$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Travel Inn

3 stars
View map of 515 West 42nd Street, New York, NY 10036

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
245 reviews
Great Location!

This is the 2nd time we stay. This time we were given a king size bed with a living room, microwave... See full review

  • genesis82
  • Jul 7, 2015
Awesome stay

You cannot go wrong with the Travel Inn. Big rooms for NYC standards, great location alongside... See full review

  • Hunter M.
  • Jun 17, 2015
The Travel Inn Hotel is located in midtown Manhattan close to the Jacob K Javits Convention Center which hosts many trade shows and conventions. The contemporary d�cor gives the hotel a sophisticated ambience. The hotel has a free garage, a swimming pool, a fitness center and tour desk to assist guests in booking tickets. The hotel was built in 1963 and has retained its sense of charm with rooms that have the feel of a more genteel past. The hotel has a business center with meeting room and a private voicemail service. Parking is also available at additional cost.
Rooms
The Travel Inn Hotel has 160 rooms including those with king or double beds and a suite. The décor of the Travel Inn Hotel rooms is contemporary and comfortable. The solid wood furniture in the rooms and the curtains with pelmets have a vintage charm. All the rooms have flat-screen televisions and most have microwaves and refrigerators. Some also have outdoor terraces. The bathrooms have bath tubs, showers and Ecossential amenities. The swimming pool has life guards making it safer for children.
Highlights
  • Located in midtown Manhattan close to the Jacob K Javits Conference Center and other attractions
  • Good facilities including fitness centre, swimming pool, business center and free garage
  • Comfortable and charming rooms with friendly staff
Nearby attractions
  • Jacob J Kavits Convention Centre (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Lincoln Centre (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Carnegie Hall (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travel Inn also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$107
4.2 / 5 90 reviews
★★★
$130
3.8 / 5 395 reviews
★★★
$125
4.1 / 5 212 reviews
★★★
$129
3.7 / 5 181 reviews
★★
$83
2.6 / 5 1,014 reviews
★★★
$114
3.6 / 5 1,363 reviews
★★★★
$155
4.0 / 5 210 reviews
★★★
$100
3.8 / 5 163 reviews
★★★
$140
3.3 / 5 244 reviews

Travel Inn Rooms

Double
Rooms with 1 double bed include Cable/satellite TV, Video-game console, Pay movies, Air conditioning, Voice mail, Wake-up calls, Housekeeping, Extra towels, linens, Hair dryer, Iron/ironing board, Window opens, Clock radio, Desk.
Double Double
Rooms with 2 double beds include Cable/satellite TV, Video-game console, Pay movies, Air conditioning, Voice mail, Wake-up calls, Housekeeping, Extra towels, linens, Hair dryer, Iron/ironing board, Window opens, Clock radio, Desk.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New York Cruise Terminal-Manhattan Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.6 mi
  • Theater District: 0.6 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.6 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

None
The property does not have any on-site food and beverage facilities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Travel Inn

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
245 out of 245
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
noneanyone
Family
none
May 7, 2014

mold and disrepair

The bathroom had mold between the tiles of the shower/tub. The sink was in disrepair and with mold growing on one side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bfm 3529
Single
Minneapolis, Mn.
Oct 12, 2012

Not good

At best this is a 2 star hotel. It's six stories tall and the elevators were out for 24 hours, The Wi-Fi was weak to Non-Existent, totally off for 21 hours. I had a front room on the 5th floor and it was like sleeping on the sidewalk, the heat didn't work, the windows didn't stop outside noise, etc, etc. The only thing that was good was the parking. I would never recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful location, close to theatres and fine dining, but not in the middle of the hustle & bustle.

Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mom Willing to try it
Family
Minneapolis MN
Oct 22, 2012

New York comes up to greet you in the drain

The room was dated but beds were clean. The chair in the room smelled like an armpit. The slow drain was really awful. As you showered the tub filled, and my husband had the drain spill upwards into the standing water of his shower. Nothing like NY coming up to greet you in the shower. The windows were crazy thin, and we were on the third floor. You could hear conversations on the street. Jack hammers went all night and no one slept. The staff was clear they were not going to help. Just looked up for your request and said they would send it up. The theme was a little nick and dime you. We had hoped to print some attraction tickets, but per min internet cost and per page print out charges detoured us. They did have the roll away bed we requested. They told me $15, unfortunately that was each night so that added up. That would have been nice to spend that on a nicer hotel. It was a bummer because the location was great. Next to times square, but in a neighborhood that allowed you to get some local feel. Also local stores with local prices on things like juice and a breakfast sandwich is great to have.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Around the corner stores have grills in the back that make a great breakfast sandwich for about $4. You line up with the locals. Don't get offended if certain people seemed to be getting served ahead of you. Turns out some staff don't speak English and were waiting on Spanish speakers letting the other guy serve me. Great way to eat for a great price.

Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Carons
Family
Connecticut
Nov 12, 2012

Leisure Trip

Good walking distance to Times Square, which was the focus of our trip. Could check the luggage in the security area of the garage. Hotel staff was not friendly, had to walk through a parking garage to get to elevator. Room was not clean - stains all over the blankets, plastic tags from previous guests on the floor, tiny bathroom with poor drainage in tub and cracked porcelin. Very thin walls so you could hear the conversations in the adjoining rooms. Refrigerator in the room did not cool. No way to adjust the stifling heat in the room. Yes, you get what you pay for, but for $277 not worth the "bargain."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
joanbarbara
Family
travel inn
Dec 8, 2012

think before you ask

This was not good---judging from my other new york experiences this was too too much-----bathroom tiny!!!!! one chair for 4 people-----no coffee in the morning!!!!!!!! had to ask for bath towels for 4 and glasses as well====my part of the hotel connected to the parking area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
klutchjunerobbie
Couples
new york
Jan 23, 2013

horrible cockroach infested hotel

what a horrible nitemare of a place!!! woke up to use bathroom in middle of the nite only to find a 3 in cockroach in bathroom i killed it an took dwn to front desk they say oh we never had this problem so went back to room to pack up an looked under bed had roach traps under both beds an under heating system...hmmm thought they didnt have a problem?? so now i risk bringing them back home...the emplyoyee offered nothing to take care of this matter..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ElkaLee
Family
Philadelphia Pa
Mar 10, 2013

Not Worth the price

We stayed here , on 3/09/2013 . Upon checkin , we entered our room , to find it was freezing in there with no heat . We went to the front desk , and they said it has to be a certain temp outside for the heat to be on . After a night out on the city , we came back and it was still freezing in there . We had to lay under the blankets , with our coats on . I once again called front desk , and the guy responded with it was 55 out today , you don't need heat . It was about 30 in our room with no hot water . He said if we want to be warm , than wear a coat . He said the heat would be on at 11 pm . This was at 10:30 at night when it was 37 out . I spent 3 hours searching the city for a portable heater . Not how i planned to spend my night . We woke up in the morning to find out that the power to our room was out . So on top of no heat , or hot water we now had no power . What a nightmare . The maid did not clean the room too well , since there was empty candy wrappers on the floor . There was dust beside the fridge and microwave . I would not suggest going to this hotel . It's a whole lot of hassle , for nothing really .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hot Chip Show Guy
Friends
Albany, NY
Apr 11, 2013

Wouldn't recommend a stay

After reading several reviews here, I knew I was taking a chance with the Travel Inn. 3 friends and I were staying in NYC for the night, seeing a show at Roseland Ballroom and we were looking for somewhere relatively cheap near Times Square. We found the travel in for $160, and when we considered that they had free parking, it seemed like a great deal. The hotel was fine, clean fairly nice lobby, relatively friendly staff, the elevator was clean but smelled strongly of cleaning products. The room looked fine when we got in, but within the first 10 minutes we realized the toilet wouldn't flush and we had to get an attendant to come up, who had to get a plummer, and it took over a half hour. While we were waiting we kept getting wiffs of what smelled like urine coming from the a/c. We left for the show, slept the night, and woke up smelling the urine scent even stronger. Went to take a shower and it was nearly impossible to get water that wasn't either scalding hot or ice cold. The water pressure was terrible, basically a dribble coming out of the shower, and when you ran the sink at the same time the shower basically stopped. Overall I really can't recommend it. We were basically just looking for a place to sleep, not spending almost any time in the room, but when you wake up to the smell of urine and you take a terrible shower, it's just not worth getting a cheap room. Look somewhere else, pay a little more for a decent shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAD
Family
Miami, FL
Jul 28, 2011

Bad

Bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gatekeeper1906
Couples
Manassas Va
Jul 27, 2011

My stay in the Big Apple

My stay at the Travel Inn was HORRIBLE It was the worse Hotel I have ever stayed at. I do not recommend this hotel to anybody. The rooms were old the air barely worked. The service was bad at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top