$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Travel Inn

3 stars
View map of 515 West 42nd Street, New York, NY 10036

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
254 reviews
perfect trip excellent location

always stay here love it. could use better bedding -very hard bed and pillows. front desk could be... See full review

  • elaine t.
  • Apr 18, 2015
Great location & value.

An older property, but great location and value. Very clean and comfortable. See full review

  • Tollyw
  • Apr 17, 2015
Midtown Manhattan hotel close to the Jacob K Javits Convention Centre
The Travel Inn Hotel is located in midtown Manhattan close to the Jacob K Javits Convention Center which hosts many trade shows and conventions. The contemporary d�cor gives the hotel a sophisticated ambience. The hotel has a free garage, a swimming pool, a fitness center and tour desk to assist guests in booking tickets. The hotel was built in 1963 and has retained its sense of charm with rooms that have the feel of a more genteel past. The hotel has a business center with meeting room and a private voicemail service. Parking is also available at additional cost.
Reasons to stay
  • Located in midtown Manhattan close to the Jacob K Javits Conference Center and other attractions
  • Good facilities including fitness centre, swimming pool, business center and free garage
  • Comfortable and charming rooms with friendly staff
Travel Inn Hotel rooms
The Travel Inn Hotel has 160 rooms including those with king or double beds and a suite. The décor of the Travel Inn Hotel rooms is contemporary and comfortable. The solid wood furniture in the rooms and the curtains with pelmets have a vintage charm. All the rooms have flat-screen televisions and most have microwaves and refrigerators. Some also have outdoor terraces. The bathrooms have bath tubs, showers and Ecossential amenities. The swimming pool has life guards making it safer for children.
Things to do nearby
  • Jacob J Kavits Convention Centre (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Lincoln Centre (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Carnegie Hall (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travel Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Travel Inn Rooms

Double
Rooms with 1 double bed include Cable/satellite TV, Video-game console, Pay movies, Air conditioning, Voice mail, Wake-up calls, Housekeeping, Extra towels, linens, Hair dryer, Iron/ironing board, Window opens, Clock radio, Desk.
Double Double
Rooms with 2 double beds include Cable/satellite TV, Video-game console, Pay movies, Air conditioning, Voice mail, Wake-up calls, Housekeeping, Extra towels, linens, Hair dryer, Iron/ironing board, Window opens, Clock radio, Desk.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New York Cruise Terminal-Manhattan Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.6 mi
  • Theater District: 0.6 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.6 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

None
The property does not have any on-site food and beverage facilities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Travel Inn

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 254
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Michele M.
Business
Greenville
Mar 26, 2015

Girl's weekend

The hotel was nothing fancy, but it was well priced, clean, safe, comfortable, and conveniently located. Easy walking distance to Port Authority, Times Square and lots of great restaurants nearby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveler1200
Business
Woods Hole
Feb 23, 2015

Amazing value and loation

Great location near Times Square, with affordable parking located conveniently off the highway - a rarity for NYC! Staff were very helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Abin
Business
London
Oct 9, 2014

Excellent

Everything was perfect except no WI-FI. I'm originally from Makaysia and in Malaysia (developing country) we can provide wifi on the lobby free of charge, how come in New York I need to pay for wifi even though I'm in the hotel lobby. Require serious management input?????

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Smelly drain and undeveloped back road

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
olomildara
Business
miami florida
Sep 9, 2014

location is good.

over all it was ok. However a purse was stolen from our room. I purchased 9 purses at Canal street and 1 was missing. let them know they told me it was impossible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

hotel is in great location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PaMomto2
Business
Phila, PA
Aug 22, 2014

Great Location, Good Value

We were only staying one night, and I got a great deal. Located right near the theatre district, lots of restaurants close by, short walk to pretty much anywhere. Best way to get here if walking....go up 42nd street, right past 10th ave. It took us a couple of times going out of our way to figure that out. But really, for the money, it's a nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the drink specials during the off hours. $5 maragaritas, $3 beer on tap and $4 glasses of wine at various places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NY explorer
Business
Phoenix
Jul 13, 2014

Off Times Square hotel

OK location, really an off times square location. Not much north or south of it. Rooms are OK with minimal comforts. Price was good for NYC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anita Weezy
Business
Navan, Ontario
May 21, 2014

Great Time with Friends!

This hotel is only 3 block away from Time Square, lots of action and things to do! The BEST thing is your parking is FREE (included with the cost of your room)!!! We were there for four nights, had a blast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AlexxD
Business
FL
May 19, 2014

Could not have chosen better.

I booked this hotel because of it's location. I will admit that previous reviews had me worried (in regards to staff and rooms) but all of that was completely erased when my friends and I stayed at the Travel Inn. First, the hotel staff was extremely accommodating throughout our stay. When our flight was delayed for five hours and we arrived close to 1am, the two times we called beforehand to warn them of our late arrival, they were understanding. When we finally arrived, they knew who we were and check-in was sweet and simple. The cleaning staff, she was a sweetheart and gave us extra towels when we asked for them. The front desk was even kind enough to print out our theatre tickets since we forgot to do it beforehand. Check-out was fast and simple and when we wanted to walk around the city before our night flight, staff allowed us to check our bags with the security officer. The room: I've been to NYC before and I remember being in a closet-size of a room and sharing it with three other people. The room that we stayed in was beyond comfortable and spacious. I will say that the many mirrors in the room made our stay extraordinary since it was mostly women. Television, microwave, and a minifridge was way more than expected. My friends and I were able to walk to Central Park, Times Square, & Broadway, without any use of the subway (even though the station is a few minutes away). Overall, thank you Travel Inn for being convenient and providing awesome service for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

CVS across the street makes for easy access to basic needs that one may have forgotten. Also, shopping in time square is about 12 minutes on foot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
College Basketball Fan
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 26, 2013

Basketball Weekend

The room was clean and comfortable. Very close to Time Square and convient to the subway. Parking was a big bonus. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LindaPala
Business
Troy MI
Nov 21, 2013

Friendly, basic and Perfect for a quick visit.

NO COMPLAINTS. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The lobby was nice, the location is safe and convenient. There is a CVS and deli right next door. It's within walking distance of Times Square, Empire State Bldg. Broadway, all the major sites and close to a subway station. We did a 48 hour trip to see a play and NYC for the first time. I stayed in a double bed room with 2 other women, it was a little stuffy, the room could use an update and the mattresses and linens have seen better days. HOWEVER, The shower pressure was hard and hot, and the beds felt like clouds after walking for hours all over the city. For the price we paid we got more than our money's worth. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Use the hotel car service if coming in and out of LaGuardia airport. It was less than a cab for the 3 of us. The staff will give you a map and show you exactly how to get where you want to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top