$224 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The Westin New York at Times Square

4 stars
View map of 270 West 43rd Street, 270 West 43rd Street, New York, NY 10036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin New York at Times Square

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
305 out of 305
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin New York at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lola NYC Fan
Business
Springfield, MA
Jul 6, 2009

Fabulous Girls Weekend

This was a girls weekend out and the hotel couldn't have been any better. The location is perfect being right in the middle of times square. We took the bus in and port authority was partically across the street. We were able to leave our bags at the hotel since we arrived early and couldn't check in yet. We spent the first day walking around 5th Avenue then having dinner at the Tavern on the Green which was a short and cheap cab ride. At night we spent time in Times square walking around and having a few drinks. The next day we did start the day with breakfast at Shula's. The food was good and we got our table right away, but service was alittle show as people that sat down after us were given drinks and had their order taken before us. We spent the rest of this day in Soho which was another short and cheap cab ride away. The staff was very friendly and quickly made the changes we requested. The room was very modern and extremely clean. The bed and shower was to die for! I think we actually slept longer than normal because it was so comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Crumbs is a short distance down 43rd with the most incredible gourmet cupcakes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jul 6, 2009

Westin

great location to experience heart of NY

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

show

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Jul 6, 2009

NYC 4th of July 2009

This hotel was perfect for what we were looking to accomplish this past weekend. It was a perfect location to the subways and was very easy to get around. We had a wonderful view of the Hudson River from our room on the 30th floor, and the view of the 4th of July Fireworks display was amazing. The Conscierge was very helpful as well and we were able to fit in exactly everything we wanted to in 2 short days!!! I would definately recommend this hotel if you are looking to stay at Times Square. It was great and affordable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There was so much to do within walking distance right around Times Square. But the subway was only a block or so away and made it super easy to get around to any other part of the city as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ladyfly
Business
woodbridge, va
Jul 5, 2009

excellent

it was great, abd we look forward to staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York at Times Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SAN FRANCISCO
Jul 2, 2009

DISAPPOINTMENT AFTER DISAPPOINTMENT ~ TE

We chose The Westin for the location as tourists and the ease of getting to the Javits Convention Center.Upon checking in I discovered that the room wasn't as requested. We were moved The next day to another SIMILAR ROOM, same bed configuration! At 10:30 at night we weren't pleased that the room was going to be changed again as we were really tired. They took their sweet time moving us and we were not thrilled. The staff had a very nonchalant attitude about our request.The next day I paid cash for our coffee, $21.70 for a small pot of coffee, 3 4 oz. cups! The $6.50 croissants were only shaped like one and they were teeny, tiny and tasted horrible. I tossed a partially eaten one in the trash. The Total Taxes was $1.15 (or thereabouts). There is a $4.00 SERVICE CHARGE for a $14.65 ORDER ~ O U T R A G E O U Si GAVE THE WAITER $25.00, HE HAD NO CHANGE, I ASKED HIM TO RETURN IT AND HE NEVER DID! THE F&b manager insisted he did. I don't have time to deal with inconsequential matters but i do get upset when someone takes advantage of e and the manager sides with the employee and not the guest! It took several calls and it was finally, THE $6.50 for the horrid croissants was credited back to my account plus the change.The phones didn't work right, there were No Notices of Interent Charges, bathroom amenities weren't properly supplied, they forgot face cloths, shower caps, the vanity kit and soap. The Service Express agent would leave me on the phone for prolonged times. Bell Staff members didn't know what "The Extra Mile" is: I asked for information and they suggested I go to the 2nd floor to the agent. I asked why they couldn't call, the call was made but they weren't happy to do their job expediently with a smile!In the bathroom the two headed shower was such a poor design that yu had to stand at the back of the tub if you wanted to keep you hair dry. Unbelieavaable.I called [...] GM of the hotel and a secretary said they would get back to me, they never did. Poor service from the Top Down.Both my husband and me were in the hotel business and we were not happy with the service.To be fair the rooms have great beds with great linens and the towels (if you have them) are white and fluffy. There were no white robes and I believe they should supply them as the rates are in the range where they should include them.Plus, there are no instructions for the coffee maker.We would not recommend this hotel to friends. My husband had thought of using Westin at a new resort he is presently packaging, but has shelved those ideas.Some of the staff were very obliging and seemed to like the guests and their jobs. I just wish they would elevate their level of service and see the customers in a more deserving light ~ I am not out to cheat anyone. It seemed as if the bell Staff (some) were not interested in making positive impressionsOur experience was extremely annoying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the GrayLine Double Decker Tour! It is worth EVERY PENNY and shows a great side of New York with knowledge and humor. Plus People Watch at Times Square on the back stairs of TCKTS1 THE AMOUNT OF NEON WILL AMAZE YOU. BROADWAY IS NOW TRAFFIC FREE SO THAT IS A NICE ADDITION.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pitt 75
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 30, 2009

Great Location

The location is great for shopping, entertainment, etc. The hotel is located at the heart of the city. The staff is friendly and the hotel is well kept. My only complaint is that I was unable to get a room with the deluxe city view the day I arrived due to "overbooking" as it was explained to me by the hotel manager. It took 24hs to get the room I actually have paid for. Other that that, no complains...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Only one block from Times Square - All theaters are walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lynora, Super Woman
Business
Louisville, Ky.
Jun 28, 2009

Dream Birthday Vacation!

The hotel was right in the middle of everything we wanted to do. When we got back from touring the city each day, we came back to a clean, comfortable room. That means alot to me when I stay away from home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Euro deli around the corner from the hotel has the best turkey burger I ever tasted.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York at Times Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville Florida
Jun 27, 2009

Better Hotels for the Price.

Room option selected not available at check-in. No other options given.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York at Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
emania
Business
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Jun 23, 2009

Nice but Not the Marquis

We had asked for adjoining rooms since we had two children. The Hotel stated that they never got that request. I had never stayed at this hotel before and probably wouldn't stay there again. For the price it was not what I expected. I have stayed at the Mariott Marquis for a little more and get 10 times what I payed for in location and overall accessibility. I don't think the Westin does enough to keep all the street peddlers away from their doors. I was constantly barraged with street salesmen peddling their snake-oil trying to hand flyers out to my 15 year old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan on seeing the Museums and the Empire state building and the Statue of Liberty there is a "New York Pass" for like $79 and it is much smarter than buying tix for every attraction. This gets you into just about everything...so you save some money there and you save time not sitting in the 45 min lines to buy the tix.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Jun 21, 2009

A Great NY Hotel

This is a great hotel that is right next door to Times Square & convenient to everything via Subway or City Bus. Friendly informative hotel staff. We loved our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top