$167 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

The Westin New York Grand Central

4 stars
View map of 212 East 42nd Street, 212 East 42nd Street, New York, NY 10017

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
33 reviews
Great location!!!

Service was great!! Conveniently close to everything you could desire to reach in nyc by train or... See full review

  • Laurinda R.
  • May 27, 2015
Awesome

Yes exspectation was met I enjoyed the stay wish I could have stayed longer The hotel was very... See full review

  • Steven R.
  • Apr 6, 2015
Our prime Midtown East location makes it easy to experience Manhattan. Just two blocks from Grand Central Terminal and the United Nations, we're only minutes from other iconic sites such as Bryant Park, Times Square, and Fifth Avenue shopping. Renew your health in our WestinWORKOUT® Fitness Studio, or find a new favorite drink in THE LCL: Bar & Kitchen. Enjoy a meeting of the minds in our meeting space, spanning 14,000 square feet with ample natural light and state-of-the-art technology. Our 774 spacious guest rooms and suites offer refined style and exhilarating city views. Designed with eco-friendly materials, rooms encourage relaxation amid tasteful décor in rich, neutral hues. Sleep deeply in the sumptuous Westin Heavenly® Bed.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin New York Grand Central also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Westin New York Grand Central Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Porters
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
TDD telephone machine
Room
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Daily News Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.1 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.3 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • East Side: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.1 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.3 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • East Side: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.6 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.6 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.6 mi
  • The King's College: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Lever House: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Franklin D. Roosevelt Four Freedoms Park: 0.7 mi
  • GE Building: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.7 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.7 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.7 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.7 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.8 mi

Dining

THE LCL: Bar & Kitchen
Our creatively-designed restaurant delivers the simple earthly pleasures with seasonal fare in innovative flavor combinations, tempting cocktails and craft beers, and pleasingly healthy and tasty breakfast options.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Westin New York Grand Central

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 33
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nanfrank
Marlton, New Jersey
Sep 9, 2012

Highly Recommend

. The bed and room were clean, comfortable, and spacious. Our room was renovated with a nice modern feel and was fairly spacious. The staff was extremely helpful. It was quite and we had a great nights slee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Silverblix
Business
Sunnyvale, California
Feb 28, 2014

Very nice stay at the Westing NY Grand Central

The proximity to Grant Central (2 blocks away) is nice as I sometime prefer taking the subway to move around in NY than taxi cabs. The room was particularly clean and very neat, with a high-end large flat TV screen. This is obviously a high-end hotel and you pay for it. Guaranteed great experience. I got the chance to be upgraded and got a room at the corner of the building. The bathroom was impeccable. I really liked the breakfast area on the 1st floor giving you the choice between a fast BF or a complete one in the dining area. The staff was overly nice and proactive in helping when I was obviously lost or looking for something in the hotel. You have to be ready to handle the street noise which is unavoidable in the city but it was quite enough at night. The room was cold at first (28F outside) but the heater worked well and was fairly quite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hockey mum
Business
Essex, England
Feb 21, 2013

Fantastic family getaway

I took my 18 year old son for his birthday and we had a great time. The purpose of the trip was to go and see ice hockey. The whole experience was fantastic. I would definately go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MGMill
Business
Litchfield, CT
Mar 11, 2013

Affordable luxury in midtown

It was a large comfortable and luxurious room for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Johnsons
Business
United Kingdom
Apr 7, 2013

A little gem in an expensive city

Compared to other hotels visited in this city the differance is massive. The staff were very helpful from bringing extra milk to the room quickly to recommending restaurents that were as good as promised. The rooms were massive compared to other hotels and the recent room updating making the stay very comfortable. The only negative comment is that the location is on 2nd Ave and if you don't like the walking required to get in to Time Square then it can be time consuming, having said that the sub way is one block away and Grand Central station only a short walk with your suit cases.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jet Setter Jan
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 7, 2013

Comfort with style

I could not have asked for a better time in NYC!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

It's not too far of a cab ride from where the most popular night life spots are.

Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Daria22
Business
New jersey
Oct 20, 2013

very good quality

Especially considering that I got an online deal and only paid $250 for a $450 room, this hotel was amazing. Its a really big hotel and the staff is great. They get you a cab in like 2 seconds which could be very hard during rush hour. It is clean and the size of the room is pretty big. The fridge is filled with all kinds of alcohol, water, and snacks. I would definitely stay here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NYC Hotel
Business
NYC
Jun 16, 2014

Great location

This is an excellent hotel with friendly service. It has a great location. The rooms are clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vitaly999
Business
Boston
Dec 8, 2014

Great hotel

Great stay. Great staff. Great location for a stay in nyc

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kenneth G.
Business
Fort lauderdale
Jan 24, 2015

Great location for your 25th Wedding Anniversary

My wife and I spend our 25th wedding anniversary at the hotel. The location, amenities, comfort, and staff were excellent. The stay was so nice that I'm considering moving from Florida to NY!!!! Except for the winters!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steven R.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Awesome

Yes exspectation was met I enjoyed the stay wish I could have stayed longer The hotel was very convenient And the weather was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top