$225 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 30, 2014 Check-out: Oct 1, 2014

Travel Inn

3 stars
515 West 42nd Street, New York, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
231 reviews
Fab hotel in fab location

Had seen other comments so knew/hoped we 'd made the right choice and we had. I cannot recommend... See full review

  • Pooks
  • Sep 7, 2014
Best kept secret in NYC

Been coming to this hotel for over 25 years.and have seen it grow better every year. On the outside... See full review

  • Larry the traveling guy
  • Aug 1, 2014
Midtown Manhattan hotel close to the Jacob K Javits Convention Centre
The Travel Inn Hotel is located in midtown Manhattan close to the Jacob K Javits Convention Center which hosts many trade shows and conventions. The contemporary d�cor gives the hotel a sophisticated ambience. The hotel has a free garage, a swimming pool, a fitness center and tour desk to assist guests in booking tickets. The hotel was built in 1963 and has retained its sense of charm with rooms that have the feel of a more genteel past. The hotel has a business center with meeting room and a private voicemail service. Parking is also available at additional cost.
Reasons to stay
  • Located in midtown Manhattan close to the Jacob K Javits Conference Center and other attractions
  • Good facilities including fitness centre, swimming pool, business center and free garage
  • Comfortable and charming rooms with friendly staff
Travel Inn Hotel rooms
The Travel Inn Hotel has 160 rooms including those with king or double beds and a suite. The décor of the Travel Inn Hotel rooms is contemporary and comfortable. The solid wood furniture in the rooms and the curtains with pelmets have a vintage charm. All the rooms have flat-screen televisions and most have microwaves and refrigerators. Some also have outdoor terraces. The bathrooms have bath tubs, showers and Ecossential amenities. The swimming pool has life guards making it safer for children.
Things to do nearby
  • Jacob J Kavits Convention Centre (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Lincoln Centre (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Carnegie Hall (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

Hotel Map

40.7601 -73.9961
Area served
New York
Nearby airports
JFK Intl Airport, Laguardia, Newark Intl Airport
Area description
Ideally located in Midtown Manhattan, Three short blocks to Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, Minutes to all Broadway and Off Broadway Shows, Accessible to all major shopping areas, Close to Penn Station, Grand Central Station & Port Authority Bus Terminal.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travel Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Travel Inn Rooms

Double
Rooms with 1 double bed include Cable/satellite TV, Video-game console, Pay movies, Air conditioning, Voice mail, Wake-up calls, Housekeeping, Extra towels, linens, Hair dryer, Iron/ironing board, Window opens, Clock radio, Desk.
Double Double
Rooms with 2 double beds include Cable/satellite TV, Video-game console, Pay movies, Air conditioning, Voice mail, Wake-up calls, Housekeeping, Extra towels, linens, Hair dryer, Iron/ironing board, Window opens, Clock radio, Desk.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New York Cruise Terminal-Manhattan Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.6 mi
  • Theater District: 0.6 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.6 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

None
The property does not have any on-site food and beverage facilities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (231)

Ratings and reviews for Travel Inn

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
231 out of 231
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
akgboston
Boston, MA, USA
Aug 14, 2012

Reasonable for the price you pay in NY

NY hotels are very pricey if you want to stay in city.This hotel is reasonably priced and is located in a good location..everything else is average..have refrigerator,microwave and all the basic things you need..and most importantly no parking fee and close to the public transportation...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Green Man
London, UK
Aug 7, 2012

Good hotel, excellent situation,pool, great for families

We enjoyed our stay. Rooms were clean and well maintained. Situated within easy walking distance of Times Square, the Hop-on Bus etc, made for easy daily routine. The pool provided welcome afternoon relief and rest in the afternoon before getting our for evening meals and city activities. Only issue was one creaky bed. Ice on tap nearby, large fridge and microwave in rooms are also useful amenities. Good value for the position. The attached deli does a nice, simple breakfast - also good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Don Giovanni's Italian restaurant nearby on 44th Street for good Italian food and excellent pizza!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GimmePepsi
Boulder, Colorado
Jul 29, 2012

Very happy with my stay

This was a better experience than I was expecting for the price in NYC. I've only visited NYC once, but in other big cities I've sometimes stayed in really awful hotels. This was very pleasant. My room overlooked the pool, which looked wonderful, though I could never use it even once over three days due to the limited hours. Also, free WiFi would have been a big plus for me. I payed the hotel for WiFi one day, thinking I'd be able to use it from any of the four devices that my family and I had, but it only allowed me access from one device. The deli next door was good, but it only stayed open until 6pm. So much for the city that never sleeps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom with happy family
Richmond, Virginia
Jul 19, 2012

Would Stay Again

My family enjoyed their stay at the Travel Inn. The room was clean and comfortable. The parking was a huge bonus. We were within walking distance of Times Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Renee87
Cincinnati, Ohio
Jul 19, 2012

First Time Visit 2 NYC

The hotel was coneniently located. The hotel staff was very pleasant. They need extended hours for the pool. My family and I had a wonderful time and we would visit the hotel again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Merry Henry Family
Geneva, NY
Jul 18, 2012

Merry Henry Family

Close to everything with a pool for the family to enjoy. Parking is included which makes the deal even more attractive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sue2011
Vienna, VA, USA
Jul 17, 2012

Just okay.

The location and free parking was the best part about this hotel. The rooms were ordinary. I'm told it was a great deal for NYC, but for what I paid I think they could throw in free WI-FI. I also had my window on 42nd street and it's quite noisey, should have brought ear plugs. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BobJean
Lichfield, Staffordshire, UK
Jul 9, 2012

Great pool!

Vert hot for 4th July celebrations, really appreciated the pool!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

new restaurant KCHN in Hotel opposite, excellent food and atmosphere

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KellyC
Frederick, MD
Jul 9, 2012

Excellent hotel!

We enjoyed the room - very neat and clean. Parking was free - a big plus. The staff were always available and helpful. The room stayed cool even though the temperature outside was in 90's and above most of our stay. We were close to Times Square and the dock where we took our sight seeing boat tour. It was a great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Not far from Times Square. Plenty of shows on 42nd street and lots of places to eat at varying price ranges.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling YOM
Michigan
Jul 6, 2012

Perfect location

This was our first trip to NYC and the Travel Inn was in the perfect location for everything. Walking distance to times square and the subway which can take you anywhere. Was clean and comfortable. Would DEFINITELY stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Times square is only a few blocks away and the shops are HUGE. SOHO is just a quick subway ride and had GREAT shopping!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search