$107 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Vanderbilt YMCA

2 stars
View map of 224 East 47th Street, New York, NY 10017

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Vanderbilt YMCA

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
221 out of 221
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Vanderbilt YMCA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Harris
Business
Kansas city, KS
Aug 18, 2011

the staff is very bad and room is so small

Vanderbilt YMCA is a very awful hotel in New York City. Because the staff are very bad, they don't want to provide small help which they could do easily, they are unfriendly to any custom. The rooms are very small, even a chair or a bench is not available in the room. The location is very far from subway stations. It was nightmare experiences in the hotel. I will never live in the hotel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Vanderbilt YMCA is a very awful hotel in New York City. Because the reception staff are very bad, they don't want to provide even a small help which they could do it easily, they are unfriendly to any custom. The rooms are very small, even a chair or a bench is not available in the room. The location is very far from subway stations. It was nightmare experiences in the hotel. I will never live in the hotel in the future.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vanderbilt YMCA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ron H.
Business
Lowell, MA
Aug 17, 2011

Affordable at your own risk

One would think that this place would be a hostel when you check in with the front desk employee asking you for an ID or passport. The room I got was small and it was decent enough, affordable but it was bare. The bunk beds were so uncomfortable. I couldn't sleep at all. I was tossing and turning all night. You could feel the bed springs poking at you. The AC was weak. The TV had only 3 good channels when they offered about 20. There was no fridge. I mean I guess you get what you paid for, but this was disappointing. There are better places for the same amount with better amenities. If you don't mind sharing bathrooms and the showers, be my guest but privacy is thrown out the window. My gf had just showered, was getting dressed and the housekeeper just busted in to give us towels. She could of at least knocked. Thank God she was half dressed and not completely nude. I mean did she get trained that way! They had a microwave which was all the way downstairs. Kind of a hassle. The laundry room and vending machines only took quarters but there wasn't even a coin exchange machine. This experience was very disappointing. This was my first and last time there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

The subway is definitely cheaper. Taxi's are too expensive. Be prepared to walk around in a very crowded city. Watch out for driver's, they'll run you down even if you have the walking sign on.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vanderbilt YMCA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
barry
Business
Maryland, USA
Aug 13, 2011

bad experience

wireless network is not working. bad smell in room. bathroom is always occupied. airconditioner is noisy. people close doors with big noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vanderbilt YMCA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Glen Mills, PA
Aug 8, 2011

Good option

The location is good, isn't expensive and it's clean enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vanderbilt YMCA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MCCali
Business
Central Valley, CA
Aug 2, 2011

Disgustingly Dirty

This hotel isn't a hotel!!! It's like a hostel! They have bunkbed rooms and you have to share the restrooms and baths with other guest. That wounldn't have been so bad if the building hadn't been so old that it didn't have an A/C! The building was extremely hot and uncomfortable! Most of the staff where extremely rude and made you feel like any question you asked bothered them!!!! The rooms were dirty and small. Definately not going there again! Good thing I only stayed for 1 night, eewww!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vanderbilt YMCA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Jul 16, 2011

The just and necessary.

Excellent location and safe neighborhood. This hotel offers the right and necessary for the traveler who does not plan to spend much time in the hotel room. It's simple, clean towels and sheets every day and excellent cleaning service in the bathroom that is shared. If you just want to sleep and take a shower, this is the place to stay. I enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Grand Central Station. Very important.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vanderbilt YMCA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lehigh Valley, PA
Jul 14, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

Very basic accommodations, but the location was great. There were many international students staying there also so it could be noisy. The air conditioners in the room drowned out the outside noise. Great place to sty on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the United Nations

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vanderbilt YMCA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Argentina
Jul 11, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

The location is great, near all NYC atractions, most within walking distance. It is wonderful to be in Midtown Manhatthan, you can go walking to almost everywhere, Times Square, Empire State Building, UN Building, 5th Avenue, Rockefeller Center, Broadway, Central Park, Grand Central Station, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Just buy a ticket for the Hop on Hop off buses, you can travel all around NYC for few dollars, and you can get the Statue of Liberty and Empire State Building tickets included, for a few more dollars. It´s worth the price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vanderbilt YMCA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Jul 9, 2011

Great Place to Stay

Everything was nice. It was like being in the dorm from my college days. It was very clean. Strong wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vanderbilt YMCA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Annapolis, Maryland
Jul 8, 2011

"Y NOT?"

We came to NYC for my son to attend a class at Hunter College...each day we walked 1.4 miles enjoying the awesome huge architecture and ornate building designs. Enroute we stop for NYC's bagels and various cream cheese spreads. Across the street is a rather large water fall wall where we enjoyed our dinners. Early Birds can swim at 5am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

On third street North a fine little holistic burger place which has fruit smoothies...a little pricey, yet if you enjoy quality vs. quantity...this is the place to savor some fine food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top