$160 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Travel Inn

3 stars
515 West 42nd Street, New York, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
290 reviews
Best kept secret in NYC

Been coming to this hotel for over 25 years.and have seen it grow better every year. On the outside... See full review

  • Larry the traveling guy
  • Aug 1, 2014
Great Hotel!!!!

I totally enjoyed this hotel. It was just a few blocks from Time Square. and not that far from... See full review

  • Nanits
  • Jul 14, 2014
Midtown Manhattan hotel close to the Jacob K Javits Convention Centre
The Travel Inn Hotel is located in midtown Manhattan close to the Jacob K Javits Convention Center which hosts many trade shows and conventions. The contemporary d�cor gives the hotel a sophisticated ambience. The hotel has a free garage, a swimming pool, a fitness center and tour desk to assist guests in booking tickets. The hotel was built in 1963 and has retained its sense of charm with rooms that have the feel of a more genteel past. The hotel has a business center with meeting room and a private voicemail service. Parking is also available at additional cost.
Reasons to stay
  • Located in midtown Manhattan close to the Jacob K Javits Conference Center and other attractions
  • Good facilities including fitness centre, swimming pool, business center and free garage
  • Comfortable and charming rooms with friendly staff
Travel Inn Hotel rooms
The Travel Inn Hotel has 160 rooms including those with king or double beds and a suite. The décor of the Travel Inn Hotel rooms is contemporary and comfortable. The solid wood furniture in the rooms and the curtains with pelmets have a vintage charm. All the rooms have flat-screen televisions and most have microwaves and refrigerators. Some also have outdoor terraces. The bathrooms have bath tubs, showers and Ecossential amenities. The swimming pool has life guards making it safer for children.
Things to do nearby
  • Jacob J Kavits Convention Centre (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Lincoln Centre (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Carnegie Hall (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

Hotel Map

40.7601 -73.9961
Area served
New York
Nearby airports
JFK Intl Airport, Laguardia, Newark Intl Airport
Area description
Ideally located in Midtown Manhattan, Three short blocks to Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, Minutes to all Broadway and Off Broadway Shows, Accessible to all major shopping areas, Close to Penn Station, Grand Central Station & Port Authority Bus Terminal.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travel Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Travel Inn Rooms

Double
Rooms with 1 double bed include Cable/satellite TV, Video-game console, Pay movies, Air conditioning, Voice mail, Wake-up calls, Housekeeping, Extra towels, linens, Hair dryer, Iron/ironing board, Window opens, Clock radio, Desk.
Double Double
Rooms with 2 double beds include Cable/satellite TV, Video-game console, Pay movies, Air conditioning, Voice mail, Wake-up calls, Housekeeping, Extra towels, linens, Hair dryer, Iron/ironing board, Window opens, Clock radio, Desk.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New York Cruise Terminal-Manhattan Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.6 mi
  • Theater District: 0.6 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.6 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

None
The property does not have any on-site food and beverage facilities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (290)

Ratings and reviews for Travel Inn

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
290 out of 290
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Biddy
Oxford
Oct 22, 2012

Great Location, good value for money

Hotel is just minutes away from Times Square. Several diners right on your doorstep. Staff friendly and helpful. Great value for money, room was a good size which is rare in the heart of New York, bathroom not a bad size, bed was very comfortable. Would make a return visit to this hotel and recommend to friends

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Woodbury Common Mall a must for designer gear. Massive outlet village. Bus trips operate from 42nd Street from varies vendors, price range from $30 to $42 well worth paying $30

Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
zunge
Pittsburgh, PA
Mar 17, 2013

"Close to time square" is the only good point

Room is smelly. I did not find bed bugs, but the chair is covered by cloth, which is extremely dirty. I got infected after I sit on it during the night. There is AmTrak trails below the building, huge noise when trains come and go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr Value Traveler
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 15, 2013

Convenience and value

Clean, convenient to the Lincoln Tunnel and Midtown, quiet, free parking + helpful staff = GREAT VALUE. The Travel Inn not the Ritz, and doesn't pretend to be. It was a great value for a midtown hotel, thank you for a good night's sleep!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
QQandLydia
Duluth, Georgia
Mar 11, 2013

Couple getaway

Good location and free parking! But the stuff frond desk was mean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ElkaLee
Philadelphia Pa
Mar 10, 2013

Not Worth the price

We stayed here , on 3/09/2013 . Upon checkin , we entered our room , to find it was freezing in there with no heat . We went to the front desk , and they said it has to be a certain temp outside for the heat to be on . After a night out on the city , we came back and it was still freezing in there . We had to lay under the blankets , with our coats on . I once again called front desk , and the guy responded with it was 55 out today , you don't need heat . It was about 30 in our room with no hot water . He said if we want to be warm , than wear a coat . He said the heat would be on at 11 pm . This was at 10:30 at night when it was 37 out . I spent 3 hours searching the city for a portable heater . Not how i planned to spend my night . We woke up in the morning to find out that the power to our room was out . So on top of no heat , or hot water we now had no power . What a nightmare . The maid did not clean the room too well , since there was empty candy wrappers on the floor . There was dust beside the fridge and microwave . I would not suggest going to this hotel . It's a whole lot of hassle , for nothing really .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MCCRick
Okemos, MI
Mar 9, 2013

Good Value and Clean

We arrived early (10am) and check in wasn't till 3. We were given a ticket to park our car in the garage (free parking!) and kept our luggage in the car while we walked down the street to have lunch and explore the area. When we checked in we were assigned a room in the back of the hotel (3rd floor). It was smallish but adequate. The bed was comfortable and the room was nice and warm. There was a refrigerator and microwave but we ordered in supper from room service (which actually comes from a great little restaurant down the street). WIFI is not free. $6 a day. Get the code from the front desk. It's changed daily at noon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Theater Diner is a great little restaurant with reasonable prices and a great breakfast menu. Their regular menu is good too!

Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rick the Chef
Tampa, Fl
Mar 8, 2013

Cool

The hotel was in close proximity of time square and that made it easy access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
M.A.D
Wales, UK.
Mar 8, 2013

Simply the Best

From the time we arrived the staff were very helpful. The hotel is just 10 minutes from Times Square and shopping , Maceys is a 20 minute walk with lots of good shops on the way.This is a very comfortable and clean hotel for the price. It has a tea and coffee station in the reception area which we found most useful as the weather was very cold. We made use of the local restaurants and were really suprised at the quality of food on offer. Would definatley stay here again and recommend it to anyone on a shopping/sightseeing trip to New York. It has everthing you could want , its clean, friendly and has comfortable beds, good size bathroom, fridge and microwave. What more do you need?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just step outside main door of hotel turn left and keep walking everything you need is there, from the hop on hop off buses, restuarants, shopping, Broadway, Central Station, Bryant Park, Its all a short walk away and you cant get lost. New york on a grid system of Streets.

Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jle4psu
Pennsylvania
Mar 4, 2013

Great location and FREE Parking

Will definitely stay here again. You come out of the Lincoln tunnel and within a few blocks are right at the hotel and the garage is right beside it - very easy!!! Staff was nice and the location was great for walking to theater district plus many restaurants around. Beds are not the most comfortable and the maid entered our room without knocking which we thought was strange but other than that, it was great for a NYC weekend. WiFi is $6 for 24 hrs which wasn't too bad (free is always better) but it was good for multiple devices. The free parking was great - beware thought the spaces are very tight so getting out takes several back and forths!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EddieCN
Bosotn
Feb 27, 2013

Not bad

It's basically acceptable besides it took a while for me to check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carmen Waldo Sandiego
Pittsburgh, PA
Feb 26, 2013

Happy with my stay

Stayed for one night. Hotel was walking distance to Times Square and had FREE parking. You can't beat that. Had a small gym with modern equipment. There is a night club across the street so it was a little loud until 4am, but nothing really to complain about. Nothing a TV couldn't drown out. I'd stay there again. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Stayed there while in NYC to see the Colbert Report. Was able to walk from the studio to hotel in 12 short blocks.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search