$125 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Travel Inn

3 stars
515 West 42nd Street, New York, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
240 reviews
Excellent

Everything was perfect except no WI-FI. I'm originally from Makaysia and in Malaysia (developing... See full review

  • Abin
  • Oct 9, 2014
Fab hotel in fab location

Had seen other comments so knew/hoped we 'd made the right choice and we had. I cannot recommend... See full review

  • Pooks
  • Sep 7, 2014
Midtown Manhattan hotel close to the Jacob K Javits Convention Centre
The Travel Inn Hotel is located in midtown Manhattan close to the Jacob K Javits Convention Center which hosts many trade shows and conventions. The contemporary d�cor gives the hotel a sophisticated ambience. The hotel has a free garage, a swimming pool, a fitness center and tour desk to assist guests in booking tickets. The hotel was built in 1963 and has retained its sense of charm with rooms that have the feel of a more genteel past. The hotel has a business center with meeting room and a private voicemail service. Parking is also available at additional cost.
Reasons to stay
  • Located in midtown Manhattan close to the Jacob K Javits Conference Center and other attractions
  • Good facilities including fitness centre, swimming pool, business center and free garage
  • Comfortable and charming rooms with friendly staff
Travel Inn Hotel rooms
The Travel Inn Hotel has 160 rooms including those with king or double beds and a suite. The décor of the Travel Inn Hotel rooms is contemporary and comfortable. The solid wood furniture in the rooms and the curtains with pelmets have a vintage charm. All the rooms have flat-screen televisions and most have microwaves and refrigerators. Some also have outdoor terraces. The bathrooms have bath tubs, showers and Ecossential amenities. The swimming pool has life guards making it safer for children.
Things to do nearby
  • Jacob J Kavits Convention Centre (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Lincoln Centre (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Carnegie Hall (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

Hotel Map

40.7601 -73.9961
Area served
New York
Nearby airports
JFK Intl Airport, Laguardia, Newark Intl Airport
Area description
Ideally located in Midtown Manhattan, Three short blocks to Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, Minutes to all Broadway and Off Broadway Shows, Accessible to all major shopping areas, Close to Penn Station, Grand Central Station & Port Authority Bus Terminal.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travel Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Travel Inn Rooms

Double
Rooms with 1 double bed include Cable/satellite TV, Video-game console, Pay movies, Air conditioning, Voice mail, Wake-up calls, Housekeeping, Extra towels, linens, Hair dryer, Iron/ironing board, Window opens, Clock radio, Desk.
Double Double
Rooms with 2 double beds include Cable/satellite TV, Video-game console, Pay movies, Air conditioning, Voice mail, Wake-up calls, Housekeeping, Extra towels, linens, Hair dryer, Iron/ironing board, Window opens, Clock radio, Desk.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New York Cruise Terminal-Manhattan Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.6 mi
  • Theater District: 0.6 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.6 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

None
The property does not have any on-site food and beverage facilities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (240)

Ratings and reviews for Travel Inn

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
240 out of 240
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wangbos
Business
Syracuse
Nov 19, 2012

Great Hotel

Great hotel, great location. I am here for FRM exam. Perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jskinny
Business
Boston
May 20, 2013

Great stay

Everything was great, fast check in, free valet parking, clean room, friendly staff, no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't try to drive through the city

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debbs
Business
Northamptonshire
May 8, 2013

Well what a week...

We had a fab week my husband and I in NYC and it was helped by using this hotel as our base, although we took our own kettle for hot drinks, it does have a microwave and full size fridge available. It is also just around the corner from Hells Kitchen area where we had various meals which were all good especially West Side Steakhouse. Room clean, tidy and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
YvonneTrudel
Business
New York, NY
Apr 21, 2013

We had an amazing stay!

Thank you so much for making our first time in New York an amazing time. The location was perfect didn't have to worry about my truck because it was in a safe remote area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mikey T.
Business
Ohio
Apr 14, 2013

Short walk to Times Square.

Room looked a little out of date, but it had a flatscreen, internet access cost $6, no biggie. Great thing was how it was such a short walk to times square, it takes less than 10 minutes to walk there. Free parking was nice, but be careful if you have a large vehicle because its kind of small. True Manhattan experience right out your window.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next door there is a deli, we ate breakfast there 2 days, for about $5 a person.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hot Chip Show Guy
Business
Albany, NY
Apr 11, 2013

Wouldn't recommend a stay

After reading several reviews here, I knew I was taking a chance with the Travel Inn. 3 friends and I were staying in NYC for the night, seeing a show at Roseland Ballroom and we were looking for somewhere relatively cheap near Times Square. We found the travel in for $160, and when we considered that they had free parking, it seemed like a great deal. The hotel was fine, clean fairly nice lobby, relatively friendly staff, the elevator was clean but smelled strongly of cleaning products. The room looked fine when we got in, but within the first 10 minutes we realized the toilet wouldn't flush and we had to get an attendant to come up, who had to get a plummer, and it took over a half hour. While we were waiting we kept getting wiffs of what smelled like urine coming from the a/c. We left for the show, slept the night, and woke up smelling the urine scent even stronger. Went to take a shower and it was nearly impossible to get water that wasn't either scalding hot or ice cold. The water pressure was terrible, basically a dribble coming out of the shower, and when you ran the sink at the same time the shower basically stopped. Overall I really can't recommend it. We were basically just looking for a place to sleep, not spending almost any time in the room, but when you wake up to the smell of urine and you take a terrible shower, it's just not worth getting a cheap room. Look somewhere else, pay a little more for a decent shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AMKA
Business
Akron, Ohio
Apr 10, 2013

noise

room window was next to street and you can hear lots of noise it was hard to sleep, should get difrent room on other side of hotel and there was no aircondition

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sc loves cc
Business
Saratoga Springs, NY
Apr 5, 2013

amazing deal for NYC

We really enjoyed our stay here. The room was big with two double beds. The bathroom was good size and the entire room was very clean. I am used to a softer mattress but it was ok. There was a flat screen tv, refrigerator and microwave. I wish there was a coffee maker also but... The price was fantastic and it included FREE yes I said FREE parking! It was secured also. The hotel was easy to find from the Lincoln Tunnel and easy to get back to the tunnel going home. Times Square is only a few blocks away and the hotel is surrounded by wonderful restaurants. This was our first over night stay in NYC and I am thankful it was so great. I will surely tell my friends about this hotel and we will be staying there anytime visiting the city. Thanks for a good time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go next door to Broadway Deli and Bagel. We had a great breakfast for a very reasonable price. We also went to the Galaxy Diner two blocks away for lunch and we found great food for a fair price!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AF from Boston
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 1, 2013

Great location, good service, large rooms

For visiting Manhattan, this hotel has a great location (within walking distance to Times Square, many Broadway venues, and the Empire State Building). Bedrooms are larger than most Manhattan hotels and there is even a pool. Parking is free and the staff are friendly and helpful. For a great breakfast, try the diner between 42nd and 43rd on 9th Avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lasong
Business
Bos, MA
Mar 26, 2013

nice hotel for the price

Hotel was by 9th street, safe area, police station across the street. The room was clean, bed ok. For a New York city budget hotel, the room was larger than expected. hear everything on the hallway. I would stay again for the price of $140.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spalady5
Business
Yorkshire United Kingdom
Mar 25, 2013

Good

Enjoyed our stay there we had a clean comfortable room a little to warm and rather noisy as we were on the front but would stay there again Staff on the front desk were very helpful and the housekeepers were very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of places to eat round Time Square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top