$140 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Travel Inn

3 stars
515 West 42nd Street, New York, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
246 reviews
Could not have chosen better.

I booked this hotel because of it's location. I will admit that previous reviews had me worried (in... See full review

  • AlexxD
  • May 19, 2014
WonderfulStay

Talk about location location. This place is close to it all. Best of all youre in NYC city that... See full review

  • genesis82
  • Apr 21, 2014
Midtown Manhattan hotel close to the Jacob K Javits Convention Centre
The Travel Inn Hotel is located in midtown Manhattan close to the Jacob K Javits Convention Center which hosts many trade shows and conventions. The contemporary décor gives the hotel a sophisticated ambience. The hotel has a free garage, a swimming pool, a fitness center and tour desk to assist guests in booking tickets. The hotel was built in 1963 and has retained its sense of charm with rooms that have the feel of a more genteel past. The hotel has a business center with meeting room and a private voicemail service.
Reasons to stay
  • Located in midtown Manhattan close to the Jacob K Javits Conference Center and other attractions
  • Good facilities including fitness centre, swimming pool, business center and free garage
  • Comfortable and charming rooms with friendly staff
Travel Inn Hotel rooms
The Travel Inn Hotel has 160 rooms including those with king or double beds and a suite. The décor of the Travel Inn Hotel rooms is contemporary and comfortable. The solid wood furniture in the rooms and the curtains with pelmets have a vintage charm. All the rooms have flat-screen televisions and most have microwaves and refrigerators. Some also have outdoor terraces. The bathrooms have bath tubs, showers and Ecossential amenities. The swimming pool has life guards making it safer for children.
Things to do nearby
  • Jacob J Kavits Convention Centre (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Lincoln Centre (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Carnegie Hall (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

Hotel Map

40.7601 -73.9961
Area served
New York
Nearby airports
JFK Intl Airport, Laguardia, Newark Intl Airport
Area description
Ideally located in Midtown Manhattan, Three short blocks to Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, Minutes to all Broadway and Off Broadway Shows, Accessible to all major shopping areas, Close to Penn Station, Grand Central Station & Port Authority Bus Terminal.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travel Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Travel Inn Rooms

Double
Rooms with 1 double bed include Cable/satellite TV, Video-game console, Pay movies, Air conditioning, Voice mail, Wake-up calls, Housekeeping, Extra towels, linens, Hair dryer, Iron/ironing board, Window opens, Clock radio, Desk.
Double Double
Rooms with 2 double beds include Cable/satellite TV, Video-game console, Pay movies, Air conditioning, Voice mail, Wake-up calls, Housekeeping, Extra towels, linens, Hair dryer, Iron/ironing board, Window opens, Clock radio, Desk.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New York Cruise Terminal-Manhattan Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.6 mi
  • Theater District: 0.6 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.6 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

None
The property does not have any on-site food and beverage facilities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (246)

Ratings and reviews for Travel Inn

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
246 out of 246
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Once Girl
Dallas, Texas
Aug 29, 2013

Very Nice!

This hotel is within walking distance of the theatre district and Times Square, which was absolutely pefrect for my visit. The surounding area also has plenty of places to eat and little shops. The hotel itself is very nice--the bed was very comfortable, and the room, particularly the bathroom, was nice and clean. The pool is lovely--I quite liked the little shaded area down at one end. To get internet in your room is $6 a day, which I thought was a tad steep, but then it worked very well, so I'm not complaining. My only issue was that the walls are on the thin side--not so much so to keep you from sleeping, but you can hear doors opening and closing,etc. All in all , it was a nice place, and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Katybrown
Bristol, England
Aug 28, 2013

Great location for exploring NY

Travel Inn on 42nd Street is a great location from which to explore NYC. The hotel itself is clean and serviceable, free safety deposit facilities at 24 hour reception. Although you have a microwave and full fridge in your room, there are no coffee/tea facilities. Our room was well decorated, comfortable beds, iron and ironing board, hair dryer in small, shower/bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Best Grandma
Boston
Aug 4, 2013

Location

located in a safe area, near times square and broadway. Multiple places to eat in the area in all price ranges. The room was small but clean and the bed was very comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

nice breakfast place next door

Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lecidex
Delaware
Jul 15, 2013

Great locale with FREE parking

I was actually surprised at this hotel. Considering the price for downtown Manhattan, I didn't have too high expectations. No problem checking in, no problem getting parked (which is FREE), pool, room was adequate and a lot of sites within walking distance. I would stay here again and highly recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super4
Lvl
Jul 12, 2013

NY Trip

The location was perfect. It was close all the attractions. The best thing about this hotel was that it had free parking. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
seansun
New Hampshire
Jul 8, 2013

Fun weekend away

Perfect for weekend stay! Free parking included is great we could park early and leave the car late after check out. Nice clean room and lobby, great location, close walk to Times Square a plus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jacques V.
Montreal Quebec Canada
Jul 6, 2013

Third stay and looking forward to come back

As always we were very satisfied with this hotel. Parking, pool, best location on 42me and 10th ave. so many restaurants around and Time Square at a stone throw... What else could be expected at this price (below 200$1 per day) ... Meanwhile, Room 414 had internet problems... too far from the router I think since it worked in the corridor...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Unlcle Tour Guide
Syracuse
Jul 1, 2013

Great Value Great Location Great Service

Our family did a weekend in the City to see a show and some sites. Easy to get and easy to get out of the city. ALL STAFF were very nice and very accomodating. We had three rooms and they got us all on the same floor very close. Parking is right there which made it simple. This is not a 5 star hotel, but the service is certainly 5 star. Hotel is located just blocks from Times Square and the Theater District. I will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Feli
Irvine, CA, USA
Jun 15, 2013

so-so

It has a good location within walking distance of Times Square, but for the price, I think it left A LOT to be desired. There was no lobby to speak of other than a couple of chairs, and when we did approach the desk with a cup of Starbucks, they told us we would have to drink our beverages outside as no food or drinks were allowed inside. One good thing was, in spite of the noon check-out, they allowed us to leave our bags and packages in a secure room so we could spend more time in the City without having to lug our bags around. I think it's a good deal if you have a car, which we didn't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Big Snake
Toronto, Canada
Jun 13, 2013

It wasn't a bad stay afterall.

Location-wise, it's perfect if you wanted to stay close to the Port Authority bus terminal, however it's a little far away from the attractions in walking distance. The room we stayed, in general, it's clean except that we found a dead bug on the pillow cover. We were sure if that's bed bug but that just freaked us out. We did not try using the pool and we had not been seeing anyone using the pool. Hair dryer, fridge and a microwave are included. The hair dryer is a bit dirty though it's functional. Afterall, it wasn't a bad stay at all knowing the fact that this is a 3-star hotel and NYC hotels are all expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

This hotel is close to the Port Authority Bus Terminal and it's a little away from the attractions and so in a way, it's comparatively quiet neighborhood.

Back to menu Return to top