$191 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

The Westin New York Grand Central

4 stars
View map of 212 East 42nd Street, 212 East 42nd Street, New York, NY 10017

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
32 reviews
Awesome

Yes exspectation was met I enjoyed the stay wish I could have stayed longer The hotel was very... See full review

  • Steven R.
  • Apr 6, 2015
Great location for your 25th Wedding Anniversary

My wife and I spend our 25th wedding anniversary at the hotel. The location, amenities, comfort,... See full review

  • Kenneth G.
  • Jan 24, 2015
Our prime Midtown East location makes it easy to experience Manhattan. Just two blocks from Grand Central Terminal and the United Nations, we're only minutes from other iconic sites such as Bryant Park, Times Square, and Fifth Avenue shopping. Renew your health in our WestinWORKOUT® Fitness Studio, or find a new favorite drink in THE LCL: Bar & Kitchen. Enjoy a meeting of the minds in our meeting space, spanning 14,000 square feet with ample natural light and state-of-the-art technology. Our 774 spacious guest rooms and suites offer refined style and exhilarating city views. Designed with eco-friendly materials, rooms encourage relaxation amid tasteful décor in rich, neutral hues. Sleep deeply in the sumptuous Westin Heavenly® Bed.

Top hotels

The Westin New York Grand Central Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Porters
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
TDD telephone machine
Room
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Daily News Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.1 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.3 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • East Side: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.1 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.3 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • East Side: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.6 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.6 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.6 mi
  • The King's College: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Lever House: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Franklin D. Roosevelt Four Freedoms Park: 0.7 mi
  • GE Building: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.7 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.7 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.7 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.7 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.8 mi

Dining

THE LCL: Bar & Kitchen
Our creatively-designed restaurant delivers the simple earthly pleasures with seasonal fare in innovative flavor combinations, tempting cocktails and craft beers, and pleasingly healthy and tasty breakfast options.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Westin New York Grand Central

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Steve. Shin
Business
Seoul, Korea
Feb 2, 2014

The Worst Hotel

We are Stayed Jan 25~31, 2013 We are experienced the worst of worst. Location is very good. But Staff is very unkindness. I Never visit there!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Timesquare

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
really annoyed
Business
ny ny
Jun 4, 2013

Horrible

I stayed at the westin hotel for 1 night. One of the worst nights i have ever had in a hotel. CHeck in was suppose to be at 3:00pm, arrived at the hotel at 2:30pm. Was told rooms were not ready and that the mgr would call us when the rooms were ready. We did not receive a phone call until 4:30pm saying 1 of our room was ready and the other should be ready shortly. Arrived at the hotel 20 minutes later to check in only to find out that the other room was not ready and was just being cleaned. The 1st room we received smelled moldy and just totally gross. We complained to the mgr on site who gave us a lame excuse that the hotel was totally booked and unapologetic to the whole situation. We didnot receive our 2nd room until 7:30 pm at night. This is the worst hotel stay i have ever had. Dont waste your time staying here, I definetly will not be going back to this hotel and will tell everyone i know not to stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous44
Business
San Diego, CA
Mar 2, 2014

Not so newly renovated

Although the reviews state the hotel is newly renovated the rooms have not been. The staff was friendly. Location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dragon Jim
Business
Pennsylvania
Oct 23, 2012

nickle and dime you

Staff was great, room was good. BUT... For a couple of hundred bucks +, for the room, they needed to get just a little MORE money out of me. Cost $50 if you want to use the refrigerator in the room. Free coffee, but you need to make do with one ersatz creamer for the whole weekend. I needed to get dressed first thing in the AM, and go out to get coffee. That is really cheap on their part. I didn't bring a computer because all hotels have a business center. But again, this one charges to use it. I think, I'll go back to the cheap hotels. At least they provide decent services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

learn how to use the subways. If you are new to New York, this can be difficult at first, but well worth the effort. Way more interesting than taking cabs everywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Food Broker SC
Business
Columbia SC
Oct 28, 2013

Good Location

Nice sized room for NYC and convenient location to Mid-Town. Easy to get to from LaGuardia. Bar staff was not too friendly, so I would recommend having a drink up the street at Capital Grille instead. There is also a CVS a few steps away to avoid the $8.00 bottled water and M&M's in the honor bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shake Shack has opened in Grand Central and went on a Saturday for lunch with very little wait

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Caroline's Andie
Business
New York City
Dec 9, 2013

New York Christmas Holiday trip

Hotel was fine, but not anywhere enough staff, especially at the front desk when trying to check in. Upon arrival, room not ready. Fine, secured luggage and hit the City. We were called to say our room was ready at 5PM. When we arrived to check in, the line was almost out the door. Took well over 30 minutes to to check in. Only 1 agent on at the registration desk. Insane.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wayneypooh
Business
Daphne, AL
Jun 8, 2014

Mostly good.

The only problem that we experienced was the long delays required to get an elevator and the ice machine on th 9 th floor didn't work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fine Resturant across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
forcingnicknamesisstupid
Business
New Haven, CT
Dec 6, 2014

Not bad

The rooms were a little out-dated, but great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Michael B.
Business
WOODSTOCK
Apr 19, 2015

Decent place to stay on business

Nothing special here, just a room. The restaurant downstairs is also fine, but not remarkable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RJCJ
Business
Ct
Mar 11, 2014

Great weekend getaway

Great place to stay to be close to the action of the city. It's convenient if you're traveling by train, great selection of restaurants within walking distance, newly renovated, affordibly priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Pre-plan to be sure you take advantage of all that's available.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top