$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Travel Inn

3 stars
515 West 42nd Street, New York, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
246 reviews
Could not have chosen better.

I booked this hotel because of it's location. I will admit that previous reviews had me worried (in... See full review

  • AlexxD
  • May 19, 2014
WonderfulStay

Talk about location location. This place is close to it all. Best of all youre in NYC city that... See full review

  • genesis82
  • Apr 21, 2014
Midtown Manhattan hotel close to the Jacob K Javits Convention Centre
The Travel Inn Hotel is located in midtown Manhattan close to the Jacob K Javits Convention Center which hosts many trade shows and conventions. The contemporary décor gives the hotel a sophisticated ambience. The hotel has a free garage, a swimming pool, a fitness center and tour desk to assist guests in booking tickets. The hotel was built in 1963 and has retained its sense of charm with rooms that have the feel of a more genteel past. The hotel has a business center with meeting room and a private voicemail service.
Reasons to stay
  • Located in midtown Manhattan close to the Jacob K Javits Conference Center and other attractions
  • Good facilities including fitness centre, swimming pool, business center and free garage
  • Comfortable and charming rooms with friendly staff
Travel Inn Hotel rooms
The Travel Inn Hotel has 160 rooms including those with king or double beds and a suite. The décor of the Travel Inn Hotel rooms is contemporary and comfortable. The solid wood furniture in the rooms and the curtains with pelmets have a vintage charm. All the rooms have flat-screen televisions and most have microwaves and refrigerators. Some also have outdoor terraces. The bathrooms have bath tubs, showers and Ecossential amenities. The swimming pool has life guards making it safer for children.
Things to do nearby
  • Jacob J Kavits Convention Centre (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Lincoln Centre (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Carnegie Hall (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

Hotel Map

40.7601 -73.9961
Area served
New York
Nearby airports
JFK Intl Airport, Laguardia, Newark Intl Airport
Area description
Ideally located in Midtown Manhattan, Three short blocks to Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, Minutes to all Broadway and Off Broadway Shows, Accessible to all major shopping areas, Close to Penn Station, Grand Central Station & Port Authority Bus Terminal.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travel Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Travel Inn Rooms

Double
Rooms with 1 double bed include Cable/satellite TV, Video-game console, Pay movies, Air conditioning, Voice mail, Wake-up calls, Housekeeping, Extra towels, linens, Hair dryer, Iron/ironing board, Window opens, Clock radio, Desk.
Double Double
Rooms with 2 double beds include Cable/satellite TV, Video-game console, Pay movies, Air conditioning, Voice mail, Wake-up calls, Housekeeping, Extra towels, linens, Hair dryer, Iron/ironing board, Window opens, Clock radio, Desk.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New York Cruise Terminal-Manhattan Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.6 mi
  • Theater District: 0.6 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.6 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

None
The property does not have any on-site food and beverage facilities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (246)

Ratings and reviews for Travel Inn

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
246 out of 246
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AlexxD
FL
May 19, 2014

Could not have chosen better.

I booked this hotel because of it's location. I will admit that previous reviews had me worried (in regards to staff and rooms) but all of that was completely erased when my friends and I stayed at the Travel Inn. First, the hotel staff was extremely accommodating throughout our stay. When our flight was delayed for five hours and we arrived close to 1am, the two times we called beforehand to warn them of our late arrival, they were understanding. When we finally arrived, they knew who we were and check-in was sweet and simple. The cleaning staff, she was a sweetheart and gave us extra towels when we asked for them. The front desk was even kind enough to print out our theatre tickets since we forgot to do it beforehand. Check-out was fast and simple and when we wanted to walk around the city before our night flight, staff allowed us to check our bags with the security officer. The room: I've been to NYC before and I remember being in a closet-size of a room and sharing it with three other people. The room that we stayed in was beyond comfortable and spacious. I will say that the many mirrors in the room made our stay extraordinary since it was mostly women. Television, microwave, and a minifridge was way more than expected. My friends and I were able to walk to Central Park, Times Square, & Broadway, without any use of the subway (even though the station is a few minutes away). Overall, thank you Travel Inn for being convenient and providing awesome service for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

CVS across the street makes for easy access to basic needs that one may have forgotten. Also, shopping in time square is about 12 minutes on foot.

Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jle4psu
Pennsylvania
Mar 4, 2013

Great location and FREE Parking

Will definitely stay here again. You come out of the Lincoln tunnel and within a few blocks are right at the hotel and the garage is right beside it - very easy!!! Staff was nice and the location was great for walking to theater district plus many restaurants around. Beds are not the most comfortable and the maid entered our room without knocking which we thought was strange but other than that, it was great for a NYC weekend. WiFi is $6 for 24 hrs which wasn't too bad (free is always better) but it was good for multiple devices. The free parking was great - beware thought the spaces are very tight so getting out takes several back and forths!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jskinny
Boston
May 20, 2013

Great stay

Everything was great, fast check in, free valet parking, clean room, friendly staff, no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't try to drive through the city

Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
genesis82
boston, ma
Apr 21, 2014

WonderfulStay

Talk about location location. This place is close to it all. Best of all youre in NYC city that never sleeps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dorothy Mel
Hartford, Connecticut
Aug 26, 2012

Excellent location

Love the location of the hotel. Perfect for people with cars. Free Parking!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lester R
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 17, 2013

Lester R

It doesn't get any better than this with regard location and value. All the shops, events and entrtainment in one location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mid Twenties Travellers
Montgomery, Alabama
Nov 18, 2013

Great Vacation

Great hotel for the price. The hotel staff was friendly. The hotel was clean. It's only a few blocks walk to most tourist attractions. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Biddy
Oxford
Oct 22, 2012

Great Location, good value for money

Hotel is just minutes away from Times Square. Several diners right on your doorstep. Staff friendly and helpful. Great value for money, room was a good size which is rare in the heart of New York, bathroom not a bad size, bed was very comfortable. Would make a return visit to this hotel and recommend to friends

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Woodbury Common Mall a must for designer gear. Massive outlet village. Bus trips operate from 42nd Street from varies vendors, price range from $30 to $42 well worth paying $30

Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BobJean
Lichfield, Staffordshire, UK
Dec 19, 2011

Great place to Stay

Great stay would recommend this hotel as a great location and great sized room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
M.A.D
Wales, UK.
Mar 8, 2013

Simply the Best

From the time we arrived the staff were very helpful. The hotel is just 10 minutes from Times Square and shopping , Maceys is a 20 minute walk with lots of good shops on the way.This is a very comfortable and clean hotel for the price. It has a tea and coffee station in the reception area which we found most useful as the weather was very cold. We made use of the local restaurants and were really suprised at the quality of food on offer. Would definatley stay here again and recommend it to anyone on a shopping/sightseeing trip to New York. It has everthing you could want , its clean, friendly and has comfortable beds, good size bathroom, fridge and microwave. What more do you need?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just step outside main door of hotel turn left and keep walking everything you need is there, from the hop on hop off buses, restuarants, shopping, Broadway, Central Station, Bryant Park, Its all a short walk away and you cant get lost. New york on a grid system of Streets.

Back to menu Return to top