$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Travel Inn

3 stars
515 West 42nd Street, New York, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
246 reviews
Could not have chosen better.

I booked this hotel because of it's location. I will admit that previous reviews had me worried (in... See full review

  • AlexxD
  • May 19, 2014
WonderfulStay

Talk about location location. This place is close to it all. Best of all youre in NYC city that... See full review

  • genesis82
  • Apr 21, 2014
Midtown Manhattan hotel close to the Jacob K Javits Convention Centre
The Travel Inn Hotel is located in midtown Manhattan close to the Jacob K Javits Convention Center which hosts many trade shows and conventions. The contemporary décor gives the hotel a sophisticated ambience. The hotel has a free garage, a swimming pool, a fitness center and tour desk to assist guests in booking tickets. The hotel was built in 1963 and has retained its sense of charm with rooms that have the feel of a more genteel past. The hotel has a business center with meeting room and a private voicemail service.
Reasons to stay
  • Located in midtown Manhattan close to the Jacob K Javits Conference Center and other attractions
  • Good facilities including fitness centre, swimming pool, business center and free garage
  • Comfortable and charming rooms with friendly staff
Travel Inn Hotel rooms
The Travel Inn Hotel has 160 rooms including those with king or double beds and a suite. The décor of the Travel Inn Hotel rooms is contemporary and comfortable. The solid wood furniture in the rooms and the curtains with pelmets have a vintage charm. All the rooms have flat-screen televisions and most have microwaves and refrigerators. Some also have outdoor terraces. The bathrooms have bath tubs, showers and Ecossential amenities. The swimming pool has life guards making it safer for children.
Things to do nearby
  • Jacob J Kavits Convention Centre (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Lincoln Centre (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Carnegie Hall (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

Travel Inn Rooms

Double
Rooms with 1 double bed include Cable/satellite TV, Video-game console, Pay movies, Air conditioning, Voice mail, Wake-up calls, Housekeeping, Extra towels, linens, Hair dryer, Iron/ironing board, Window opens, Clock radio, Desk.
Double Double
Rooms with 2 double beds include Cable/satellite TV, Video-game console, Pay movies, Air conditioning, Voice mail, Wake-up calls, Housekeeping, Extra towels, linens, Hair dryer, Iron/ironing board, Window opens, Clock radio, Desk.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travel Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7601 -73.9961
Area served
New York
Nearby airports
JFK Intl Airport, Laguardia, Newark Intl Airport
Area description
Ideally located in Midtown Manhattan, Three short blocks to Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, Minutes to all Broadway and Off Broadway Shows, Accessible to all major shopping areas, Close to Penn Station, Grand Central Station & Port Authority Bus Terminal.

Nearby points of interest

  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New York Cruise Terminal-Manhattan Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.6 mi
  • Theater District: 0.6 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.6 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

None
The property does not have any on-site food and beverage facilities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (246)

Ratings and reviews for Travel Inn

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
246 out of 246
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jan first timer
new jersey
Jan 21, 2013

great stay

great location to theater. clean spaceous rooms and free parking will stay again in the future

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Glomark
Moyock, NC
Jun 21, 2014

Would Stay Again

Staff was friendly and helpful. Hotel was clean and great location, however, bathroom was a little cramp. Hotel located on 42nd street so able to walk to Time Square, broadway and other must see attractions. Hubby and I were in New York to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. PARKING WAS NOT FREE as advertised on booking site. Despite my protest and showing them the information cited on wedsite, hotel staff would not waive the fee. Very disappointing. However, the fee was $20 per day and this was nominal when comparing to other hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Had an awesome experience at the historic Apollo Theater in Harlem.

Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brian D
New York
Jun 20, 2014

City Break

Great, functional hotel in a good location. Super bars, restaurants and sights within easy walking distance. Only complaint is that advertised "free" parking dies not exist anymore. It's €20.00 per night since April. Huge bonus is a large rooftop swimming pool with plenty on sun loungers, on 42nd street!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Delta Grill. Cajun restaurant on 9th Avenue.

Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sue Pech
Yucaipa, CA
Jun 20, 2014

Not up to the location

This hotel is the perfect location to get around NY, but we took showers in half of a foot of water in a tiny bathroom and the beds are awful! Staff was great too though and that helps not getting a good nights sleep on those rocks for beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Albie c
Los angeles, ca
May 22, 2014

Good value

This hotel is a good value. Its not fancy but it is clean, the people were nice and the location is a few blocks from timed square but a reasonable walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anita Weezy
Navan, Ontario
May 21, 2014

Great Time with Friends!

This hotel is only 3 block away from Time Square, lots of action and things to do! The BEST thing is your parking is FREE (included with the cost of your room)!!! We were there for four nights, had a blast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Square

Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AlexxD
FL
May 19, 2014

Could not have chosen better.

I booked this hotel because of it's location. I will admit that previous reviews had me worried (in regards to staff and rooms) but all of that was completely erased when my friends and I stayed at the Travel Inn. First, the hotel staff was extremely accommodating throughout our stay. When our flight was delayed for five hours and we arrived close to 1am, the two times we called beforehand to warn them of our late arrival, they were understanding. When we finally arrived, they knew who we were and check-in was sweet and simple. The cleaning staff, she was a sweetheart and gave us extra towels when we asked for them. The front desk was even kind enough to print out our theatre tickets since we forgot to do it beforehand. Check-out was fast and simple and when we wanted to walk around the city before our night flight, staff allowed us to check our bags with the security officer. The room: I've been to NYC before and I remember being in a closet-size of a room and sharing it with three other people. The room that we stayed in was beyond comfortable and spacious. I will say that the many mirrors in the room made our stay extraordinary since it was mostly women. Television, microwave, and a minifridge was way more than expected. My friends and I were able to walk to Central Park, Times Square, & Broadway, without any use of the subway (even though the station is a few minutes away). Overall, thank you Travel Inn for being convenient and providing awesome service for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

CVS across the street makes for easy access to basic needs that one may have forgotten. Also, shopping in time square is about 12 minutes on foot.

Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms. MAC13
Carlisle, Pa
May 19, 2014

Convenience in the city

This was my boyfriend & I's first trip into NYC & we wanted a place that was convenient to the restaurant & theater we were going to. This hotel is located perfectly!!! Everything was within walking distance, with a short 2-3 block walk to Times Square. The staff was very friendly & helpful, the room was very clean & quiet, & it made for a nice evening in the Big Apple. This hotel is reasonably priced for being so convenient to all things in the theater district & we would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Many restaurants & theaters all within walking distance of this hotel. Save yourself the cab fare & just hoof it! It's a beautiful city to walk around in!

Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cloudy5515
Seattle
May 11, 2014

Great location, ok price.

Great location, near time square. The room is decent. Be ware of the hidden fees and multiple taxes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rasid
New Jersey
May 8, 2014

Very good value

We had a very pleasant experience. Location is very convenient. Parking is included which makes it an excellant value. Evening staff (Front Desk) was knowledgable and very helpful. They gave us information about Broadway plays that saved us a lot on the tickets. We were leaving in the morning for meetings and did not have much interaction with the morning/ day staff. They extended our check out time to 2:00PM with out hassle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
noneanyone
none
May 7, 2014

mold and disrepair

The bathroom had mold between the tiles of the shower/tub. The sink was in disrepair and with mold growing on one side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top