$127 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 19, 2015 Check-out: Jan 22, 2015

Vanderbilt YMCA

2 stars
224 East 47th Street, New York, NY 10017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
215 reviews
Great value

This was perfect for what I needed, just a place to sleep. It was clean, staff was very friendly... See full review

  • Erin from Chicago
  • Jan 1, 2014
Very good location for affordable price

Hostel is in great location, just a few blocks from Times Square for affordable price. No breakfast... See full review

  • Attila1
  • Nov 13, 2013
East Midtown budget hotel with free fitness center, Wi-Fi
This hotel provides value accommodations in a desirable, normally high-priced location. It's just the basics here. Rooms have beds and TVs, and guests share bathrooms. Valuable perks include free Wi-Fi and free use of the YMCA fitness facilities. The location puts guests on the east side of Midtown -- close to the United Nations and near Grand Central Terminal.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Complimentary use of the YMCA fitness facilities
  • Convenient to Grand Central, United Nations
Location

Fifth Avenue, Rockefeller Center and Grand Central Terminal all within walking distance from the hotel. Times Square and the Theater District are a longer walk or short cab ride away. 

Rooms

The 370 rooms come with either a set of bunk beds or one single bed. Rooms have TVs, air conditioning units and free Wi-Fi. Daily housekeeping service is provided. Guests share common bathrooms.

Features

Guests may use the YMCA fitness facilities free of charge.

Transportation
  • Grand Central Terminal (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • MTA Subway Grand Central – 42nd St. 4, 5, 6; 7; S lines (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • La Guardia Airport (8.9 mi/ 14.3 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (15.6 mi/ 25.1 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (16.8 mi/ 27 km)
Attractions
  • United Nations (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (0.3 mi /0.5 km)
  • Fifth Avenue (0.4 mi / 0.6 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.6 mi / 1 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Vanderbilt YMCA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Vanderbilt YMCA Rooms

Bunk
The room offers 1 Bunk Bed with upper and lower berth a color TV, air conditioning and daily. housekeeping.
Single
The room offers 1 Twin Bed with a color TV, air conditioning and daily housekeeping.

Amenities

  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • East Side: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.3 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.3 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Lever House: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • East Side: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.3 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.3 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Lever House: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.5 mi
  • International Building: 0.5 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.5 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.5 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.5 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.5 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.6 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.6 mi
  • Franklin D. Roosevelt Four Freedoms Park: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.6 mi
  • GE Building: 0.6 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.6 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.6 mi
  • University Club: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.6 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.6 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.6 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.6 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.6 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.7 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.7 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.7 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (215)

Ratings and reviews for Vanderbilt YMCA

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
215 out of 215
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Vanderbilt YMCA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vonnieb
Business
Mpls
Oct 22, 2012

Im content

This place is good for the value especially if you purchase on a travel site. It's 6 blocks from Times Square and a block or two from a subway. The rooms don't look extremely clean but they are not filthy either. It does suck having to share a bathroom and shower but they were a 4.5 on s scale to 10 in regards to cleanliness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vanderbilt YMCA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Julia MD
Business
Atlanta, GA
Oct 3, 2012

If you need to shower..., not the place for you

I chose the Y because it was close to the location of an interview I had the next day. They give you a code to the bathroom on your floor, but there was no one at the desk for my to talk to when it wouldn't work and when a bunch of Danes/Swedes had locked the door and wouldn't let anyone else in. Not good if you need to shower before an interview. I ended up using the shower in the lockerroom for the gym facilities because there was no one there for me to talk to. Not good... And dirty room to boot. If you don't have deadlines to meet and are on a budget, this is the place for you. If you like to shower, not the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Loew's movie theatre is only a few blocks away. Easy walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vanderbilt YMCA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
vanderbilt ymca room 574
Oct 2, 2012

I was here

The rooms were too small , but it was very cheap and it was clean, the vanderbilt is ok for a single guy in a weekend,not for family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vanderbilt YMCA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shurik
Business
pittsburgh
Sep 23, 2012

Al

The location is perfect, very close to Times Square If you are picky then choose another hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vanderbilt YMCA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mike's Endless Travels
Business
Erie, Colorado
Sep 2, 2012

You get what you pay for.

You cannot beat the location of the Vanderbilt YMCA. Room is small and basic. Shared bathrooms and showers are kept clean for the most part. Although I would recommend using the shower immediately after it is cleaned, as they only clean them once a day. Staff is always slow to respond and always seems to "reinvent the wheel" each time they perform a task. For the money, you get what you pay for and nothing more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vanderbilt YMCA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dannyhitman4
Business
Manhattan New York
Aug 5, 2012

NY Getaway

This hotel is just ok. Small rooms, no private restrooms. My flight was cancelled so I arrived late at this hotel with my reservations in hand and they told me that my reservations were cancelled since I didn't show up on time. Luckily we straightened the whole thing out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vanderbilt YMCA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MCCali
Business
California
Jul 23, 2012

Disgusting

I was in a crunch for $$. We stayed out of need, but it was a horrible experience. Dirty, rude staff and awful rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vanderbilt YMCA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike PT
Business
Buffalo, NY
Jun 26, 2012

Good value

The rooms are small, air conditioner is loud, but great value with included refrigerator and free internet. Great manhattan location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vanderbilt YMCA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
A Missing Link
Business
Greensboro, NC
Jun 22, 2012

Inexpensive, tiny room to spend a few hours

The late evening front desk guy was rude but otherwise the staff were nice. The room was extremely tiny but clean and the shared bathroom was convenient and also seemed clean. I asked for a nearby bathroom and had one right across the hall. I had no wait for either the toilet or shower. The room had a frig and TV but otherwise no extras - just bunk beds (other rooms may have just single bed) and a chest of drawers and window a/c. With the help of two benadryl I slept well. For those on a budget, the Vanderbilt YMCA is a good choice. I did not have time to check out the pool and fitness facility, but would have liked to use those. It helped that there were outlets for using a hairdryer and charging phone, computer, etc. Bring flip flops!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I didn't go to Macy's but was told it was nearby. If you're an art lover, take a subway or taxi to the Met or MoMa and spend the day!... I would only recommend the Vanderbilt YMCA to a friend who is as cheap as I am!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vanderbilt YMCA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LaLa88
Business
LA. CA
May 30, 2012

can't beat that price & location!!

A little creepy, but perfect location for me... and price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top