$194 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 23, 2014

The Westin New York Grand Central

4 stars
212 East 42nd Street, New York, NY 10017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
31 reviews
Great location

This is an excellent hotel with friendly service. It has a great location. The rooms are clean and... See full review

  • NYC Hotel
  • Jun 16, 2014
Fantastic hotel centrally located

The staff were fantastic, the location is great as it is a short walk to Times Square, so not as... See full review

  • Michellejason
  • Apr 24, 2014
The Westin New York Grand Central's prime Midtown East location is two blocks away from both Grand Central Terminal and the United Nations. Nearby are government and corporate offices; indelible works of New York architecture, such as the Chrysler Building, the Empire State Building, and the Morgan Library; and popular attractions like Times Square and Bryant Park. Our 774 spacious guest rooms—including 11 one-bedroom suites and one three-bedroom Presidential Suite—present a refined elegance and invigorating city views. All rooms were designed with eco-friendly materials, such as energy-conserving LED lights, water-conserving low-flow plumbing, recyclable carpet pads, and GREENGUARD-certified solar shades. Enjoy a blissful nights sleep in the plush Westin Heavenly Bed®, and refresh daily with the Heavenly Bath®. Get back to your best self in our 3,000-square-foot WestinWORKOUT® Gym, which offers state-of-the-art fitness equipment. Savor the nutritious options on our restaurants SuperFoodsRx™ menu, and discover a new favorite drink in the wine and espresso bar. The meeting and event space at The Westin New York Grand Central spans more than 12,000 square feet, with 12-foot-high floor-to-ceiling windows that provide captivating vistas. Choose from our three executive boardrooms, seven breakout rooms, and the stunning ballroom that can accommodate up to 400 people. All are equipped with teleconferencing capabilities, fiber optics, and Internet bandwidth that ranks among the highest in Manhattan.

Hotel Map

40.7504 -73.9739
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin New York Grand Central also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Westin New York Grand Central Rooms

Westin
Description not provided

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
ATM/Cash machine
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Safe

Nearby points of interest

  • Daily News Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.1 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.3 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • East Side: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.1 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.3 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • East Side: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.6 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.6 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.6 mi
  • The King's College: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Lever House: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Franklin D. Roosevelt Four Freedoms Park: 0.7 mi
  • GE Building: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.7 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.7 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.7 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.7 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (31)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin New York Grand Central

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 31
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5
Sort by:
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
really annoyed
ny ny
Jun 4, 2013

Horrible

I stayed at the westin hotel for 1 night. One of the worst nights i have ever had in a hotel. CHeck in was suppose to be at 3:00pm, arrived at the hotel at 2:30pm. Was told rooms were not ready and that the mgr would call us when the rooms were ready. We did not receive a phone call until 4:30pm saying 1 of our room was ready and the other should be ready shortly. Arrived at the hotel 20 minutes later to check in only to find out that the other room was not ready and was just being cleaned. The 1st room we received smelled moldy and just totally gross. We complained to the mgr on site who gave us a lame excuse that the hotel was totally booked and unapologetic to the whole situation. We didnot receive our 2nd room until 7:30 pm at night. This is the worst hotel stay i have ever had. Dont waste your time staying here, I definetly will not be going back to this hotel and will tell everyone i know not to stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MaryLB
Boston, MA
May 14, 2013

Couldn't get any better

I couldn't have chosen a more perfect place to stay at than the Westin New York Grand Central. The price was very reasonable and the customer service was beyond excellent. Whenever we needed anything, they would call us to make sure we received it. They offered us to stay at the hotel longer than the check out time free of charge on that Sunday. The location couldn't be any better because it was near every place we wanted to go to which meant that the cab fares were very cheap. All the cab drivers were familiar with the Hotel. I would definitely go again if they had another offer on cheap tickets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HeatherDizzMe
manhatten, NY
Apr 29, 2013

Westin's never let me down

From the Valet guy, to the bell hop to the front desk crew everyone was fabulous as we walked in. We did call down for more towels and were not given the correct ones but we made due. Room was great. However I was surprised they went skimpy on the coffee. Yes its Starbucks...but you gave us 1 powder creamer and only 2 sugars per coffee. Come on this is a westin and 400 dollar a night room. Dont skimp. They would be better off investing in Keurigs for the room instead of the coffee they have. We were shocked in morning around 9am while we were dressing that housekeepin was trying to enter our room to clean. We told the front desk we would check out at 10am. but mistakes happen, we understand that. overall a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The bar in hotel is great but drinks are VERY expensive. Maybe that is NY prices but $15 is expnsive for a Seabreeze when I can get the SAME drink in Orlando for $6

Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MGMill
Litchfield, CT
Mar 11, 2013

Affordable luxury in midtown

It was a large comfortable and luxurious room for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search