$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 4, 2015

Travel Inn

3 stars
View map of 515 West 42nd Street, New York, NY 10036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Travel Inn

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
262 out of 262
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Katybrown
Business
Bristol, England
Aug 28, 2013

Great location for exploring NY

Travel Inn on 42nd Street is a great location from which to explore NYC. The hotel itself is clean and serviceable, free safety deposit facilities at 24 hour reception. Although you have a microwave and full fridge in your room, there are no coffee/tea facilities. Our room was well decorated, comfortable beds, iron and ironing board, hair dryer in small, shower/bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Best Grandma
Business
Boston
Aug 4, 2013

Location

located in a safe area, near times square and broadway. Multiple places to eat in the area in all price ranges. The room was small but clean and the bed was very comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

nice breakfast place next door

Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lecidex
Business
Delaware
Jul 15, 2013

Great locale with FREE parking

I was actually surprised at this hotel. Considering the price for downtown Manhattan, I didn't have too high expectations. No problem checking in, no problem getting parked (which is FREE), pool, room was adequate and a lot of sites within walking distance. I would stay here again and highly recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super4
Business
Lvl
Jul 12, 2013

NY Trip

The location was perfect. It was close all the attractions. The best thing about this hotel was that it had free parking. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
seansun
Business
New Hampshire
Jul 8, 2013

Fun weekend away

Perfect for weekend stay! Free parking included is great we could park early and leave the car late after check out. Nice clean room and lobby, great location, close walk to Times Square a plus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jacques V.
Business
Montreal Quebec Canada
Jul 6, 2013

Third stay and looking forward to come back

As always we were very satisfied with this hotel. Parking, pool, best location on 42me and 10th ave. so many restaurants around and Time Square at a stone throw... What else could be expected at this price (below 200$1 per day) ... Meanwhile, Room 414 had internet problems... too far from the router I think since it worked in the corridor...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Unlcle Tour Guide
Business
Syracuse
Jul 1, 2013

Great Value Great Location Great Service

Our family did a weekend in the City to see a show and some sites. Easy to get and easy to get out of the city. ALL STAFF were very nice and very accomodating. We had three rooms and they got us all on the same floor very close. Parking is right there which made it simple. This is not a 5 star hotel, but the service is certainly 5 star. Hotel is located just blocks from Times Square and the Theater District. I will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Feli
Business
Irvine, CA, USA
Jun 15, 2013

so-so

It has a good location within walking distance of Times Square, but for the price, I think it left A LOT to be desired. There was no lobby to speak of other than a couple of chairs, and when we did approach the desk with a cup of Starbucks, they told us we would have to drink our beverages outside as no food or drinks were allowed inside. One good thing was, in spite of the noon check-out, they allowed us to leave our bags and packages in a secure room so we could spend more time in the City without having to lug our bags around. I think it's a good deal if you have a car, which we didn't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Big Snake
Business
Toronto, Canada
Jun 13, 2013

It wasn't a bad stay afterall.

Location-wise, it's perfect if you wanted to stay close to the Port Authority bus terminal, however it's a little far away from the attractions in walking distance. The room we stayed, in general, it's clean except that we found a dead bug on the pillow cover. We were sure if that's bed bug but that just freaked us out. We did not try using the pool and we had not been seeing anyone using the pool. Hair dryer, fridge and a microwave are included. The hair dryer is a bit dirty though it's functional. Afterall, it wasn't a bad stay at all knowing the fact that this is a 3-star hotel and NYC hotels are all expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

This hotel is close to the Port Authority Bus Terminal and it's a little away from the attractions and so in a way, it's comparatively quiet neighborhood.

Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zzzeni
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Jun 11, 2013

Great downtown location. Not bad for the price. If you want fancy, you pay extra somewhere else...

The rooms were clean, the staff was very friendly and the location was excelled - blocks (minutes) away from Times Square. Really only spent time in the room to shower and sleep, but for the money we saved it was worth the "down-grade" to a less "fancy" hotel in NYC. Not a bad experience at all, but if you want to really "enjoy" your hotel room - you'll have to pay a lot more and stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top