$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

Travel Inn

3 stars
View map of 515 West 42nd Street, New York, NY 10036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Travel Inn

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
251 out of 251
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Biddy
Oxford
Oct 22, 2012

Great Location, good value for money

Hotel is just minutes away from Times Square. Several diners right on your doorstep. Staff friendly and helpful. Great value for money, room was a good size which is rare in the heart of New York, bathroom not a bad size, bed was very comfortable. Would make a return visit to this hotel and recommend to friends

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Woodbury Common Mall a must for designer gear. Massive outlet village. Bus trips operate from 42nd Street from varies vendors, price range from $30 to $42 well worth paying $30

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Unlcle Tour Guide
Business
Syracuse
Jul 1, 2013

Great Value Great Location Great Service

Our family did a weekend in the City to see a show and some sites. Easy to get and easy to get out of the city. ALL STAFF were very nice and very accomodating. We had three rooms and they got us all on the same floor very close. Parking is right there which made it simple. This is not a 5 star hotel, but the service is certainly 5 star. Hotel is located just blocks from Times Square and the Theater District. I will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Feli
Business
Irvine, CA, USA
Jun 15, 2013

so-so

It has a good location within walking distance of Times Square, but for the price, I think it left A LOT to be desired. There was no lobby to speak of other than a couple of chairs, and when we did approach the desk with a cup of Starbucks, they told us we would have to drink our beverages outside as no food or drinks were allowed inside. One good thing was, in spite of the noon check-out, they allowed us to leave our bags and packages in a secure room so we could spend more time in the City without having to lug our bags around. I think it's a good deal if you have a car, which we didn't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Big Snake
Business
Toronto, Canada
Jun 13, 2013

It wasn't a bad stay afterall.

Location-wise, it's perfect if you wanted to stay close to the Port Authority bus terminal, however it's a little far away from the attractions in walking distance. The room we stayed, in general, it's clean except that we found a dead bug on the pillow cover. We were sure if that's bed bug but that just freaked us out. We did not try using the pool and we had not been seeing anyone using the pool. Hair dryer, fridge and a microwave are included. The hair dryer is a bit dirty though it's functional. Afterall, it wasn't a bad stay at all knowing the fact that this is a 3-star hotel and NYC hotels are all expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

This hotel is close to the Port Authority Bus Terminal and it's a little away from the attractions and so in a way, it's comparatively quiet neighborhood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zzzeni
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Jun 11, 2013

Great downtown location. Not bad for the price. If you want fancy, you pay extra somewhere else...

The rooms were clean, the staff was very friendly and the location was excelled - blocks (minutes) away from Times Square. Really only spent time in the room to shower and sleep, but for the money we saved it was worth the "down-grade" to a less "fancy" hotel in NYC. Not a bad experience at all, but if you want to really "enjoy" your hotel room - you'll have to pay a lot more and stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rich435
Business
Cincinnati
Jun 7, 2013

Overnight trip to NYC

Very clean. Reasonably priced. Within walking distance of Times Square (under 1 mile). Free parking!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bikers in Boston
Business
Boston, Massachusetts, Vereinigte Staaten
Jun 1, 2013

Good value with free parking

Room was clean and relatively quiet in a great location, short walking distance to a lot of major attractions in Manhattan. The free parking garage is awesome and accessible at all times, that's a huge advantage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Goldwingers
Business
England, UK
May 28, 2013

Good Housekeeping

The hotel is well situated and close to Times Square (short walk away). The room was very clean, comfortable and well equiped with microwave, fridge, ironing board and iron, Ice bucket. There was a good ice machine on the 3rd floor. Towels changed daily. Would recommend to anyone for a good clean hotel. Not particularly modern, but the Staff were friendly and efficient at all times. A very enjoyable stay at the Travel Inn. The hotel recommended the 'Theatre Row Diner' and this was very pleasant, good homecooked food and well run, also very reasonable prices. Well worth a try. Best wishes to all at the 'Travel Inn'. Thank you for a lovely stay in New York. The Richards Family(4)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
puplan
Business
Gurnee, Illinois
May 27, 2013

Yes, it was relatively inexpensive, but...

It is a bare-bones experience with some small details missing (no hook on bathroom doors) and bigger accidents (leaking AC unit resulted in a huge wet spot on the carpet, which was not remedied by the staff)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stoogefan
Business
Rochester, NY
May 26, 2013

quick trip to nyc

good location and decent for the price. other than the mattresses being more like a sheet of plywood it wasn't too bad. A good nights sleep would've made the trip much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lilmuchan
Business
San Antonio, Texas
May 21, 2013

Awesome Stay

The best thing about this hotel was it's amazing location. it was only about a fifteen minute walk from time square. The hotel itself was clean and the staff was so friendly. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top