$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Travel Inn

3 stars
View map of 515 West 42nd Street, New York, NY 10036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Travel Inn

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
253 out of 253
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Biddy
Business
Oxford
Oct 22, 2012

Great Location, good value for money

Hotel is just minutes away from Times Square. Several diners right on your doorstep. Staff friendly and helpful. Great value for money, room was a good size which is rare in the heart of New York, bathroom not a bad size, bed was very comfortable. Would make a return visit to this hotel and recommend to friends

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Woodbury Common Mall a must for designer gear. Massive outlet village. Bus trips operate from 42nd Street from varies vendors, price range from $30 to $42 well worth paying $30

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elainecatherinew
Business
Boston
Oct 22, 2012

Nice and easy!

We found the hotel easily, and pulled into the parking, we were greeted and shown where to park while we checked in! We were nervous cause we had never been to NYC before! But they were patient and showed us where to go! The parking was clean, roomy and safe feeling! The room was basic, the bathroom small,, but the beds were very comfortable. We had a tv, a microwave and fridge! It was a great place to stay to visit NYC! Centrally located and in a safe area! We loved that they had free parking and they were near restaurant row and times square!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Times square is right up 42nd street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mom Willing to try it
Business
Minneapolis MN
Oct 22, 2012

New York comes up to greet you in the drain

The room was dated but beds were clean. The chair in the room smelled like an armpit. The slow drain was really awful. As you showered the tub filled, and my husband had the drain spill upwards into the standing water of his shower. Nothing like NY coming up to greet you in the shower. The windows were crazy thin, and we were on the third floor. You could hear conversations on the street. Jack hammers went all night and no one slept. The staff was clear they were not going to help. Just looked up for your request and said they would send it up. The theme was a little nick and dime you. We had hoped to print some attraction tickets, but per min internet cost and per page print out charges detoured us. They did have the roll away bed we requested. They told me $15, unfortunately that was each night so that added up. That would have been nice to spend that on a nicer hotel. It was a bummer because the location was great. Next to times square, but in a neighborhood that allowed you to get some local feel. Also local stores with local prices on things like juice and a breakfast sandwich is great to have.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Around the corner stores have grills in the back that make a great breakfast sandwich for about $4. You line up with the locals. Don't get offended if certain people seemed to be getting served ahead of you. Turns out some staff don't speak English and were waiting on Spanish speakers letting the other guy serve me. Great way to eat for a great price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
David From Missouri
Business
Missouri, USA
Oct 21, 2012

Good location, friendly enough, totally average

It had a good location, easily within walking distance of Times Square, the Manhattan Cruise Terminal, and the Theater District. Restaurants were close by. The elevators were being replaced when we were there. The room was completely average-we were never able to find the temperature control & finally gave up & turned the heat off. The hotel worked for our purposes, but don't expect anything special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kapok
Business
honolulu, HI
Oct 18, 2012

great location

easy to walk to times square. clean, airy hotel room with view of pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TSETSE
Business
alexandria, VA
Oct 18, 2012

Three days in NYC

The staff was competent, but certainly not friendly. The room was clean and the housekeeper was a dynamo. She was friendly and courteous, as well as quick in cleaning the room. Noise is a bit of a problem. In our room, the rolling wheels on luggage were fairly loud and they went along the corridor. The first might, some children decided to wake up early and play in the hall. they made sufficient racket that my wife opened the door and asked them to quiet down, whereupon their mother summoned them back into their room. I suppose we should have complained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to TKTS for show tickets. Do not use the kiosk in the lobby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vinyltoyz
Business
Norton, MA
Oct 15, 2012

i would go here again!

great location and free parking in a clean hotel = awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Randy mobile cruise
Business
Pt St Lucie, Fl
Oct 13, 2012

Times Square/theaters

Travel Inn is within walking distance to Times Square on 42nd street. Subway & bus terminal are about 1 1/2 blocks from this hotel. The king size bed and huge walk-in shower were a +. Only drawback was the fan control had no A/C or heat control: fan would only blow warm air. Could see the pool and the air was cool in the hallway. I recommend this hotel for $250/night price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Thailand food @ 'Room Service' on 9th Avenue between 43 & 44th Street. Dinner w/appetizers & wine for 4 people around $113.00.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bfm 3529
Business
Minneapolis, Mn.
Oct 12, 2012

Not good

At best this is a 2 star hotel. It's six stories tall and the elevators were out for 24 hours, The Wi-Fi was weak to Non-Existent, totally off for 21 hours. I had a front room on the 5th floor and it was like sleeping on the sidewalk, the heat didn't work, the windows didn't stop outside noise, etc, etc. The only thing that was good was the parking. I would never recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful location, close to theatres and fine dining, but not in the middle of the hustle & bustle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RJBear
Business
Hattiesburg, MS
Oct 10, 2012

Great Location

This was a great location for the price. Parking was also a big plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top