bring in a copy of a reservation... See full review

  • Sandra S.
  • Jan 16, 2015
This hotel provides value accommodations in a desirable, normally high-priced location. It's just the basics here. Rooms have beds and TVs, and guests share bathrooms. Valuable perks include free Wi-Fi and free use of the YMCA fitness facilities. The location puts guests on the east side of Midtown -- close to the United Nations and near Grand Central Terminal.
Location

Fifth Avenue, Rockefeller Center and Grand Central Terminal all within walking distance from the hotel. Times Square and the Theater District are a longer walk or short cab ride away. 

Rooms

The 370 rooms come with either a set of bunk beds or one single bed. Rooms have TVs, air conditioning units and free Wi-Fi. Daily housekeeping service is provided. Guests share common bathrooms.

Property features

Guests may use the YMCA fitness facilities free of charge.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Complimentary use of the YMCA fitness facilities
  • Convenient to Grand Central, United Nations
Nearby attractions
  • United Nations (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (0.3 mi /0.5 km)
  • Fifth Avenue (0.4 mi / 0.6 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.6 mi / 1 km)
Transportation
  • Grand Central Terminal (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • MTA Subway Grand Central – 42nd St. 4, 5, 6; 7; S lines (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • La Guardia Airport (8.9 mi/ 14.3 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (15.6 mi/ 25.1 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (16.8 mi/ 27 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Vanderbilt YMCA also booked these hotels.

★★★
$100
3.8 / 5 163 reviews
★★★
$125
4.1 / 5 212 reviews
★★★
$149
3.3 / 5 99 reviews
★★★
$129
3.4 / 5 151 reviews
★★★
$159
3.8 / 5 61 reviews
★★★
$143
3.8 / 5 142 reviews
★★
$119
3.5 / 5 37 reviews
★★★
$129
3.3 / 5 111 reviews

Vanderbilt YMCA Rooms

Bunk
The room offers 1 Bunk Bed with upper and lower berth a color TV, air conditioning and daily. housekeeping.
Single
The room offers 1 Twin Bed with a color TV, air conditioning and daily housekeeping.

Amenities

  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • East Side: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.3 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.3 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Lever House: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • East Side: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.3 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.3 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Lever House: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.5 mi
  • International Building: 0.5 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.5 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.5 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.5 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.5 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.6 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.6 mi
  • Franklin D. Roosevelt Four Freedoms Park: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.6 mi
  • GE Building: 0.6 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.6 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.6 mi
  • University Club: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.6 mi
  • Morgan Library: 0.6 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.6 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.6 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.6 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.7 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.7 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.7 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Vanderbilt YMCA

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
206 out of 206
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
2.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Vanderbilt YMCA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gbaba
Single
india
Nov 19, 2011

i have been charged double.

i booked the hotel for $80. i checked the hotel. my room was already alloted to someone else. i was given another room which was very dirty and clumsy. i was charged $120 as the person at the reception was not knowing whether payment through web has been received by the hotel or not. i have been asked to vacate the room bt 7.00 am also. very very bad experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Vanderbilt YMCA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Butchypoo
Single
Atlanta, GA, USA
Nov 18, 2011

Weekend Getaway

I did not spend much time there. The room was small, but my purpose was to spend majority of time sightseeing in the beautiful city!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Vanderbilt YMCA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MCCali
Family
California
Jul 23, 2012

Disgusting

I was in a crunch for $$. We stayed out of need, but it was a horrible experience. Dirty, rude staff and awful rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Vanderbilt YMCA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Julia MD
Business
Atlanta, GA
Oct 3, 2012

If you need to shower..., not the place for you

I chose the Y because it was close to the location of an interview I had the next day. They give you a code to the bathroom on your floor, but there was no one at the desk for my to talk to when it wouldn't work and when a bunch of Danes/Swedes had locked the door and wouldn't let anyone else in. Not good if you need to shower before an interview. I ended up using the shower in the lockerroom for the gym facilities because there was no one there for me to talk to. Not good... And dirty room to boot. If you don't have deadlines to meet and are on a budget, this is the place for you. If you like to shower, not the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Loew's movie theatre is only a few blocks away. Easy walk.

Review of Vanderbilt YMCA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Smile fish
Friends
New York
Dec 27, 2012

The worst hotel I've ever seen in my life,keep away from it.

The hotel is not easy to find,the name is weird and small.The location is just so-so,not very good,but the price is very high.The room is old and small like a cell.It gives you a kind of feeling of staying in the prison,if you are not slim,then it's hard for you to make a turn in the room.The heating is not available and the heating machine makes the noise all the night,no bathroom in the room,no internet access in the room.You have to bring your key everywhere,you have to show your key to the guard if your want to use the elevator,you have to wrap your key if you want to use the restroom,if you want to take a shower you have to take your key as well.The room makes me scared,so old,with the heating machine making noise all day.The stuff are rude and impatient.Very unhappy experience.Never take it into consideration.It costs me 130 bucks for one night.It doesn't worth the money.I'll recommend Hotel 17,the location is good and the price is reasonable,only 89 bucks one night,or Paramount Hotel,the location is good as well,and the room is big and clean with bathroom and the stuff are very nice,it's 116 bucks or the Holiday Inn or Best Western.Stay away from YMCA!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Vanderbilt YMCA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MCCali
Friends
Central Valley, CA
Aug 2, 2011

Disgustingly Dirty

This hotel isn't a hotel!!! It's like a hostel! They have bunkbed rooms and you have to share the restrooms and baths with other guest. That wounldn't have been so bad if the building hadn't been so old that it didn't have an A/C! The building was extremely hot and uncomfortable! Most of the staff where extremely rude and made you feel like any question you asked bothered them!!!! The rooms were dirty and small. Definately not going there again! Good thing I only stayed for 1 night, eewww!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Vanderbilt YMCA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Chevy Chase, MD
May 25, 2011

Basics

Simple, lacking any ammenities, but a basic place to stay for a short while. Location good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Vanderbilt YMCA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ProfessorDad
Single
Solebury Township, Penn
Mar 29, 2011

Disappointing; unhelpful staff

[...] (Oh, the noise from upset mothers about not being able to swim with their 1-3 year-old toddlers because of an uninformed staff member!!!)[...] Did I want the room? Well, yes, I did, as I had a concert to get to and really hadn't time to spare for such silliness although I did have to alter my departure plans. The toilets were out of order on the 4th Floor where my room was located. The signage indicated they had not been functioning for a while. During my 2-day stay, the shower drains had a constant accumulation of hair and etc.As it is the stuff of legend, I had always wanted to stay at the Vanderbilt Y. Now, unfortunately, it is simply a fairly clean, adequate hostel. There is a security guard at the entrance to ensure safety and that patrons only take one towel when exercising in the modest gym. The rooms are spartan, but there was a TV and the floor was clean. The Wi-Fi had limited bandwidth when the server was not down. The drawers were filthy so I did not unpack. The room came with two towels; no soap, of course. Disappointingly there exists no lounge, "community" or outreach ministry of hospitality for travellers. My useful takeaway is that while I enjoyed my local YMCA programs as a teenager, this YMCA lacks management and I would be very reluctant to entrust my own children to its care. Given the poor treatment I received, I will be staying in a university club on my next solo trip to NYC. This Y is fairly priced; no bargain for the "amenities" you enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are no refrigerators for guests, so one should plan on eating on Lexington or Second Avenues. Ethnic diners offer value and authentic taste.

Review of Vanderbilt YMCA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wellborn
Family
Shreveport, LA
Aug 5, 2007

Hostel

The room was like a closet. It took us a couple of days to manage the small space. Hotel is not recommended for adults. It is only a place for hanging your hat. I will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It was close to most plays, grand central station and everthing if you didnot mind a short walk. Starbuck's coffee was just around the corner. Excellent location.

Review of Vanderbilt YMCA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
frequent hotel traveler
Single
California
Sep 6, 2011

worth YMCA

Front Desk Staff is rude. WI-FI only works in the hallway. Rooms are as big as a twin bed. Maintenance never take care of anything after 7 days the shower still did not work, 4 days with only one elevator. Check out time is at 11:00 not 12:00. the only good thing is the location but for sure is over prices for what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top