$121 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Travel Inn

3 stars
515 West 42nd Street, New York, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
241 reviews
Excellent

Everything was perfect except no WI-FI. I'm originally from Makaysia and in Malaysia (developing... See full review

  • Abin
  • Oct 9, 2014
Fab hotel in fab location

Had seen other comments so knew/hoped we 'd made the right choice and we had. I cannot recommend... See full review

  • Pooks
  • Sep 7, 2014
Midtown Manhattan hotel close to the Jacob K Javits Convention Centre
The Travel Inn Hotel is located in midtown Manhattan close to the Jacob K Javits Convention Center which hosts many trade shows and conventions. The contemporary d�cor gives the hotel a sophisticated ambience. The hotel has a free garage, a swimming pool, a fitness center and tour desk to assist guests in booking tickets. The hotel was built in 1963 and has retained its sense of charm with rooms that have the feel of a more genteel past. The hotel has a business center with meeting room and a private voicemail service. Parking is also available at additional cost.
Reasons to stay
  • Located in midtown Manhattan close to the Jacob K Javits Conference Center and other attractions
  • Good facilities including fitness centre, swimming pool, business center and free garage
  • Comfortable and charming rooms with friendly staff
Travel Inn Hotel rooms
The Travel Inn Hotel has 160 rooms including those with king or double beds and a suite. The décor of the Travel Inn Hotel rooms is contemporary and comfortable. The solid wood furniture in the rooms and the curtains with pelmets have a vintage charm. All the rooms have flat-screen televisions and most have microwaves and refrigerators. Some also have outdoor terraces. The bathrooms have bath tubs, showers and Ecossential amenities. The swimming pool has life guards making it safer for children.
Things to do nearby
  • Jacob J Kavits Convention Centre (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Lincoln Centre (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Carnegie Hall (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

Travel Inn Rooms

Double
Rooms with 1 double bed include Cable/satellite TV, Video-game console, Pay movies, Air conditioning, Voice mail, Wake-up calls, Housekeeping, Extra towels, linens, Hair dryer, Iron/ironing board, Window opens, Clock radio, Desk.
Double Double
Rooms with 2 double beds include Cable/satellite TV, Video-game console, Pay movies, Air conditioning, Voice mail, Wake-up calls, Housekeeping, Extra towels, linens, Hair dryer, Iron/ironing board, Window opens, Clock radio, Desk.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New York Cruise Terminal-Manhattan Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.6 mi
  • Theater District: 0.6 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.6 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

None
The property does not have any on-site food and beverage facilities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (241)

Ratings and reviews for Travel Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 241
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pupsmom42
Business
Franklin, TN
Nov 24, 2014

Very nice hotel for fall NY trip.

As a solo NYC traveler, I do pay attention to the reviews of the hotels I book for my trips. The Travel Inn was perfect for all my needs. It was, by far, the quietest hotel I have stayed in while in the city. The only noise was briefly one weekend evening and it was no big deal. I felt comfortable walking in the area at night after the theater. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The mini-fridge and microwave were an added bonus, especially since the Food Emporium was on the next block. Would stay again, maybe when it's warmer to use the pool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
in city for the day
Business
Woodstock, NY
Nov 20, 2014

in New York City for a night

well-located, at least to Port Authority and Penn Station, somewhat shabby, but pefectly ok hotel. My room was on the large size for an inexpensive Manhattan hotel (and it was inexpensive because I booked it through this site in November, when apparently, the hotel rates are low). No coffee maker in room or lobby, but adjoining coffee shop opens at 6am. Internet costs $6 a day. You might be thrown by the fact that some of the rooms require you to walk through a parking garage to get to them. But all in all, not a bad place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
conflict
Business
Syracuse NY
Apr 7, 2014

For free I take

I use this hotel as it is reasonably close to the theater district, is fairly inexpensive & has free park yourself parking. However, I find that there is an odor in the place & I have a bit of difficulty with the steep step at the front & even the ramps by the garage. However, it is an OK value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go ro NYC & Co at 7th & 53rd for maps, guidebooks & even discounts on theater.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Once Girl
Business
Dallas, Texas
Aug 29, 2013

Very Nice!

This hotel is within walking distance of the theatre district and Times Square, which was absolutely pefrect for my visit. The surounding area also has plenty of places to eat and little shops. The hotel itself is very nice--the bed was very comfortable, and the room, particularly the bathroom, was nice and clean. The pool is lovely--I quite liked the little shaded area down at one end. To get internet in your room is $6 a day, which I thought was a tad steep, but then it worked very well, so I'm not complaining. My only issue was that the walls are on the thin side--not so much so to keep you from sleeping, but you can hear doors opening and closing,etc. All in all , it was a nice place, and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Teddy Angel
Business
Albany, NY
Jan 27, 2013

Acceptable For Sight Seeing in Manhattan

I didn't like that there was no thermostat in the room to control the heat, and that the water was not hot for bathing. Other wise, the room was OK/

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
drjaniemac
Business
Toms River, NJ
Jan 21, 2013

Travel Inn NYC

The Travel Inn is a hidden treasure. It has wonderful amenities including a fitness center, seasonal pool and a deli next door. Free parking is a plus. It is close to the theater district. Port Authority Bus Depot and Subway stations are just a short walk away from the front door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
johne doe
Business
selma, alabama
Nov 26, 2012

macy's thanksgiving day parade

Had no real complaints. Very good stay. Fan in the bathroom was loud but closed the door at bedtime and that solved the problem. Back-side was very quiet. Heard no street traffic. Rested real well. Will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Love to walk. Very good location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bfm 3529
Business
Minneapolis, Mn.
Oct 12, 2012

Not good

At best this is a 2 star hotel. It's six stories tall and the elevators were out for 24 hours, The Wi-Fi was weak to Non-Existent, totally off for 21 hours. I had a front room on the 5th floor and it was like sleeping on the sidewalk, the heat didn't work, the windows didn't stop outside noise, etc, etc. The only thing that was good was the parking. I would never recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful location, close to theatres and fine dining, but not in the middle of the hustle & bustle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jones23
Business
Columbia, SC, USA
Apr 2, 2012

Needs Work

Room was dimly lit, no heat, and the bathroom was small. Also the elevator seemed to always take it's sweet time and I couldn't connect to the internet which cost me $6.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top